Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Official Tekin RSX Thread >

Official Tekin RSX Thread

Like Tree50Likes

Official Tekin RSX Thread

Reply

Old 01-08-2019, 08:39 AM
  #1501  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (82)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,229
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wacko37 View Post
When need a release date for the RSX PRO!!!!
Oh, I can help.....Soon
Wildcat1971 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 11:11 AM
  #1502  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
wacko37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: McGuire AFB, NJ
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ya, soon. everyone says "soon" lol
wacko37 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 02:51 PM
  #1503  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

According to instagram something is coming on the 15th!
cjcoffroad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 06:00 PM
  #1504  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (82)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,229
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

According to the tekin facebook page, something is coming. I love new things to play with
Wildcat1971 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 12:00 PM
  #1505  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
dski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

with the RSX pro coming will software updates stop being released for the RSX?
dski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:18 PM
  #1506  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Talon4U2NV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 46
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dski View Post
with the RSX pro coming will software updates stop being released for the RSX?
Good question, but I doubt that will happen. Tekin keeps up on their stuff... now if more features are available on the new pro that the original cant do...
i could see the software not supporting those features on the original
Talon4U2NV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 05:32 PM
  #1507  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 922
Default

the original RS ( gen one ) controller had software updates for over 8 years...

like last year was the final one... my understanding.

I am also waiting for the PRO model and its spec's... as I just switched to MOD 2 months ago.
YES running my 9 year old RS, gen 1..... with a 6,200mah , 120c battery. in a SC5M....
Randy_Pike likes this.
chuck_thehammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 04:11 PM
  #1508  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
wacko37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: McGuire AFB, NJ
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

my gen 1 RS RRO is dying it think. with an 8.5 in my ST it overheats
wacko37 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 06:45 AM
  #1509  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
wacko37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: McGuire AFB, NJ
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

so I was wondering. why is it that it seem all the other brands run multiple bigger cap's and tekin only runs the 1 330uf? whats the benefit to running more capacity? should I get the tekin 1000uf? please help me learn! Thank You
wacko37 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 07:24 AM
  #1510  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 922
Default

many post on this forum..

for both types... of capacitors

for noise control/filtering into receiver
for voltage control into speed controller... and/or voltage/current management for BEC going to servo's

to much can be as bad as to little..

I am NOT a teacher... I just know stuff

here is a LINK.. with a very short reading on capacitors
https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Electronics/Capacitors
.
chuck_thehammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 07:48 AM
  #1511  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,467
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wacko37 View Post
my gen 1 RS RRO is dying it think. with an 8.5 in my ST it overheats
What are your settings in the ESC? That's right at the edge of its capabilities, mostly due to the RS pro not being as efficient at getting rid of heat buildup. If you run dual mode instead of sensored only, you should notice the esc run a lot cooler. Might be worth replacing your capacitor as well if its as old as the esc.

Originally Posted by wacko37 View Post
so I was wondering. why is it that it seem all the other brands run multiple bigger cap's and tekin only runs the 1 330uf? whats the benefit to running more capacity? should I get the tekin 1000uf? please help me learn! Thank You
There is a difference in capacitors beyond the microfarad rating (μF). That just tells you how many electrons are stored in the capacitor per volt. It doesn't tell you how long it takes the capacitor to 'fill up' or how quickly it can discharge. The length of wire from the capacitor to the esc matters as well. The shorter the better. Also, the higher quality your battery is, the less you need to rely on a large capacitor.

For 95% of vehicles the RSX is used in, the single, low esr, 330μF capacitor with very short wires paired with a quality battery is all that's required. Any additional capacitors won't make a difference. If you run crazy low turn mod motors (4.5 or below), THEN you might want to add an additional 330μF capacitor.

Some companies use multiple less expensive capacitors to achieve the same results. Or some use multiple caps because they have an inch or more of wire between them and the esc. Yet others add extra capacitors to guard against people using low quality lipos with overkill motors. Different designs/intent require different solutions is all.
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 09:05 AM
  #1512  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
wacko37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: McGuire AFB, NJ
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

so what if I have worn out batteries?
wacko37 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 09:40 AM
  #1513  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,467
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wacko37 View Post
so what if I have worn out batteries?
With an 8.5 turn motor in a 2wd truck, I wouldn't sweat it. If you want to add another cap, feel free to. ESC might run a skosh cooler. If it doesn't, then the single cap was already enough.
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 10:29 AM
  #1514  
Team Tekin
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,860
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wacko37 View Post
so what if I have worn out batteries?
Those can over work and over heat the ESC if they're really bad.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 02:00 AM
  #1515  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (2)
 
alavigna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I was excited to see the new RSX Pro come out today. However, after looking over the features, I don't really see what is different from the current model? I see listed the updated software settings, perhaps a few more parameters, etc., but I feel like that could be marketing talk more than substantial change. I own 4 Tekin RSX esc's, and I love them. In fact, I love Tekin, and run their electronics almost exclusively. The layout and build of the RSX is very good, as evidenced by the fact that the new RSX Pro is basically physically the same. A few changes of red to silver, updated fan, and graphics seem to be the only changes. I don't know if I should be happy that the existing model is so good it didn't need much change, or annoyed that this new RSX Pro is not really different?

I am not complaining or throwing shade at Tekin. Again, I am a huge fan and loyal customer. Maybe I am totally missing something that makes the new model different? I'm just not sure how I feel about this "new" RSX. Anyway, First World Problems, am I right?
alavigna is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service