Like Tree29Likes

TORO TS 120A ESC

Reply

Old 05-13-2013, 11:38 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
PhilippineEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default TORO TS 120A ESC

Anyone using this ESC? I've been searching for reviews on RCTech and the net but have found nothing. This ESC looks promising with the all the features and price under $100 USD.

Constant/Burst Current: 120A/760A
Motor Compatible: Brushless Sensor & Sensorless ESC
Car Compatible: 1/10 and 1/12 Buggy and Truck 1/10 and 1/8 Crawlers
Motor Limits: 5-6S NIMH or 2S LIPO--≥3.5T(1/10 Buggy), ≥5.5T(1/10 Truck) 8-9S NIMH or 3S LIPO--≥5.5T(1/10 Buggy),≥8.5T(1/10 Truck)
Resistance: 0.0003ohm
Battery Cell Count: 4-9S NIMH or 2-3S LIPO
BEC Output: [email protected], line
Size: 39x38x20mm (LxWxH)
Weight: 45g (w/o wire)
FAN: [email protected] , MAX 12.6V
PhilippineEagle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 11:26 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 875
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

These are rebranded Hobbywing Xerun 120A V3.1 ESC's. Should get you better searches, as everything I've read says they are great.
Xtrakritical likes this.
WindDrake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 12:00 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
PhilippineEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thank you WindDrake.
PhilippineEagle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 03:42 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
onekiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sweden but from New Zealand
Posts: 898
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Id also like to know how people are getting on with these.
Even if they are rebranded I don't think you can look at the HW esc and think that it is this one
onekiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 04:39 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,020
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by onekiwi View Post
Id also like to know how people are getting on with these.
Even if they are rebranded I don't think you can look at the HW esc and think that it is this one
ummm...yeah, you can

http://www.falconsekido.com/products...-brushless-esc

the difference - hobbywing gives you the solder posts and this toro one don't

remember back in the day of brushed motors and Tamiya's Voltac speedo??? that was a 100% re-branded KO speedo - but completely done in Tamiya blue and Tamiya stickering

so it happens a lot
k_bojar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 12:39 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Is there any source that proofes that it is a Hobbywing?
The size is very different and the Toro doesnt have the alloy case.
Even if its made by HW which is very possible its obvious not the same speedo.
takymo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:30 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Looks a lot like this guy

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...grammable.html

And this guy

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ogram_Box.html

Unfortunately seems to be a rebranded Hobbyking. Sounds a lot like hobbywing
Glarke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:47 PM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I have this esc and run it with a novak 4.5t 550. Seems fine. Has the ability to adjust throttle and brake curves via PC.
josh9465 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:07 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,223
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I'd say it's a safe bet both the Toro and the Turnigy are made by Hobbywing, as Hobbywing make gear for a few other brands, it would likely be damn near the same internals, with a cheaper spec plastic case, software looks less tarted up, but functions are the same in every way.

A week or so back, I had a strong urge to buy the Toro, only problem is the almost pointless nature of blinky modes on brands/models that may never get submitted to ROAR for approval, making one of the biggest selling points of an ESC that will do Mod/Boost stock/Blinky all in one is negated by it not being legal in blinky.
Bishop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 01:00 AM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Default

So, viscous technology makes them.
MrPlantnium4x4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 01:45 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (13)
 
slim jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: land of cows and corn fields
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I run the toro sc120 with a 4000kv 550 in my scte and the only thing i would want more would be the ability to run sensored. I got mine as a combo with a 4600kv for $103 shipped from japan to my door. it comes with a programming card but usb/pc programming would be nice too.

All told i'm very happy with the combo. just wish i had gotten it with the 4000kv instead of the 4600kv, since we've moved indoors to a virgin clay track that is smaller then the outdoor track which has closed, I had problems keeping the motor cooler. It was running at 150-160 after 6 min. the 4000kv comes of at 130-135 after 6 min.
slim jim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:42 PM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I run my toro ts120 with a novak 4.5t 550 with sensor wire and its performs well.



Originally Posted by slim jim View Post
I run the toro sc120 with a 4000kv 550 in my scte and the only thing i would want more would be the ability to run sensored. I got mine as a combo with a 4600kv for $103 shipped from japan to my door. it comes with a programming card but usb/pc programming would be nice too.

All told i'm very happy with the combo. just wish i had gotten it with the 4000kv instead of the 4600kv, since we've moved indoors to a virgin clay track that is smaller then the outdoor track which has closed, I had problems keeping the motor cooler. It was running at 150-160 after 6 min. the 4000kv comes of at 130-135 after 6 min.
josh9465 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:19 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (96)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norcal
Posts: 928
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

I'm seriously thinking about picking one of these up. Anyone try the bluetooth module on this one yet?
eddiemoney13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 11:25 PM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
IntegraMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hamilton, ON, Canada
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have the the TS120 with program card and the bluetooth module but i haven't installed it in anything yet. I know one guy who's using it in a 4wd buggy and he hasn't mentioned anything bad about it, just that it's working well for him and he likes it
IntegraMark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 05:43 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
cdkm jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 252
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried one of the Beeman x10 ESC and motors? The ESC looks like the HW v3.1 and has the all aluminum case. The Programmer is an identical match and the motors seem to be a ThunderPower clone possibly.





cdkm jr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service