Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus >

Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus

Like Tree11Likes

Hobbywing XERUN XR8 Plus

Reply

Old 07-17-2015, 07:36 AM
  #46  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,252
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan.J View Post
I'm assuming the current program box that's out will work with this? Anyone on here beta test one of these, and happen to test it with 2s?
Yes same program box works.
FastPete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2015, 09:39 AM
  #47  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FastPete View Post
Yes same program box works.
Thanks Pete, gonna put a order in tonight with you.
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 03:24 PM
  #48  
Tech Regular
 
rythby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 424
Default

got my xr8 plus. Disappointed. When I plug it into the box and the pc it says to update the esc but it wont let me. The upgrade button is greyed out. I updated my box to the latest firmware. It is an older box bug its not working. Damn shame........

AHAA got it to work. Took a minute but i got it. Whew. Got to drive it. Very smooth

Last edited by rythby; 08-02-2015 at 05:04 PM.
rythby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 05:05 PM
  #49  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rythby View Post
got my xr8 plus. Disappointed. When I plug it into the box and the pc it says to update the esc but it wont let me. The upgrade button is greyed out. I updated my box to the latest firmware. It is an older box bug its not working. Damn shame.
I will have mine hopefully tomarrow and will try and hook mine up. Do you have the latest program on your PC from Hobbywing? Its possible the ESC is so new that it will need a software update from Hobbywing to get everything communicating, I had a issue like that with the Team Orion R8.1 that I bought right when it was released.
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 05:07 PM
  #50  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rythby View Post
got my xr8 plus. Disappointed. When I plug it into the box and the pc it says to update the esc but it wont let me. The upgrade button is greyed out. I updated my box to the latest firmware. It is an older box bug its not working. Damn shame........

AHAA got it to work. Took a minute but i got it. Whew. Got to drive it. Very smooth
What did you find was the issue? What are you running it in and what motor if you don't mind? I figured it would be SMOOTH!
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 05:46 PM
  #51  
Tech Regular
 
rythby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 424
Default

Originally Posted by Dan.J View Post
What did you find was the issue? What are you running it in and what motor if you don't mind? I figured it would be SMOOTH!
the download link that I had was wrong. I didnt have the latest software for pc link. Running it in a eb48 with a tekin 1900 motor. I bought it for my truggy but it doesnt fit in the truggy with a truggy motor. So i had to change it up. It's very heavy and big.
rythby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 06:17 PM
  #52  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rythby View Post
the download link that I had was wrong. I didnt have the latest software for pc link. Running it in a eb48 with a tekin 1900 motor. I bought it for my truggy but it doesnt fit in the truggy with a truggy motor. So i had to change it up. It's very heavy and big.
Thanks and glad u got it sorted. It is about the same size as the old Xerun 150a and a little bigger then the new Orion R8.1 and close in weight to those two best I can tell. Its definetly bigger and MUCH heavier then the Tekin Rx8 g2 but thats kind of to be expected as the Rx8 while a great ESC has a cheesy as all get out case on it but it is LIGHT! I can deal with a touch of weight/size if the throttle and brakes are as smooth as I think there going to be
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 06:50 PM
  #53  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
advpball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

just tried mounting in my eb48.2 and wow it's big coming from act pro..Where did you mount on off switch? really no room for it ..I put it on top of radio box..
advpball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 06:58 PM
  #54  
Tech Regular
 
rythby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 424
Default

Originally Posted by advpball View Post
just tried mounting in my eb48.2 and wow it's big coming from act pro..Where did you mount on off switch? really no room for it ..I put it on top of radio box..
i put it on the side of the radio box in between the box and the pinion.
rythby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:01 PM
  #55  
Tech Regular
 
rythby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 424
Default

Originally Posted by Dan.J View Post
Thanks and glad u got it sorted. It is about the same size as the old Xerun 150a and a little bigger then the new Orion R8.1 and close in weight to those two best I can tell. Its definetly bigger and MUCH heavier then the Tekin Rx8 g2 but thats kind of to be expected as the Rx8 while a great ESC has a cheesy as all get out case on it but it is LIGHT! I can deal with a touch of weight/size if the throttle and brakes are as smooth as I think there going to be
yea i am so sick of Tekin's garbage cases. I always crack them where the screws go in. GARBAGE!
rythby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:01 PM
  #56  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Just out of curiosity where is everyone getting their XR8 + from?
bee200sx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:10 PM
  #57  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bee200sx View Post
Just out of curiosity where is everyone getting their XR8 + from?
Got mine from FastPete at Fierce.
Dan.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 08:09 PM
  #58  
Tech Regular
 
rythby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 424
Default

Originally Posted by Dan.J View Post
Got mine from FastPete at Fierce.
yea I got mine from fierce also
rythby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 01:53 PM
  #59  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,663
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i want to see picture of esc on truggy ?
taztal3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 01:59 PM
  #60  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Is it $60 better than the current offerings ?
wittyname is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service