R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Radio and Electronics (https://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-electronics-137/)
-   -   Motor? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-electronics/635872-motor.html)

nerdyrcdriver 06-08-2012 05:16 PM

Motor?

Hey everyone, so I have my hpi blitz with a mamba max pro esc and 1410 motor. My track doesnt let you race with 3s, and I am looking to race a bit more, but I can only do a little double jump on the indoor offroad track. The outdoor that opens possibly next week is much bigger, and I am afraid my truck just wont get over anything on 2s. It is so annoying because 2s doesnt seem that great, then throw in a 3s and it flys! Tried all different types of gearing even 27/77 and it just wasnt competing with other trucks running 2s.

What motor should I get? I would like tenshock, tacon, leopard or similar. Tenshock seems to be the top dog from what I have seen having 4 pole motors with good torque and speed. But I have no idea what kv to get.

Could someone help me out please?

cs3087 06-08-2012 05:47 PM

You could get the 1415 motor from castle if you like brand matching (me LOL) but the tenshock seems the best value is your blitz 2WD or 4X4 I know nothing about SC and for a heavy vehicle like an SC you definitely want a 4 pole check out Jang's reviews at Ultimate rc.com under other stuff-reviews hope this helps PS how is the Mamba max ESC? Thinking of buying one with a 1406 7700 for my 2WD buggy does it run hot?
Edit somewhere around 3500-5000 have you looked at the Traxxas VXL motor with 3500kv that thing seems to cart around the slash pretty good up to 60-70 if I'm correct personally I prefer High KV but lower kv has more torque if I'm right?

nerdyrcdriver 06-08-2012 08:58 PM

Originally Posted by cs3087 (Post 10837460)