Like Tree29Likes

TORO TS 120A ESC

Reply

Old 12-31-2018, 11:38 PM
  #1156  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5,063
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I don't believe so but it has blinking mode and I ran it at a race that did check but it wasn't a huge race
bring it on is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 04:33 PM
  #1157  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Hi all
I have a 120a comp esc that did work nice the first 5 mins. After it start to cut off the power and i was thinking it may start overheating but it was not that.
So it did random cut off att the track so i connect my wifi and put boost and turbo too 0 too see if that was the problem.
So i put down my drifter and after few coners did it agin a random cut off and now when i connect my wifi and try to connect so now it will not let me
connect to the esc. and after every power off do i have recalibre the esc. the wifi works nice on my other toro 120a comp esc.
so my question is the esc dead or is there any hope to get it alive?
Its brand new the esc but there is a problem for me too send it back that it will be more expensive for me to send it back that buy a new one.
About when i start the esc it start blinking green and it same when i connect wifi it start to blink green and when i start the app on my phone
so just before the app get connection with wifi then my esc blink red and and i get message on my phone that app has stoped :/
Kimpo76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 02:45 PM
  #1158  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 105
Default

I ended up with the ts120 for now. Unfortunately I didn't pay attention and ordered the plastic case versions (I got 2) by mistake. Hopefully it won't cause me too many problems.

anyone know the fan specs on this esc? I know this has been asked before but the fan sure is loud and way overkill for my application.
bring it on likes this.
Maraach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 05:09 PM
  #1159  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5,063
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Shouldn't need fans and the plastic 120 is what I ran myself
bring it on is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 07:58 AM
  #1160  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Default

My program box just showed up so I was able to finally update my esc to the latest firmware... it was a piece of cake with the program box, not so much with the wifi box.

One thing I noticed on my TS120A (aluminum) is that in the software the option is there to set the BEC to 6v or 7.4v. This was the case with the initial firmware before updating, and the option is still there once I upgraded to the latest firmware, so I'm assuming this is a real option/feature of this ESC?!? Am I going to have issues setting it to 7.4v?

Are you guys setting the lvc or leaving it set to auto? I'm assuming 6.4v is an OK setting for running 2S? I'm assuming 6.4v is for all cells, so 3.2v per cell. Or should I just leave it set to auto?

I have my TS120A running a castle 1410-3800kv 4-pole motor in my SCT and it runs it seems to run fine in sensored moded. I was worried this wouldn't work, but so far so good.

I'm running this in a 2wd SCT (Blitz) so looking for ESC setup tips for 2wd SCT. Most setups I've seen posted in this thread seem to be aimed at high-bite carpet tracks. Anybody else running these in 2wd SCT and have setup suggestions for tweaking the setups posted?
Lefty421 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 10:09 AM
  #1161  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5,063
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

ts120 dose not have 7.4v option and not sure why it has it on program and yes you can switch it but it will still be 6.0v
Lefty421 likes this.
bring it on is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 08:16 PM
  #1162  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Default Lost reverse in TS120 when motor hot

It seems that there is a bug in TS120 Forward/Brake/Reverse mode, the reverse function will be disabled if the motor temperature is high, eg, after running in Boost or Turbo for a few minutes, then reverse will be disabled, but after the motor is cooled down , the reverse function can work again. I don't know whether it is a firmware bug or hardware bug, my hardware is v1.0, firmware v2.07

Last edited by tc3driverhk; 02-10-2019 at 08:54 PM.
tc3driverhk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 11:20 PM
  #1163  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 105
Default

Well after being reasonably pleased with my ts120a I thought I'd give the ts160a a go in my new 2wd buggy (plus from a price perspective there isn't much between them.

first challenge I had Was That I could not get the progbox to connect (as mentioned here). Through a bunch of fiddling, a lot of good luck and something im not exacrly sure about i did finally get it connected via pc which allowed me to upgrade the prog box firmware and it now seems to connect. It now seems to connect as expected though I must admit the naming of options could be done a little clearer for a better user experience.

Will be giving it a run soon and let you know how it goes.
bring it on likes this.
Maraach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 12:41 AM
  #1164  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I would get the wifi adaptor for the ts160a. It works great for me. I have 3 ts160a and 2 ts120a.
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:19 PM
  #1165  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 72
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bring it on View Post
www.crpplus.net
Website doesn’t exist anymore, they go under?
Monster Mudder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:32 PM
  #1166  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5,063
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Monster Mudder View Post


Website doesn’t exist anymore, they go under?
its being worked on and should be back up soon.. if you need anything you can PM me and I can get you in the right direction
bring it on is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service