Wiki Posts
Search

Experience with Trackmate Iridium RC lap counter

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2013, 08:58 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Experience with Trackmate Iridium RC lap counter

In the process of setting up a garage track for myself and some friends. The Trackmate system is far cheaper than any other lap counting setup I've seen. For what I'm going to do it will set me back ~$285 for the whole setup including 5 transponders. Easily within my modest budget.

I'd like to know about people's experience with it. How long have you been using it? Your personal system or track you go to? Any problems, complaints, comments, concerns?
Old 10-17-2013, 09:18 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I have been running this system for about 5 or 6 years. It's a great system! Worth every penny. The transponder will read through light coat of paint on the body but will not read through stickers. It is best to put it under a clear part in you body like the windshield or when painting a new body tape off a clear spot were you want it.
The customer service has been exceptional at trackmate. Any time I have a problem with a transponder they fix or replace them for free. even when it's because the wire got caught in a driveline or something completely my fault.
The software they give you for free is great and simple I used happily for years. But just recently I found some free software from flipside racing that is awesome. It speaks names and fastest lap times during the races also has the option to email race results and statistics to the racers after each race.
I highly recommend this lap counter. Transponders are cheap enough that people can buy there own. We have over 50 people with there own transponders here.
Old 10-24-2013, 08:07 AM
Tech Adept