Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
iCharger 406 DUO Charger >

iCharger 406 DUO Charger

Like Tree16Likes

iCharger 406 DUO Charger

Reply

Old 03-20-2014, 03:44 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Default iCharger 406 DUO Charger



http://www.progressiverc.com/icharger-406duo.html

Specifications

Input voltage range: 10-30V DC
Input current limit: Total = 60A, Ch1/2 = 47A
Maximum charge power: 1400W at >23.5V (1000W max. per channel)
Charge current range: 0.05-40.0A per channel, or up to 70A in synchronous mode
Discharge power: 80W per channel, or up to 140W in synchronous mode
Maximum regenerative discharge: 1000W per channel, or up to 1400W in synchronous mode
Current drain for balancing: 1.2A per channel, or up to 2.4A in synchronous mode
USB charging port: 5V/1A current limiting protection 1.2A
Balance accuracy: 10mV
LiPo/LiIo/LiFe: 1-6 series per channel
NiCd/NiMH battery cell count: 1-25 series per channel
Pb battery cell count: 1-18 series per channel
PC Connectivity: USB port
Weight: 910g
Dimensions (LxWxD): 171x118x59 mm
Warranty: 1 year

* A cursory glance reveals that it is as powerful as the 4010, but the size of the 308. The only difference is that it does less cells vs. the 4010. This might be the perfect charger for RC Cars, unless you fly helicopters or planes, in which case the 4010 has more options.

More Pics




Last edited by JiuHaWong; 03-22-2014 at 10:34 AM.
JiuHaWong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:13 AM
  #2  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,319
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

lower discharge too
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 10:35 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971 View Post
lower discharge too


Still, it is a pretty impressive unit.
JiuHaWong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:26 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
steam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Buena Park
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

does it come with the balance connection for 2s hard case packs? the bullet style that all packs use now.

If so do you see the voltages of the 2 cells when charging?
steam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:52 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (54)
 
Grasschopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 2,647
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by steam View Post
does it come with the balance connection for 2s hard case packs? the bullet style that all packs use now.

If so do you see the voltages of the 2 cells when charging?
If it's like the 306 then no it will come with balance boards but it is easy to make the correct cable harnesses.
Grasschopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 11:02 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Default

http://www.amain.com/product_info.ph...let-Connectors

these work well with the icharger if your packs have bullets.
JiuHaWong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 06:01 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (96)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: WEST COAST
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

http://www.tqracing.com/balance_&_power_cables.htm

#2211 1S and 2S iCharger 1410 Balance extension (does both) 600mm
koz47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 10:11 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (103)
 
kevin107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 1,511
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Just ordered one from Progressive RC. Can't wait!
kevin107 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 10:18 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Default

Nice, let us know how you like it.
JiuHaWong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 11:27 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 216
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Nice......

Last edited by Medicinal Coma; 03-27-2014 at 11:46 PM.
Medicinal Coma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 04:17 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (54)
 
Grasschopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 2,647
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JiuHaWong View Post
http://www.amain.com/product_info.ph...let-Connectors

these work well with the icharger if your packs have bullets.
Well you have to change the balance connector, but that is easy enough assuming you have the right connectors. You need one of these to make two cables as it has the same connector on each end.

http://www.progressiverc.com/icharge...nce-board.html
Grasschopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 07:20 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Default

Originally Posted by Grasschopper View Post
Well you have to change the balance connector, but that is easy enough assuming you have the right connectors. You need one of these to make two cables as it has the same connector on each end.

http://www.progressiverc.com/icharge...nce-board.html
Well, it plugs right into my 4010 w/ slight sanding of the nubs on the balancing plug.



He's using the same plug on a 308.
JiuHaWong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 11:26 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (54)
 
Grasschopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 2,647
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JiuHaWong View Post
Well, it plugs right into my 4010 w/ slight sanding of the nubs on the balancing plug.



He's using the same plug on a 308.
Ok so you modified the connector...sure that works too. For $3 I figured I'd put the right connectors on mine.
Grasschopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 11:40 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JiuHaWong View Post
Well, it plugs right into my 4010 w/ slight sanding of the nubs on the balancing plug.



He's using the same plug on a 308.
The biggest concern is if you don't pay attention or someone else hooks your charger up for you and the balance connector gets plugged into the temp sensor port...... POOOOF! goes that channel. Why they used the same plug as a balance connector baffles me. I've seen several chargers get ruined this way so far.
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 11:42 AM
  #15  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (168)
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 6,245
Trader Rating: 168 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
The biggest concern is if you don't pay attention or someone else hooks your charger up for you and the balance connector gets plugged into the temp sensor port...... POOOOF! goes that channel. Why they used the same plug as a balance connector baffles me. I've seen several chargers get ruined this way so far.
Exactly why I picked up the balance plug from amain.
Matt Trimmings is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service