Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus >

Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus

Like Tree11Likes

Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus

Reply

Old 08-03-2015, 02:47 PM
  #61  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,663
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

what brand 1/8 motor run?
taztal3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 06:52 PM
  #62  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I got mine today, Its big and heavy compared to Rx8. Seem's well built (heavy duty) Here is a quick picture where you can kind of compare size. You can kind of tell these are a early run, I had no paperwork (instructions) in box (not that I really need any) and all the pictures I seen promoting this ESC showed red fan screws and mine has black. All trivial stuff that means nothing to me, I just care if it works well or not
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 07:30 PM
  #63  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just to clarify, these aren't going to be able to run sensored to Tekin motors correct?

That just seems like an awful decision on their part.
McGuire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 07:47 PM
  #64  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by McGuire View Post
Just to clarify, these aren't going to be able to run sensored to Tekin motors correct?

That just seems like an awful decision on their part.
Sure they will, what makes you think otherwise? They do have some special motors coming that will do some fancy stuff with this ESC is my understanding though. They will run sensored/unsensored or extra fancy sensored with the new Hobbywing motors that are coming is my take on it.
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:26 PM
  #65  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

http://www.falconsekido.com/products/xerun-xr8-esc


See bottom of details
McGuire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:37 PM
  #66  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Carter Flotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by McGuire View Post
Dan.J is correct, they can run other motors. They just work better with the Hobbywing new ones
Carter Flotron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:39 PM
  #67  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Carter Flotron View Post
Dan.J is correct, they can run other motors. They just work better with the Hobbywing new ones
Just curious why it would state that then?

Can anyone chime in that has an XR8 using a different motor running it sensored?

Nevertheless, if they actually can use other motors, Hobbywing might want to change the wording. Locally, they have lost a few sales due to "how" it is stated on their website.
McGuire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:45 PM
  #68  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (55)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

best way I found to mount the switch in a tekno
Attached Thumbnails Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus-img_1810.jpg   Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus-img_1805.jpg  
Yodah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 03:12 AM
  #69  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Yodah View Post
best way I found to mount the switch in a tekno
Yea I thought about that, where do you plan to put the transponder now? Inside the box?
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 03:18 AM
  #70  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by McGuire View Post
Just curious why it would state that then?

Can anyone chime in that has an XR8 using a different motor running it sensored?

Nevertheless, if they actually can use other motors, Hobbywing might want to change the wording. Locally, they have lost a few sales due to "how" it is stated on their website.
I will get my stuff setup soon and report back and I agree the wording on there website is confusing. There is no way they are going to release a ESC that would only run "there" motors properly though unless they wanted it to be a total fail IMO. Build quality looks good on this ESC from what you can see on outside and its priced right, if it works as well as I think it will it will be a winner
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 06:35 AM
  #71  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (55)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan.J View Post
Yea I thought about that, where do you plan to put the transponder now? Inside the box?
Yeah its already in there
Yodah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 10:12 AM
  #72  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,359
Default

Isn't the SCT Pro better for 1/8 Buggy. That thing looks like a brick. They need to update the SCT Pro with the latest stuff.

My guess is that the Speed Control switches from Sensored to non-sensored at some point. So there is no clogging. The new motors will run sensorred all the time
Chris Reilly is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 10:54 AM
  #73  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Reilly View Post
Isn't the SCT Pro better for 1/8 Buggy. That thing looks like a brick. They need to update the SCT Pro with the latest stuff.

My guess is that the Speed Control switches from Sensored to non-sensored at some point. So there is no clogging. The new motors will run sensorred all the time
Quality seems quite good on these, they are beefy but not crazy heavy. Like 125g for these and a rx8 is like 80g and sct pro is around 100g I think.
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 11:28 AM
  #74  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
tedstryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Coast like butta toast
Posts: 4,072
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Is this bigger then the old 150a one?
tedstryker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 12:59 PM
  #75  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

When someone figures it out where these ESCs can run other motors sensored please chime in.

I'm about to order a new ESC in a couple days and its between this or the new Orion 8.1
McGuire is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service