Radiolink RC3S radio

Reply

Old 04-05-2014, 10:12 AM
  #1  
305
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 109
Default Radiolink RC3S radio

Please post all your comments about the radio to this thread.
About article here - Radiolink RC3S (translation by Google somehow bumpy, but hope it makes sense).
With look-up very close to the Turnigy 3XS, the Radiolink is a 4 channel radio with lots of functions.
Can be powered by AA sized cells or up to 4S LiPo, has a DSC port and (maybe) USB port for FW upgrade.
Tx is priced around USD 50,-, the rx around USD 11,-.
Direct link to manual >>> http://radiolink.com.cn/doce/UploadF...1151000377.pdf
305 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 10:24 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

I just placed my order from here:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-4G-4CH-Gun...item27e04ab560

I plan to compare the radio with my review of the 3XS here:
http://www.ultimaterc.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=179417

Thanks!
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 10:53 AM
  #3  
305
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 109
Default

And why not directly from WowRcModel store and spare 6 bucks?
http://www.wowrcmodel.com/rc-accesso...er-r4eh-h.html
I can recommend this store, very good prices for Flysky radios, free shipping and quite fast expedition. Made business with them about 4 times and w/o problem.
Anyway, you are a shooter (well, I have a nice collection of Flysky radios also ). Looking ahead for your tests of this radio.
305 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 11:30 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

heh... I guess I jumped the gun, thanks for the direct link to their store, good to know they offer free shipping there too!
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 02:49 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
K22Hsct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: scottville, MI
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

No reviews?!
K22Hsct is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 05:58 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

see post #2 which provides a link to this review:
http://www.ultimaterc.com/forums/sho...68#post2042668
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 06:10 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
MikeGozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

FYI in case anyone is buying a new RC4G radio and wants to use the less expensive R4EH-H receivers with it- http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1#post30044236

It seems like they performed an update to the newer RC4G (gyro version) that makes it so it can only bind with the more expensive R4EH-G gyro receivers.
MikeGozz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 11:56 AM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 55
Default

Empirical testing has shown 4S will kill the tx
ManxPlumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 12:18 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ManxPlumber View Post
Empirical testing has shown 4S will kill the tx
+1

I keep that Tx as a source for spare parts should I drop any of my replacement Tx's in the future

Good news is that a replacement Tx is only $34 shipped
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 07:41 AM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 55
Default

It's only recently that I found this thread having never heard of Radiolink before.

Googling found the GT3B/C + hacks then an hours reading finds me here now disregarding the desire to get that radio but instead find the RC4G to be much more desirable.

I have a 4PK at the moment that is perfect for my XR10 MOA and 12th/GT12 racing but fancy a new radio but can't afford a newer Futaba.

Only thing holding me back is not being able to use the RC3/4 for my Axial, I need DIG and an assignable tranny button to disable the rear ESC to enable FWD only.
ManxPlumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 08:01 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ManxPlumber View Post
Only thing holding me back is not being able to use the RC3/4 for my Axial, I need DIG and an assignable tranny button to disable the rear ESC to enable FWD only.
What is the DIG feature supposed to do?

As far as disabling a rear ESC for FWD only action, I don't see why you can't use 3rd channel mixing for both ESC's then use the push button to de-activate the 3rd channel to 0 EPA and toggle to 100 EPA (or any other EPA value) when the button is pressed. If you're interested I can try to demonstrate with my RC3/4 for you and post a video to help try to accomplish what you're looking for.

***SIDE NOTE***

For those interested, I recently checked the frame rates on both FlySky and Radiolink systems, and found that FlySky measured 21.7ms where Radiolink came in much quicker at 17.2 ms for the R4EH-G and the R4EH-H was a tad slower as 18.2 ms

More info here on recent testing/comparison I've done with other radio systems:


Last edited by billdelong; 12-20-2014 at 05:26 PM.
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 03:58 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
MikeGozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I had to do some searching myself ;-) It looks like DIG is a module that allows you to lock the front or rear drivetrain to use it as an aid in maneuvering your rig around tight stuff. It looks pretty interesting.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExB3ARYCXNo

You may be able to use the VR switch on CH3 to select a 3 position DIG and/or the momentary or on/off switch on CH4 to select a 2 position DIG.

I think the RC3S could handle one no problem.
MikeGozz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 03:49 AM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 55
Default

With a MOA (motor on axle) crawler there's two motors, one for the front axle and one for the rear, both connected by individual ESC's and driven via tx mixing so you can adjust the speed of each motor on the fly with either a trim or adjustable pot on the tx.

My 4PK has a 4th button I can disable the rear esc/motor so the front motor pulls the rig round a tight corner, this is DIG, nobody has been able to tell me what it stands for even on rccrawler.com but I see it as the rear wheels digging in acting like a brake.

Rigs with a single motor can DIG by using mechanical means whereby the rear output driveshaft is locked by the use of the 3rd channel operating a DIG servo.
ManxPlumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 05:26 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

The RC3S would handle this setup perfectly, you can use the 3rd channel to mix with Ch2, and the V/R (Variable Rate) dial can be used to control how much mix you want with the dial in the vertical position = 50/50, then rotate the dial in either direction to control which channel you want to have more bias anywhere from 0/100 to 100/0. The 4th channel is a momentary push button which can be used for your diff locking feature. Some people have replaced the momentary switch with a toggle switch because they prefer their 4th channel to remain locked in one position or another upon each press of the button.
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 06:19 AM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
MikeGozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Bill- On my RC4G radio you now have the option to change the channel 4 switch to be momentary or on/off. I'm not sure if it is a new option with my firmware version or if it has always been that way.

Mike
MikeGozz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service