Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Any advantages of high capasity cells for casual stock TC? >

Any advantages of high capasity cells for casual stock TC?

Any advantages of high capasity cells for casual stock TC?

Old 11-02-2011, 01:25 AM
Tech Elite

Default Any advantages of high capasity cells for casual stock TC?

I'm in the market for some LiPo's for a 1/10 touring car, and I'll be using a Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution charger.

I'm re-starting in RC TC, and at this point I'm dusting of my chassis, and my driving skills definately need a lot of practise, as I'm a bit "rusty" by now. Also, I'm not into serious racing (maybe later), I'm more of a casual club racer.

I'm new to LiPo's, but have used NiCd and NiMH 3-5 years ago.

So... what kind of capasities do I need/want?

My initially thinking is that the discharge curve of LiPo's are quite flat, so I dont need high capasity cells to stay in the high voltage part of the discharge curve, like in the NiMh days. Also, lower capacity cells like 3300, is cheaper, lighter and faster to charge. So wouldnt it be better - at this re-starting point - to save some money on lower capacity cells, and put the money into an extra pack or two, instead of running hard on a single pack or two?

But are there more into it? Like lower IR in higher capacity packs? The C-rating dont seems to indicate such a thing, at least not in budget-friendly packs? Other things?

The packs I'm looking at, are some "Orion Rocket Sport 3300 LiPo"
Old 11-02-2011, 07:06 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

You are correct that for racing the 3000 to 4000mah pack are more than sufficient. Look for packs with a burst discharge rating of 40C or higher.

The mega capacity packs are best for bashers who want to run their cars for 20 to 30 minutes on a charge. We racers only care about getting our 5 minutes worth.