Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Official Tekin RSX Thread >

Official Tekin RSX Thread

Like Tree75Likes

Official Tekin RSX Thread

Reply

Old 07-03-2019, 06:15 AM
  #1606  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (154)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,602
Trader Rating: 154 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tobey457 View Post


welp, plugged everything into the laptop, update to 272, Hotwire is showing Ďfan always oní but still no juice for the fan or Hotwire.

Any other quick tricks I can try before I contact Tekin?
Hmm...

Does this Hotwire work fine with other speed controls?

I had a stint where I kept plugging in the hotwire backwards in the port on the RSX, but that was just an ID10T error on my part. Other than that, I'm out of ideas. :-/
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 11:46 AM
  #1607  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 216
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Hmm...

Does this Hotwire work fine with other speed controls?

I had a stint where I kept plugging in the hotwire backwards in the port on the RSX, but that was just an ID10T error on my part. Other than that, I'm out of ideas. :-/
yes this Hotwire and the test fan I used work on other RSX ESCs I have, even tried plugging them in backwards as I had the same problem as you before. Haha

i talked through it with tekin customer support, the component is on the board and cannot be repaired, the whole unit would need to be replaced. I can still program it with a Hotwire through a tablet / laptop, it just canít power a fan, or the bluetooth Hotwire for on-the-fly updates.
Tobey457 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 01:21 AM
  #1608  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 52
Default

I just purchased a Tekin RS Gen2 (I think i got a decent price on a lightly used one). In any case I'm curious if I need to do anything to it in order to use 7.4v on servo and or battery ? sorry this will be my first time running in years when this tech wasnt even around.

in any case I really look forward to any comments. If someone has any advice with this ESC bad or good id love to hear it!

i bought a REVTECH 13.5t motor to run with this that is on the way as well. I have at savox 1258tg servo

t6.1
vegas7o2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 11:47 AM
  #1609  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
savage24x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 290
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vegas7o2 View Post
I just purchased a Tekin RS Gen2 (I think i got a decent price on a lightly used one). In any case I'm curious if I need to do anything to it in order to use 7.4v on servo and or battery ? sorry this will be my first time running in years when this tech wasnt even around.

in any case I really look forward to any comments. If someone has any advice with this ESC bad or good id love to hear it!

i bought a REVTECH 13.5t motor to run with this that is on the way as well. I have at savox 1258tg servo

t6.1
This is the wrong thread, but you do have to hook it up to a Tekin Hotwire and manually change the BEC voltage. You can't do it through the ESC itself.
savage24x is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 01:19 PM
  #1610  
Tech Regular
 
firecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: eastern,ct
Posts: 483
Default

I hope tekin sorts out the issues with the rsx pro using the hot wire for android I have 2 new pros and cant use my hot wire but works fine on lap top kind of a bummer they release new products that aren't compatible and I have seen earlier post about tekin trying to fix the problem also I have an ra# number I got a bout a month ago to send back an rsx how long is this # good for thanks
firecat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 01:27 PM
  #1611  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 234
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by firecat View Post
I hope tekin sorts out the issues with the rsx pro using the hot wire for android
Are you trying to use the Bluetooth method with Android?
Mahjik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 01:53 PM
  #1612  
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,072
Default

Originally Posted by firecat View Post
I hope tekin sorts out the issues with the rsx pro using the hot wire for android I have 2 new pros and cant use my hot wire but works fine on lap top kind of a bummer they release new products that aren't compatible and I have seen earlier post about tekin trying to fix the problem also I have an ra# number I got a bout a month ago to send back an rsx how long is this # good for thanks
The new android version that works with RSxpro and the new Gen3 units is available in the Play store now. IOS versions should be available in a few weeks pending approval by Apple.
lowspark and oldernoob like this.
Tekin Prez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 05:24 AM
  #1613  
Tech Regular
 
firecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: eastern,ct
Posts: 483
Default

Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
Are you trying to use the Bluetooth method with Android?
yes blue tooth works on my old RSX and new RS pro but not on RSX pro tried unloading and loading app a few times with no luck but I can program with a lap top starting to think it was bad move to invest in tekin speedos

firecat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 05:25 AM
  #1614  
Tech Regular
 
firecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: eastern,ct
Posts: 483
Default

Originally Posted by Tekin Prez View Post
The new android version that works with RSxpro and the new Gen3 units is available in the Play store now. IOS versions should be available in a few weeks pending approval by Apple.
still no luck unfortunately
firecat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 10:42 AM
  #1615  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 52
Default

I just got a Tekin rs gen2 ,my hotwire 2.0 will be here by Tuesday. You have the 3.0 I assume ? I'm excited to mess with it. Main reason I got it was to adjust Bec to 7.4 in hopes of getting better servo performance
vegas7o2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 09:22 AM
  #1616  
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,072
Default

Originally Posted by firecat View Post
still no luck unfortunately
Did you try uninstall and then new install?
If it works with other escs but just not rsxpro it sounds like it did not update properly.
Tekin Prez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 07:47 PM
  #1617  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 234
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by firecat View Post
yes blue tooth works on my old RSX and new RS pro but not on RSX pro tried unloading and loading app a few times with no luck but I can program with a lap top starting to think it was bad move to invest in tekin speedos
The reason I ask is that I had an issue connecting to a Gen2 RS. Basically, with the ESC connected to my receiver, it wouldn't bind via Bluetooth. Randy had mentioned that some receivers interfere with the ESC. Disconnecting the ESC from the receiver allowed the bind to work for me. I know you needed a software update for your issue, but maybe this could help along with the software update.
Mahjik is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service