Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree174Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 09-06-2022, 04:14 PM
  #13696  
Tech Regular
 
fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 276
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
Have you checked the obvious stuff like ESC calibration or a binding drivetrain?
Reset and calibration was done. Drivetrain is free.

Originally Posted by Nahoj View Post
I had the same issue after updating the firmware. Think it is a bug. I adjusted the driving frequency one step lower (from 8k to 4k I think) and then the dragbrake was to normal again.
Thanks I will try.
I will try also with another motor.

UPDATE I found the issue, trim for the gaz was off.

Last edited by fifi; 10-09-2022 at 04:17 PM.
fifi is offline  
Old 10-04-2022, 08:48 PM
  #13697  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Where did the smoke come from?

Welp, I did the reverse polarity thing…. XR10 Pro Stock Spec 2S with the smaller Non-Polarity Capacitor Module. Briefly made contact, heard a pop, saw the dreaded magic smoke, wires got hot…. Feared the worst, but all still seems to be working. I haven’t been able to test the cap module, but is there any chance that saved the ESC?
Cromulent is offline  
Old 10-05-2022, 12:25 AM
  #13698  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Venice Beach
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

No… hobbywing will sell you a replacement at a savings.
LAGuy is offline  
Old 10-05-2022, 02:49 AM
  #13699  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,875
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
Welp, I did the reverse polarity thing…. XR10 Pro Stock Spec 2S with the smaller Non-Polarity Capacitor Module. Briefly made contact, heard a pop, saw the dreaded magic smoke, wires got hot…. Feared the worst, but all still seems to be working. I haven’t been able to test the cap module, but is there any chance that saved the ESC?
If anything that non polar cap made it more likely the ESC fried. My guess is it blew a FET and looks like it works but won't run at optimal performance.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 10-10-2022, 09:23 PM
  #13700  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
D1Rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Strange issue with my Xr8 SCT pro & g3 1900kv motor in my hb e819rs. Never had issues with it over heating until yesterday at the track randomly between packs. No hard landings, no corroded junk wiring. I can't figure it out. Ambient temps are low too. Green light flashes. Card reader reads the esc at 210+ after about 1 minute of run time.
D1Rk is offline  
Old 10-18-2022, 07:47 AM
  #13701  
Tech Rookie
 
Tophe7d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 9
Default

Not sure if this is in the right place, but just in case you haven’t already checked, HW recently released an update for their BT module. I, like most, had no connectivity with my older Android phone (Galaxy S8… Stop laughing! =D)
After the update, it now connects with no problem.
Hope this helps.
Tophe7d is offline  
Old 10-19-2022, 07:01 PM
  #13702  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mooreland, IN
Posts: 416
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by D1Rk View Post
Strange issue with my Xr8 SCT pro & g3 1900kv motor in my hb e819rs. Never had issues with it over heating until yesterday at the track randomly between packs. No hard landings, no corroded junk wiring. I can't figure it out. Ambient temps are low too. Green light flashes. Card reader reads the esc at 210+ after about 1 minute of run time.
Did you check that the ESC fan was running? I had the same issue in an 819rs. The servo arm came back and hit the fan and caused it to fail. That caused the esc to overheat. I replaced the fan and mounted the ESC further back to make sure it didn't get hit by the servo arm.
0010 is offline  
Old 11-05-2022, 04:12 PM
  #13703  
Tech Apprentice
 
fmimages's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Default Motor clicking sounds

I just got the 60a ESC and I soldered the motor wires up but maybe I got something wrong as I am trying to calibrate it but on the first step I get a motor clicking sound. Wire B should be fine maybe the other two are reversed. I get a click sound in the drivetrain so I stop. Questions?
fmimages is offline  
Old 11-05-2022, 04:13 PM
  #13704  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,650
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fmimages View Post
I just got the 60a ESC and I soldered the motor wires up but maybe I got something wrong as I am trying to calibrate it but on the first step I get a motor clicking sound. Wire B should be fine maybe the other two are reversed. I get a click sound in the drivetrain so I stop. Questions?
Post detailed pictures of your install. All wiring.
Joel Lagace is offline  
Old 11-05-2022, 05:07 PM
  #13705  
Tech Apprentice
 
fmimages's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Default


fmimages is offline  
Old 11-05-2022, 05:38 PM
  #13706  
Tech Apprentice
 
fmimages's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Default


fmimages is offline  
Old 11-05-2022, 06:17 PM
  #13707  
PDR
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

To me it looks like you have the A & C motor wires swapped. That won't work with a sensored ESC.

From memory, all of my HW ESC's have the motor phases in the order of A, B, C from left to right when looking at them straight on. They need to go to corresponding tabs on the motor, which are normally the same order.
PDR is offline  
Old 11-05-2022, 07:27 PM
  #13708  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,650
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Also it appears the sensor wire is not plugged into the esc?
Joel Lagace is offline  
Old 11-07-2022, 10:43 AM
  #13709  
Tech Apprentice
 
fmimages's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks.... I'll look into it.
fmimages is offline  
Old 11-07-2022, 01:28 PM
  #13710  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,875
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fmimages View Post
Thanks.... I'll look into it.
The ESC will have the phases labelled.
gigaplex is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.