Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
New Tekin redline gen3 motors >

New Tekin redline gen3 motors

Like Tree20Likes

New Tekin redline gen3 motors

Reply

Old 12-29-2015, 01:25 AM
  #61  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: West Babylon, NY
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thank you fellas. I'll report back when I get it in the car.
TimmE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 01:16 PM
  #62  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: West Babylon, NY
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Tekin support emailed me back. They are great. They said both would work but the team drivers use the RPM version.
TimmE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 01:57 PM
  #63  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (42)
 
OriginalDonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 604
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

For 1/10th scale 2wd buggy? That's surprising. I definitely would've expected them to be running the standard torque version to battle the Schuur Speed, Trinity D4 1S, and other short stack motors.
OriginalDonk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 03:57 PM
  #64  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: West Babylon, NY
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OriginalDonk View Post
For 1/10th scale 2wd buggy? That's surprising. I definitely would've expected them to be running the standard torque version to battle the Schuur Speed, Trinity D4 1S, and other short stack motors.
The review of the motor I read on the rctech blog says the RPM version is a short stack.

http://www.rctech.net/articles/article/the-third-time-is-definitely-the-charm-or-is-it/

Last edited by TimmE; 12-29-2015 at 04:02 PM. Reason: Link provided
TimmE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 06:20 PM
  #65  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Perth
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TimmE View Post
Tekin support emailed me back. They are great. They said both would work but the team drivers use the RPM version.
Well there you go, I thought they were for 12th on road etc.

I bought the torque one for my 2wd. haven't installed it yet though, need a new spur.
cjmurph is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 11:10 AM
  #66  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,857
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The RPM and STD can are both great in 2wd buggy. I prefer the RPM since we're on a larger than most track, 6,200 sq ft. The STD can however is Chris Wheelers favorite choice down at SRS since they're current layout has a lot of 180 degree turns.

When I did testing, I found I could get speed out of all cars most of the time with either can. However in ST and SC truck, the std can always felt faster to me.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 01:22 PM
  #67  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: West Babylon, NY
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The RPM and STD can are both great in 2wd buggy. I prefer the RPM since we're on a larger than most track, 6,200 sq ft. The STD can however is Chris Wheelers favorite choice down at SRS since they're current layout has a lot of 180 degree turns.

When I did testing, I found I could get speed out of all cars most of the time with either can. However in ST and SC truck, the std can always felt faster to me.
Thanks for your reply, it's appreciated. I found one of your setup sheets and that is what caused me to second guess which can to get in the first place. Then I found your web page and got lost for a few hours reading all the info you have on there.
TimmE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 07:40 PM
  #68  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
brainiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 595
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone had the chance to compare these to the likes of a trinity 13.5 or a r1 works 13.5 or 17.5 for stock racing?
brainiac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2016, 06:53 AM
  #69  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Volition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 391
Default

Originally Posted by cjmurph View Post
Well there you go, I thought they were for 12th on road etc.

I bought the torque one for my 2wd. haven't installed it yet though, need a new spur.
The gen2 RPM cans this is definitely the case. It looks like it's changed for gen3. I found that out the expensive way with gen2 (anyone want to buy a gen2 RPM motor, hah.)

I did notice when the gen3's came out- the rotor sizes were different for the cans.

Either way, running Gen3 17.5t in a 4wd buggy - we have 4wd stock classes in Australia - kept up with an actinium powered b5m down the straight at a practice session today. Needless to say mucho pleased with this motor. Excellent punch too. Standard can, FDR 5.98, 45 timing, Blinky ESC - larger tracks in Oz.

When I get the fan installed I could possibly get more out of it, but will keep an eye on the keeping the punch in the motor at the same time. Our new track has a few sections with short run ups to some jump sections. All about balance.

Love my Schuurspeed and now add Gen3 to the list. Have fun boys & girls.
Volition is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2016, 07:03 AM
  #70  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Volition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 391
Thumbs up Hotwire update.

Btw Randy,

Any News on the release of the new Hotwire software - must be close. Please make sure I can save my datalogs to my android phone, hoping to save to Dropbox folder for automatic uploading to my folder at home for reviewing on my desktop. Not too much to ask is it don't forget an option for Celsius for us down under. I wrote to Santa for this stuff, but father Tekin will do.

Got to be soon I hear
Volition is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 07:58 AM
  #71  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: West Babylon, NY
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Update on my motors. I've been running the gen3 17.5 rpm version in a tlr 22 3.0. It's very fast once you find the right gearing and timing combination. I am running 30/69 which is two teeth smaller on my pinion than most of the guys in the class. I think timing is around 45 or 50. My temps are good so I think there is more speed to be had.

I just started running the regular gen3 17.5 in my tlr 22 sct. 29\78 was too much pinion. I wasn't consistently clearing a particular jump. Dropped to 27/78 and had plenty of punch but it was topping out very early in the straightaway. I'm going to start playing with the timing and gearing to get a little more out of it.

My track is indoor clay with a 100 foot straight with a long sweeper and a combination of various jumps and 180 turns.
TimmE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 05:01 AM
  #72  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Volition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 391
Default

Hi guys,

Got a 4wd Schumacher Cat K2 I run in 4wd 17.5t stock here in Australia. Powered by a redline gen3 motor & a RS gen2 speedy in Blinky mode. Got my FDR at 5.27, timing on can 45, a fan on my motor means it comes off after 5 minutes at about 50-55c (120-130f). Perfect as its summer. Very happy. Great motor.

This weekend I'm going to a new track and they don't have 4wd stock. I'll be in a mixed class. I was thinking I might play with turning some timing off. If I take it off Blinky, should I assume I turn the can timing down to 20 or 30. Would I also change the gearing? What do you think, what would be a good starting point

Thanks
Volition is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 09:03 PM
  #73  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (128)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,770
Trader Rating: 128 (100%+)
Default

randy et all,

does tekin sell Gen3's with the yellow strong rotor already installed or do you have to buy that rotor in addition to the full motor?
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 09:36 PM
  #74  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 483
Default

Is there a Gen 2 rpm motor? I bought the combo kit with rsx esc with 8.5t redline gen 2 and it doesn't say
Slashn77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 11:14 PM
  #75  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (42)
 
OriginalDonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 604
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Edit. I was wrong.

Last edited by OriginalDonk; 02-22-2016 at 04:30 PM.
OriginalDonk is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service