Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
iCharger 406 DUO Charger >

iCharger 406 DUO Charger

Like Tree16Likes

iCharger 406 DUO Charger

Reply

Old 07-06-2019, 08:06 PM
  #781  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 404
Default

Originally Posted by ottoman View Post
Both my Ichargers charge at whatever amps I set them at... until they taper off close to a full charge as all lipo chargers do.
Then im not doing something right. Thank you
Bry195 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 08:26 PM
  #782  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,323
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bry195 View Post

Then im not doing something right. Thank you

Some chargers will limit the max current charge depending on what your input voltage is. I have a Thunder power that has input of 12-30v. So I use it at 12 volt and no matter if I set to charge at 30amps, it'll cap it to lest say 20amps. The manual says I need an input of 24 volt to get the 30amp charge rate. I use this charger at home as a mule and use the Junsi chargers at the track. The Duo will charge at what ever you set it at as mentioned above. Users must exercise responsibility and this charger will deliver.
trigger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 09:09 PM
  #783  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

When doing a cycle what volts do you guys discharge the cells to before you charge the battery?

Last edited by riceball777; 07-07-2019 at 01:51 PM.
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 09:01 PM
  #784  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

So I just got this charger and I’m using the rl 12 volt 75 amp 900 watt power supply. I have no problems charges two 2s lipo batteries at 40 amps each but I can only charge a 4s lipo at about 28 amps and a 6s lipo at about 19 amps. Does this sound about right? Looks like each channel is making out at about 470ish watts. What do I need to charge a 4s or 6s battery at 40 amps? I guess I need a 24 volt power supply? Does anyone actually run a 24volt power supply?
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 01:58 PM
  #785  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by riceball777 View Post
So I just got this charger and Iím using the rl 12 volt 75 amp 900 watt power supply. I have no problems charges two 2s lipo batteries at 40 amps each but I can only charge a 4s lipo at about 28 amps and a 6s lipo at about 19 amps. Does this sound about right? Looks like each channel is making out at about 470ish watts. What do I need to charge a 4s or 6s battery at 40 amps? I guess I need a 24 volt power supply? Does anyone actually run a 24volt power supply?
bump for answers
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:50 AM
  #786  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by riceball777 View Post


bump for answers
The 406 has an input current limit, so you will definitely need a higher voltage supply to get 40 amps on your 4s and 6s packs.
071crazy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 12:58 PM
  #787  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 071crazy View Post
The 406 has an input current limit, so you will definitely need a higher voltage supply to get 40 amps on your 4s and 6s packs.
the icharger has an input limit of 10-30volts and 60amps max. The rl power supply is 12volts, 75amps and 900 watts. 12 volts multiplex with 60 amps should give 720 watts of power. A 4s battery is 16.8volts fully charged. 16.8 volts times a 40 amp charge rate requires 672 watts of power. My question is why canít I charge a 4s lipo at 40 amps. Is my math wrong? I just want to learn.
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 05:23 AM
  #788  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 27
Default

Originally Posted by riceball777 View Post


the icharger has an input limit of 10-30volts and 60amps max. The rl power supply is 12volts, 75amps and 900 watts. 12 volts multiplex with 60 amps should give 720 watts of power. A 4s battery is 16.8volts fully charged. 16.8 volts times a 40 amp charge rate requires 672 watts of power. My question is why canít I charge a 4s lipo at 40 amps. Is my math wrong? I just want to learn.
I just want to know what kind of speeds you are getting with 40amp charges on 4S lol.
Andy Koback likes this.
ChadoSan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 05:43 PM
  #789  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ChadoSan View Post
I just want to know what kind of speeds you are getting with 40amp charges on 4S lol.
my question is me asking why Am I not able to change my 4s batteries at 40 amps? I have a 12 volt 900 watt 75 amp power supply and when I try to charge my 4s batteries at 40 amps it only goes up to about a 29amp charge rate and wonít go up any higher. A 29amp charge rate on 4s is only 480watts of power. With 2s batteries I have no issues charging at 40amps.
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 11:40 PM
  #790  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
DirkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

According to the manual, the maximum charge capacity (1400W overall / 1000W per channel) requires an input voltage >23.5V - maybe 12V is not enough for the [email protected] (672W) you are looking for...? After all, 672 is about 2/3 of the 1000W max per channel, so it might require around 18V for that?
DirkW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 12:35 AM
  #791  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DirkW View Post
According to the manual, the maximum charge capacity (1400W overall / 1000W per channel) requires an input voltage >23.5V - maybe 12V is not enough for the [email protected] (672W) you are looking for...? After all, 672 is about 2/3 of the 1000W max per channel, so it might require around 18V for that?
i wish an expert or an electrician would chime in here.
From what I under stand power should be voltage x amps. Like I said I use the standard 12 volt power supply that almost everyone uses. The rl/ sure speed/ motive which is 12 volts 900 watts and 75 amps. The Icharger had a max input of 60 amps. So 60amps x 12 volts should equal 720 watts of available power. 720 watts is more than enough to charge a 4s batters at 40amps. But it only maxes out at 29 amps on my icharger. I just want to know if I’m doing my math wrong? Or am I missing something in this equation.

Last edited by riceball777; 07-15-2019 at 04:07 PM.
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 12:50 PM
  #792  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by riceball777 View Post


the icharger has an input limit of 10-30volts and 60amps max. The rl power supply is 12volts, 75amps and 900 watts. 12 volts multiplex with 60 amps should give 720 watts of power. A 4s battery is 16.8volts fully charged. 16.8 volts times a 40 amp charge rate requires 672 watts of power. My question is why canít I charge a 4s lipo at 40 amps. Is my math wrong? I just want to learn.
If i remember correctly, the input limit of the 406 is 60 amps total, and a limit 47 amps per channel. 47*12 = 564 watts. That would get you to about 33.5 amps maximum @ 16.8 volts.

A charger does not operate at 100 percent efficiency. Some of that power is being dissipated as heat, which is why your fans turn on at higher charge rates.

Fair disclosure, i'm not an electrician.

gigaplex likes this.
071crazy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 09:33 PM
  #793  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 200
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I love the ICharger, but they need to make it way easier to adjust the voltage. I adjust it like twice a year and it takes me 30 minutes to figure out how to do it. If I did it regularly id memorize the steps and be fine, but I don't so is there a cheat sheet or something in this thread im missing?

Edit: Answered my own question with a quick youtube search:


Last edited by mgers75; 07-29-2019 at 11:49 PM.
mgers75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 09:14 AM
  #794  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,057
Default

just copy one of your memory setups and change the voltage in it and leave the original at the other voltage you use. label one 'low' volt or something.
JayL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 09:33 AM
  #795  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone run a 24volt power supply to get maximum power out of this charger? What are the best 24 volt power supplies out there that can max out this charger that’s also compact in size?
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service