Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Team Orion Vortex R10.1 2S ESC Thread >

Team Orion Vortex R10.1 2S ESC Thread

Team Orion Vortex R10.1 2S ESC Thread

Old 04-06-2015, 11:44 PM
  #61  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Hoping for a little advice.

I have recently purchased 3 x R10.1 speedos and have an R8.1 on the way. They seem to run very well.
My issue is if the senor cable remains plugged into the motor then the program box wont fire up past its initial screen. Remove the senor from the motor and away it goes. Is a small thing but is a bit a of a pain removing when a small program box adjustment is required.

My radio is a Sanwa M12. Motors are Reedys.

Surely with two sensor ports one could stay connected to the motor while the other used to program. What am I doing wrong???


Cheers
Mtbnn is offline  
Old 04-07-2015, 09:53 PM
  #62  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Hi

Have have 3 x Orion R10.1 ESCs they run all sweet. I am however hoping someone can offer a little advice on the following.

When the Sensor cable is plugged into the back of the ESC and into the motor the program box wont fire up past its initial screen.
Its not always easy on some cars to get at the motor sensor to unplug and is really a bit of a pain when you can use the top sensor hole to plug the box into.

My Radio is a Sanwa M12 and the motor is a Reedy.

What I am doing wrong or is there any way to leave the motor connected to the ESC through the sensor cable and the program box work?

Cheers
Mtbnn is offline  
Old 06-05-2015, 03:21 PM
  #63  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Default R10.1 Pro setup to share

Tested on 06/05/2015.

Motor: 13.5T Pro Stock
Timing: 55
Start RPM: 1000
Acc: 150
Turbo: 40
FDR Ratio: 5.5
Brake: 87.5%
Drag: 5%
EPA: TH (150%).... BR (150%)
Motor: Orion with 2 motor fan
Track: Long track (1/8 track)

Any comment.....
Rudyvtec is offline  
Old 06-05-2015, 03:33 PM
  #64  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Default R10.1 Pro setup to share

Before....

Set Motor KV to 3000KV....
Other info to share:
Road Temp: 51C
Motor Temp: 78C in 5 mins.
Braking feels: Full Brake (Slow brake).... Half brake (strong brake)
- Full brake effect good for sweeper.... Half brake good for short distance
Rudyvtec is offline  
Old 06-05-2015, 03:35 PM
  #65  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Default R10.1 Pro setup to share

Ammendment:

Start rpm is 10,000 rpm not 1000 rpm..
Rudyvtec is offline  
Old 06-06-2015, 11:21 AM
  #66  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa az
Posts: 482
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

wrong thread
WEEZY is offline  
Old 06-23-2015, 07:57 PM
  #67  
Tech Regular
 
Finalist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 389
Default

Team Orion,

How do I get in touch for customer support. I see you read this thread, so please help. I have emailed using my team orion with no replies there and on your FB page. Where can I get a new sensor rubber dust cap for the r10.1 sensor port?
Finalist is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 03:54 AM
  #68  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 276
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys ive got week brakes with orion r10.1 esc and trinity r3.5 10.5t brushless motor.
Any ideas would be great. Motor is new and i get strong breaks with trackstar motor 10.5t.
heartostone is offline  
Old 02-17-2016, 05:32 PM
  #69  
Tech Regular
 
Finalist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 389
Default

I'm running an R10.1 in my buggy and have it set to blinky mode with the Mod software. The esc still is running the Mod software (it's in blinky mode). Would I see better performance for stock 17.5 racing if I purchased a DSB R box and changed the r10.1 esc's firmware/software to STOCK and ran blinky mode that way? If so, what are those benefits?

I know I can make advanced changes to the esc with a DSB R, but I am wondering if the stock firmware offers more for a stock racer.
Finalist is offline  
Old 03-05-2016, 02:09 PM
  #70  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
politpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Finalist
I'm running an R10.1 in my buggy and have it set to blinky mode with the Mod software. The esc still is running the Mod software (it's in blinky mode). Would I see better performance for stock 17.5 racing if I purchased a DSB R box and changed the r10.1 esc's firmware/software to STOCK and ran blinky mode that way? If so, what are those benefits?

I know I can make advanced changes to the esc with a DSB R, but I am wondering if the stock firmware offers more for a stock racer.
to answer your question... NO, purchasing the optional box will add no performance gain specially when you are racing blinky.. try downloading the newest firmware v09 in your esc.. i felt no difference but hey its there specially made for blinky/stock racing.. it gives more punch to the motor but thats just it..
politpot is offline  
Old 03-19-2016, 05:43 PM
  #71  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

please help i connect my esc to the programmer then to pc it keeps say update software. i downloaded version 2.04 to my pc and still says it. it is orion r10 pro and dsbrplus thanks ahead
jamesa407 is offline  
Old 04-12-2016, 08:34 PM
  #72  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
MiDGet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 562
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys.
bought my vortex r10 stock on Monday. when calibrating..
I get it to read 'Neutral'
hit the button.
Read 'Full throttle'
hit the button..

then I put the controller into full brake and hit the button.. nothing happens.
let go of full brake and the ESC then beeps as its saved 'Full brake' which is now saved as being neutral.
Even if I hold full brake on for an extended period of time - it doesn't do anything until I let the trigger go.
Have tried a number of times and its certainly not the first ESC I have calibrated.
Controller is a DX4S.

Thoughts? Suggestions?
cheers?
MiDGet is offline  
Old 01-12-2017, 07:00 AM
  #73  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (30)
 
draboyd19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

I have two r10 ESC's (and the DSBR box), one of the esc's which I recently picked up used.

My primary r10 has the 111208MOD software on it, but the other one I picked up has the Stock 110728STOCK software on it.

Seems the only difference is the boost RPM and ACC setting, but when I went to Orion's site to try and download the firmware updates, it seems to be leading me to now where.

The Orion download link no longer works and links you to http://my.teamorion.com/. I made a profile, added products, etc. but nothing seems to be linking me to the download for the firmware.

Any thoughts, suggestions?

My goal would be to have both ESC's running same firmware, but if I can't make that happen, does anyone have any explanation of below:

MOD setting:
0 Boost Timing
10 Turbo Timing
24 Slope
.4 Delay

Would the Stock setting with 0 Boost Timing be the same set-up as listed below for the MOD? Was not sure if the Boost Timing is 0 is the Start RPM and ACC setting are void even though those are not set to 0.

Any clarification would be great.
draboyd19 is offline  
Old 04-17-2017, 10:57 PM
  #74  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (43)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 2,912
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

can anybody send me a link to the 10.1 esc manual which is scanned correctly? Team Orion website doesn't label there manual filename and it's very hard to find it.
Phillip F is offline  
Old 04-20-2017, 04:46 PM
  #75  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,098
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

any issues with the Orion 10.1 and a Norsram/LRP motor?
Marcos.J is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.