R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Old 06-14-2013, 05:26 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Stock vs. modified motors

I was wondering what the noticeable differences are between a stock and modified motor. I am using a reedy 17.5 turn, would I have just more top end if I used a 7.5 turn motor? And, would it be very noticeable? Thanks for the help, I am new to brushless motors.
Old 06-14-2013, 05:31 PM   #2
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Yes, it would be very noticeable. More of everything. Be sure to adjust gearing, needs a considerably smaller pinion. Modifieds have less tolerance for incorrect gearing, they can heat up quickly. Many limit run time to help avoid excessive heat build up.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 05:37 PM   #3
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by This-Guy View Post
I was wondering what the noticeable differences are between a stock and modified motor. I am using a reedy 17.5 turn, would I have just more top end if I used a 7.5 turn motor? And, would it be very noticeable? Thanks for the help, I am new to brushless motors.
I'm guessing you aren't racing at a track as they normally have rules as far as what motor you are allowed to enter with in a certain class, and if you got to see the races between mod and stock/spec class you would definitely know what the difference is. The 7.5 is quite a jump from a 17.5, would be heaps faster. The 17.5 would run cooler and give longer runtimes due to lower current draw and higher efficiency, but the 7.5 yields lots more revs. You do have to gear differently for a lower turn motor (smaller pinion gear) but the speed will still be very noticeable.

Umm, what does overkill mean again?
meno1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 05:47 PM   #4
Tech Rookie