Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Turnigy TrackStar Motors >

Turnigy TrackStar Motors

Like Tree7Likes

Turnigy TrackStar Motors

Old 10-15-2015, 10:34 PM
  #601  
CL
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (34)
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
I believe so. They are very different in design and performance. I have been running the 13.5t and 17.5t motors and they are just a fast as any racer at a very competitive track that I frequent.
I have never been able to get the v1 motors even close in performance. (poor RPM output)
I believe the V2 motors are of a short stack design with hi torque rotors so they have nice grunt and RPM. For $50 it the best motor I have ever run. It easily competes with my $170 Fantom D4 for 1/3rd the cost.
So far I have had zero problems with any of the (4) V2 motors I have purchased.
I'm a happy camper!
Can you take one of the motor apart and measure the stack?
CL is offline  
Old 10-16-2015, 07:35 AM
  #602  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
I believe so. They are very different in design and performance. I have been running the 13.5t and 17.5t motors and they are just a fast as any racer at a very competitive track that I frequent.
I have never been able to get the v1 motors even close in performance. (poor RPM output)
I believe the V2 motors are of a short stack design with hi torque rotors so they have nice grunt and RPM. For $50 it the best motor I have ever run. It easily competes with my $170 Fantom D4 for 1/3rd the cost.
So far I have had zero problems with any of the (4) V2 motors I have purchased.
I'm a happy camper!
Worth knowing, thanks
tc3team is offline  
Old 10-19-2015, 11:45 PM
  #603  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gilroy, Ca.
Posts: 1,993
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CL View Post
Can you take one of the motor apart and measure the stack?
I just need to remind myself to do this.
YoDog is offline  
Old 10-21-2015, 01:37 AM
  #604  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
nckmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,430
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sipaboy View Post
Anyone have any info if they still make 5th scale motors? Im gonna put it in a FG sportsline 4wd
They will be back in about 3 months.
nckmat is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 08:02 AM
  #605  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
CamLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Did anyone get one of the new V2 motors and notice the end bell and motor body screws to be really soft, and/or broken right out of the box? I noticed 1 of 3 end bell screws had it's hex head popped off from the factory, but luckily I was able to remove the shaft of the screw. I also noticed the 3 long screws seemed to be made from a really soft alloy.

I'm assuming these will need to be replaced if you take your motor apart a few times for cleaning etc.

I haven't had a chance to test my V2 21.5 motor out yet, but if it's anything like the V1 motors I've seen on the track, it should be a performer.
CamLS is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 09:48 AM
  #606  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
golgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NE
Posts: 480
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Please post your comparison of the v2 21.5 vs the older motor. Will it be a good motor for f1?
golgi is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 02:19 PM
  #607  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gilroy, Ca.
Posts: 1,993
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CamLS View Post
Did anyone get one of the new V2 motors and notice the end bell and motor body screws to be really soft, and/or broken right out of the box? I noticed 1 of 3 end bell screws had it's hex head popped off from the factory, but luckily I was able to remove the shaft of the screw. I also noticed the 3 long screws seemed to be made from a really soft alloy.

I'm assuming these will need to be replaced if you take your motor apart a few times for cleaning etc.

I haven't had a chance to test my V2 21.5 motor out yet, but if it's anything like the V1 motors I've seen on the track, it should be a performer.
The screws feel like they have thread locker on them but so far I haven't had any mishaps. fingers crossed...
YoDog is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 09:46 PM
  #608  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
CamLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
The screws feel like they have thread locker on them but so far I haven't had any mishaps. fingers crossed...
All 6 of them had thread lock on them, which seems a little overkill. I won't get the car on the track until Sunday, and will be comparing it to my Novak Ballistic that I've been using for a year now.
CamLS is offline  
Old 10-26-2015, 05:44 PM
  #609  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 275
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Just did some maintenance on my 13.5 V2 motor after its first weekend race, one of the sensor flat heads popped off. Startled me pretty good, as I was finished working on the motor.
Ropes is offline  
Old 10-26-2015, 08:33 PM
  #610  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (315)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,914
Trader Rating: 315 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CamLS View Post
Did anyone get one of the new V2 motors and notice the end bell and motor body screws to be really soft, and/or broken right out of the box? I noticed 1 of 3 end bell screws had it's hex head popped off from the factory, but luckily I was able to remove the shaft of the screw. I also noticed the 3 long screws seemed to be made from a really soft alloy.

I'm assuming these will need to be replaced if you take your motor apart a few times for cleaning etc.

I haven't had a chance to test my V2 21.5 motor out yet, but if it's anything like the V1 motors I've seen on the track, it should be a performer.

YES I had that took a picture of the broken screw and the motor was warrantied. Still need to work out what screws would be a direct replacement but the endbell it screws into is plastic and I can see those flogging out in time.
nexxus is offline  
Old 10-27-2015, 07:20 AM
  #611  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
nckmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,430
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Had the same thing happen to me, it is covered under warranty but the manufacturers are sending out replacement screws to everyone who bought them, eventually. In the meantime I am going to test the titanium 2.5mm screws at HobbyKing, they won't snap. As a temporary patch I am using a M2.5x5mm cap, it does the job fine.
nckmat is offline  
Old 10-27-2015, 10:46 AM
  #612  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
CamLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nckmat View Post
Had the same thing happen to me, it is covered under warranty but the manufacturers are sending out replacement screws to everyone who bought them, eventually. In the meantime I am going to test the titanium 2.5mm screws at HobbyKing, they won't snap. As a temporary patch I am using a M2.5x5mm cap, it does the job fine.
So is hobbyking automatically sending out new screws to everyone who purchased a V2 motor, or do you have to make a warranty claim to get them?
CamLS is offline  
Old 10-27-2015, 11:05 AM
  #613  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Gravity Dodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Glad I read this thread before tearing down my motor from this weekend, fingers crossed srews come out in one piece
Gravity Dodger is offline  
Old 10-27-2015, 03:44 PM
  #614  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 1,500
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by golgi View Post
Please post your comparison of the v2 21.5 vs the older motor. Will it be a good motor for f1?
Just a note: F1 is moving to 25.5. Cars actually turn in better runs over 6 minutes with the slower motor.
old_dude is offline  
Old 10-27-2015, 04:38 PM
  #615  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Just a note: F1 is moving to 25.5.
I'm guessing Omaha will stick with 21.5.
howardcano is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.