40mhz radio

Old 07-19-2014, 08:58 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
zonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Wales, UK
Posts: 121
Default 40mhz radio

Just getting back into the hobby and adapting to the new changes.
I'm now running lipo batteries and savox digital servos in my kyosho nitro buggy.
Using a futaba 3gr 40mhz radio kit and experiencing some problems. Servos randomly glitch. Some times the throttle servo will stay open for a few seconds glitch. Don't know if this is interference? I just have no confidence in it at all. Always nervous driving the car as it tends to do it's own thing and I would like to go racing with it but can't if it keeps doing this as it will cause damage!
Anyone else have problems running the older 40mhz with nitro? Starting to think I should invest in the 2.4 ghz futaba 3GR.
Any advice would be great.
Rob
zonda is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 11:21 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 451
Default

a new radio would be a good investment, however the old one shouldnt be doing what its doing

check to make sure the antenna wire on the receiver doesnt have any cuts or chafed through spots on it. also make sure it hasnt been cut shorter, the antenna wire is a calibrated length. ideally the antenna wire shouldnt touch any metal or graphite/carbon parts, that can cause interference. make sure your crystals are fully seated in both the radio and receiver, and try another set if you have them. also, make sure your batteries are new/full charged.
Sharkey_t is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 11:36 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
zonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Wales, UK
Posts: 121
Default

Was looking at trying spektrum dx4r...
I'll purchase new high set of nimh batts for the TX just to see how I get on...

The antenna doesn't seen to be cut the range is ok.. Just glitches and opens the throttle.
The antenna I think, does come in to contact briefly with metal as the antenna tube mount is made of metal...
I do think 2.4ghz will make a difference with nitro..
Thanks
Rob
zonda is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 11:50 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
dan_vector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,178
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

2.4 is generally more reliable than the old 40Mhz stuff. Plus if your 40Mhz stuff has been sat around for a few years it most probably has degraded as any other electronic device would do if not used. I used to get random glitches with 40Mhz stuff back in the day and it was usually caused by interference on the model from metals touching each other for example. If you have another Rx try that as well as changing the crystals for another frequency as it could be as simple as a bad pair of crystals.

A new radio would be a worthwhile investment. Stick to Futaba, Sanwa, KO Propo though Spektrum isn't worth the hassle - many threads in here on that subject!
dan_vector is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 12:11 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
zonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Wales, UK
Posts: 121
Default

Thanks Dan!

It's the crystaless radio kit, but it is several years old I know that. I think the guy I originally purchased it from didn't buy it brand new either! served me well last time I was in the hobby.

Been reading through the Spektrum threads on this forum and seen so many youtube comments saying how bad the Radios are

Think I'll end up sticking with Futaba.

What's everyone else using to race nitro?

Rob
zonda is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 02:04 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
zonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Wales, UK
Posts: 121
Default

Think its my Lipo regulator that's causing the interference
holding the reg in my hand is enough to cause the servos to glitch. moving the reg anywhere near the receiver causes even more twitching in the servos. I do position it as far away as I can in the receiver box... it is quite cramped in there now.

I hope 2.4ghz solves this
zonda is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 04:24 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,413
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

40mhz radio is like watching black and white tv ... good for old reruns of Dark Shadows but it's not like 60 inches of 3D Star Wars. 2.4 radios are wonderful. I like Airtonics but Futabas are good. and yes spektrum has some issues with savox especially.
asc6000 is offline  
Old 07-20-2014, 08:21 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
dan_vector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,178
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zonda View Post
Think its my Lipo regulator that's causing the interference
holding the reg in my hand is enough to cause the servos to glitch. moving the reg anywhere near the receiver causes even more twitching in the servos. I do position it as far away as I can in the receiver box... it is quite cramped in there now.

I hope 2.4ghz solves this
Alternatively you could try a 2s life rx pack and do away with the regulator completely? That might work!
dan_vector is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.