Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Futaba "EXPF", "ACCFW", and "Speed" in plain english? >

Futaba "EXPF", "ACCFW", and "Speed" in plain english?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Futaba "EXPF", "ACCFW", and "Speed" in plain english?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2012, 04:36 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Futaba "EXPF", "ACCFW", and "Speed" in plain english?

first of all, i am still a beginner racer. secondly, and admittedly, i get a little hasty under pressure and my throttle finger goes all rogue on me, even though i know it isn't supposed to.

with a 13.5 i can run average and fast laps with the top drivers at my local track. with a 10.5 i am constantly either spinning out, or backing off for fear of spinning out, and running slow laps. why not go back to the 13.5? well it needed max can timing and max ESC timing to remain competitive, i didn't want to damage it. i was unprepared for the HUGE torque increase, and so i start my journey...

now my POS Hobbywing ESC has "punch" control, but that only seems to work for an initial start from stop. it has nothing to do with low speed throttle control or corner exit.

what i am trying to figure out, is if there is a way i can get my 4PL to "dumb down" my itchy trigger finger, and perhaps slow down the quick/twitchy reactions i am feeding the ESC. this is just a temporary measure to get some clean racing in before i give up on 2wd altogether.

i know EPA will prevent the ESC from running at 100%. i get that. where i get lost is the Speed, EXP, and ACC settings. on paper, they all seem like they do the same thing. on paper, they also all confuse the hell out of me.

could anyone explain this to me in real english?

FWIW: at our local track there is only one corner where i need full blown 100% acceleration immediately after the corner. everywhere else, i could stand to dial the torque down to about 60-70%

any help would be appreciated
Old 09-27-2012, 10:05 PM
Tech Elite