Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Lipo battery balance lead broke off >

Lipo battery balance lead broke off

Lipo battery balance lead broke off

Reply

Old 10-14-2012, 08:47 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Default Lipo battery balance lead broke off

Hey guys,

When I bought my truck used it came with a venom lipo battery and the center wire lead broke off in the hole. I tried using a magnet to get it out but that did not work.

Can I do anything to save my battery?


Thanks,


Kevin
Attached Thumbnails Lipo battery balance lead broke off-img-20121014-00306.jpg   Lipo battery balance lead broke off-img-20121014-00307.jpg  
sly1types is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 09:01 PM
  #2  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

they push in pretty good a magnet isn't going to pull it out. I can't see anything in hole in your pics, are you sure it's in there??
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 09:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by racer1812 View Post
they push in pretty good a magnet isn't going to pull it out. I can't see anything in hole in your pics, are you sure it's in there??
Ya I'm positive its in there.
sly1types is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 09:07 PM
  #4  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Try putting in a plug and hope it goes in far enough to hold and make good contact. Other than that...not sure

try putting in the plug and take a pic of that, would give a better idea how far down it's broke off.
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:04 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 875
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

If you can get a pair of cutters or something thin under the lead hole, you may be able to pull the socket up out of the housing and press the broken lead out from the wire side.

Though if you can do that, you can also just replace the socket, or cut into the housing and direct wire everything.
WindDrake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:26 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
The Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 953
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Happened to me before, I used an xacto knife and got it out no problem.
The Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:30 PM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by The Captain View Post
Happened to me before, I used an xacto knife and got it out no problem.
Can you elaborate?

Thanks
sly1types is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:30 PM
  #8  
Moderator
iTrader: (128)
 
badaml's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mountain Home,TX
Posts: 2,671
Trader Rating: 128 (100%+)
Default

You could get another lead or something similar, and put a small amount of ca on it. Then push it down, wait a few minutes, then pull it out with the broken tip attached from the glue. Use a VERY small amount though, as you don't want to glue the broken piece in the hole.
badaml is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:34 AM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WindDrake View Post
If you can get a pair of cutters or something thin under the lead hole, you may be able to pull the socket up out of the housing and press the broken lead out from the wire side.

Though if you can do that, you can also just replace the socket, or cut into the housing and direct wire everything.
Or split the case giving access to the plug and like said above, push it out from the bottom side of the plug.
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:57 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (70)
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,378
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

maybe a dental pick. Ive used them with good results previously.
mkiiina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:46 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 274
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I would go with Racer's idea, but instead of splitting the case, just drill a tiny hole on the bottom of the case and push your bullet up from the bottom with a piece of piano wire. Seal it with a piece of tape or some shoe goo when you're done.
Ropes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:16 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
The Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 953
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Stick xacto blade between small gap and pry it out.
The Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:08 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Tracy B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mkiiina View Post
maybe a dental pick. Ive used them with good results previously.
I like this idea.
Tracy B is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service