Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Endurance Shourt Course? Motor help please. >

Endurance Shourt Course? Motor help please.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Endurance Shourt Course? Motor help please.

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2011, 05:56 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Endurance Shourt Course? Motor help please.

Hello all,

I am new to the brushless RC's cars (had some cars with the mabushi 540S and 540SD and some nitro cars.)
But now with the brushless engines and the other new electronics (esc, 2,4ghz etc) i picked up this hobby again.

Nothing fancy, not racing. Just bashing and running on mixed terains.

I bought myself a cheap short course truck with a 540 sized 3300kv brushless system (i couldn't find any other specs of the engine.)
I want to buy an exact same (2nd hand/ broken roller for spare parts) and will do some upgrades on the truck.

The truck is a 1/10, 4x4, brushless from Amewi wich is the exactly the same as some models from Himoto, Redcat racing, Amax and HSP

Now my question. The runtime on a 2000Mah 6 cells NiMH feels low (about 5 minutes. Ok, i do like to punch the trigger), and i wouldn't mind to increase this.
I have ordered a 3000mah and a 4600Mah battery. My goal would be of running this truck at cool temperatures for an hour or more. If this would cost me some topend speed, I wouldn't mind to cut it by 25%. The same goes for power.

So i need to upgrade (actually downgrade) the engine.
All the engines i see outthere are like crazy stuff, even giving 1/8 scale trucks wheely power. I dont need this. I just want a descent speed on it, nothing fancy.
All the stuff about kv/turns/winds/poles/sensored etc just brings a waze over my eyes. I am beginning to become clueless here.

What do i need to do to get this runtime, while still maintaining enough power/speed to have some fun with it?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Darksand; 08-03-2011 at 06:52 AM.
Old 08-03-2011, 10:04 AM
Tech Regular