Spektrum

Old 02-16-2005, 04:41 PM
  #16  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by brians11
have you seen pics of bk's car from this past weekend? what about toso, hodge, anyone for that matter... you see it in their car, nope... i ran it too, i loved it, but not quite quick enough for carpet...

Did you?!?!

Did you attend the 'Birds...did you speak to the Horizon reps?

Did you get an MS in electrionic theory and design the whole system?!?!


No...you didn't, and neither did I. My main point is that we really should cut down on the sewing circle crap around here, lest it be called www.rctechrumorsandinnuendo.com
Soviet is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 04:49 PM
  #17  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,866
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

yes, i did see these cars, held todd's car in my hands..... so that means, yes, i WAS there at the birds... and i'd say Todd was a good rep to talk to...
brians11 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 04:58 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,154
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Yea we were there. And we checked out all the cars. And we ran the system the first day of practice. Until you get the system for yourself or see whats going on at a big race don't go jumping on people.
DavidAlford is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 05:36 PM
  #19  
Tech Master
 
Jeff Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,913
Default

I was also at the Birds. A friend of mine had the Spektrum in his car. He took it out and he was 2 tenths a lap faster.

The Horizon Rep at the race was stating, "use at your own risk". It is being blamed on the flouresent lighting. I was also at the World's where it worked flawlessly. So, perhaps there is a lot of truth in it not working indoors.

US Indoor Champs everyone removed the systems as well.
Jeff Brown is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 05:50 PM
  #20  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 487
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well, if its not working indoors then I probably need to cancel my order an wait to see what they do. Maybe that is why they have not released the KO yet.
Joneser is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 05:59 PM
  #21  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Im glad I waited. Im sure the 5.8GHz model is just on the horizon. The theory is the same for portable phones hence the main selling reason on most of the 5.8GHz phones. No interference from wireless netoworks, improved signal speed and strength.
Tony Vega is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 06:29 PM
  #22  
Tech Adept
 
DIV 3 RACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 112
Default

Does anyone know if the Spektrum will work on a Futaba 3PJS?
DIV 3 RACER is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 06:30 PM
  #23  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: farmington, mi
Posts: 695
Default

ummm my phone is 5.8ghz tho... does that matter anything?

*edit nvm i kinda skipped over your last part of the post.
Attached Thumbnails Spektrum-5.8ghz.jpg  
greencactus3 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 06:53 PM
  #24  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

First of all Im not saying that people aren't having problems with them indoors (I don't run indoors) but I haven't had a single problem with it out doors...... and as far as the spektrums "responce time" otherwise known as a units (latency)..........a regular M8 (which is considered fast) has a rating of 12 milliseconds and the spektrum has 5.6 milliseconds (the spektrum is over twice as fast.......to me it's made racing 100times more enjoyable........being able to turn on your radio and make adjustments in the pits(without fear of messing anyone up).....never waiting at the drivers stand for a frequency pin that's probably been lost for 3 weeks (always my luck) and "most importantly" no one can leave their radio on from a couple races before my main at a big event and make me crazy

Last edited by Joe B; 02-16-2005 at 07:05 PM.
Joe B is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 06:54 PM
  #25  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

They'll be out for the futaba 3PJS soon
Joe B is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 07:00 PM
  #26  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Not to mention your transmitter batterys last "almost" twice as long
Joe B is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 07:11 PM
  #27  
Tech Elite
 
Speedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,433
Default

I sent an email to Spektrum asking them if they have identified a problem and what they are doing to fix it.

Hopefully I will get a reply. I've only ran my Spektrum once, but if there is a problem, I will be incredibly annoyed at having paid $150 for a system that had supposidly had this problem fixed.

Basically all carpet tracks have fluorescent lighting, so if it turns out that it is the cause of the problem, it really isn't a good excuse.

Josh
Speedo is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 07:15 PM
  #28  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 29
Default soviet

I too had the spektrum, i too experienced the slow reaction time....I TOO WAS AT THE BIRDS....I too looked at all the losi cars....I too noticed that they werent running the spektrum....so step off
betsman77 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 08:41 PM
  #29  
Tech Adept
 
DIV 3 RACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 112
Default

Originally posted by Joe B
They'll be out for the futaba 3PJS soon
Aren't the modules for the 3pjs the same as the 3pk? I thought that the modules for the 3pb, 3pj and 3pk were interchangeable. Can someone explain?
DIV 3 RACER is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:17 PM
  #30  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,184
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Ld_Tony
Im glad I waited. Im sure the 5.8GHz model is just on the horizon. The theory is the same for portable phones hence the main selling reason on most of the 5.8GHz phones. No interference from wireless netoworks, improved signal speed and strength.
The Cleveland race and this race were bothheld in hotel ballrooms were theynot??

could this problem be coming from interference due to wireless network installations that these hotels have done??

has anybody tried their spektrum at their local carpet tracks to see how it performs??
ChrisP is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.