Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 06-12-2022, 04:55 PM
  #13666  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default motor chatter?

Ive got a xr10 justock paired with a trinity xfactor 21.5t race motor, at low throttle the motor seems to chatter alot up about 1/4-1/3 throttle, is this normal? its my first brushless setup so ive got nothing to compare to
Pilotx1 is offline  
Old 06-12-2022, 09:48 PM
  #13667  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,110
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pilotx1
Ive got a xr10 justock paired with a trinity xfactor 21.5t race motor, at low throttle the motor seems to chatter alot up about 1/4-1/3 throttle, is this normal? its my first brushless setup so ive got nothing to compare to
Mine only chattered at low speed if I had a bad sensor wire.
glennhl is offline  
Old 06-13-2022, 05:54 AM
  #13668  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

motor and esc are brand new as of friday, 15 minutes on them over 3 heats, I ran it those 3 without the sensor wire installed, rushing to get the car together on race day and completely forgot about it.
had time yesterday to go through the buggy and tidy everything up and installed the sensor wire and was going through recalibrating the esc thats when I noticed that it chatters from just a hair off neutral and up to around 1/4 you can hear it not running smoothly, this is all with the wheels off the ground

are the sensor cables particularly easy to damage?

ill pick up a new sensor wire later today after work

Last edited by Pilotx1; 06-13-2022 at 03:17 PM.
Pilotx1 is offline  
Old 06-13-2022, 07:22 AM
  #13669  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,317
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Does it just sound rough or does the vehicle stutter? Sounding rough at low RPM is normal for pretty much every brushless motor I've used.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 06-13-2022, 03:19 PM
  #13670  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

sounds rough. and from looking at the pinion to spur you can see that the motor shaft is vibrating more than rotating, as for drivability I couldnt tell watching the car but could hear it
Pilotx1 is offline  
Old 06-15-2022, 07:37 AM
  #13671  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 1
Default

Great thread. I could use some advice please. I am working to troubleshoot no throttle response on a Max10 SCT. It stuttered then stopped dead yesterday after running fine for multiple packs over a few weeks.

The motor works fine with other esc's. The transmitter/reciever works with other escs/motors so I believe I have narrowed it down to the ESC. Especially after this next bit:

Using a 3s pack the esc powers on and blinks the 3 green lights repeatedly, indicating the 3cell batt (?). With this batt I get no throttle and cannot enter into calibration or reset. (This is the batt it was running when it died).

Trying a 2cell the esc will power on sometimes. The motor will respond to throttle however stutters and cogs badly as the battery wires quickly get pretty hot. I stop and unplug at this point. No lights from the esc during this.

Any advice? Should I just stop trying to troubleshoot this? I am concerned I am just damaging batteries at this point. Thanks ahead of time.
MyrtleH is offline  
Old 06-17-2022, 05:39 PM
  #13672  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
Questions?? XR8 Plus G2S

Hi guys, maybe silly question, but if Iím going to use my XR8 Plus G2S on 1:8 buggy with 4S batteries. Do I need to install the external capacitors module included in the bundle?

And a second one: Is this external capacitors module reverse polarity protected like the capacitors inside the ESC?

COBRARACING


Thanks in advance.
Best,
BeLiPoWa is offline  
Old 06-21-2022, 12:30 AM
  #13673  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,317
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

ROAR have just announced that the existing firmwares for the XR10 Stock Spec and XR10 Pro G2 are now illegal since they erroneously leave the ESC blinking when the softening feature is enabled.

The approved software for the Hobbywing XR10 Stock Spec is XR-4.2.05 and XR-4.4.12 is the approved software for the Hobbywing XR10 Pro G2. Previous software versions for these ESC’s have been removed from the approval list and are no longer legal for competition in ROAR sanctioned events.
I've just tried to update mine, and those versions don't seem to be showing up in either the Android app or the PC app. Has anyone else had any luck upgrading?

gigaplex is offline  
Old 06-21-2022, 09:08 AM
  #13674  
Tech Champion
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 5,501
Default

Hey all, i'm trying to help a buddy out with a new justock g3 he's putting into a AE B6.3D. The positive power wire pulses (physically moves too) when attempting to pull some throttle. I've looked over soldier connections, swapped out sensor wires, motor has run fine on motolyser. We've reset the esc and gone over radio settings 4 different times now. What might be causing such?
Mason is offline  
Old 06-21-2022, 10:35 AM
  #13675  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,110
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
ROAR have just announced that the existing firmwares for the XR10 Stock Spec and XR10 Pro G2 are now illegal since they erroneously leave the ESC blinking when the softening feature is enabled.



I've just tried to update mine, and those versions don't seem to be showing up in either the Android app or the PC app. Has anyone else had any luck upgrading?

https://www.facebook.com/ROARRacing/...03216876413305
You are correct, ROAR lists the 4.2.05 as the approved firmware for the Stock Spec. I downloaded the latest program box version of 5.0.2 and when I go to the upgrade page the latest firmware is 4.2.01. Well, that sucks.
glennhl is offline  
Old 06-21-2022, 07:01 PM
  #13676  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 133
Default

Originally Posted by glennhl
You are correct, ROAR lists the 4.2.05 as the approved firmware for the Stock Spec. I downloaded the latest program box version of 5.0.2 and when I go to the upgrade page the latest firmware is 4.2.01. Well, that sucks.
What an amazing story. Kudos to the efforts to get things straight and to level the playing field.
But Wow.
F1jet_ is offline  
Old 06-21-2022, 07:16 PM
  #13677  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,110
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

OK, a very smart and good friend figured it out. ROAR posted how to get the latest 4.2.05.

From ROAR
Hobbywing updated their database last night. If you launch USBLink and select HELP, then select Database Update, the new firmware will show up.

Worked fro me, good luck. After you install 4.2.05 firmware and set softening and boost/turbo all to zero, then it will go into a special blinky mode where it blinks for 3 seconds, then pauses 1 second, then repeats.

EDIT: By the way, the special firmware with the new blinking mode is only for the 2S ESC's. The 1S still uses 4.2.01 firmware with a normal blinking mode.

Last edited by glennhl; 06-21-2022 at 07:56 PM.
glennhl is offline  
Old 06-21-2022, 08:22 PM
  #13678  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,317
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by glennhl
OK, a very smart and good friend figured it out. ROAR posted how to get the latest 4.2.05.

From ROAR
Hobbywing updated their database last night. If you launch USBLink and select HELP, then select Database Update, the new firmware will show up.

Worked fro me, good luck. After you install 4.2.05 firmware and set softening and boost/turbo all to zero, then it will go into a special blinky mode where it blinks for 3 seconds, then pauses 1 second, then repeats.

EDIT: By the way, the special firmware with the new blinking mode is only for the 2S ESC's. The 1S still uses 4.2.01 firmware with a normal blinking mode.
At the time I tried this in my original post, that didn't work. The database has since been updated, it should finally be live now.
glennhl likes this.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:52 AM
  #13679  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,076
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone have issues with there hobbywing xr8 pro G2 esc at all mine won't let me get in to the setting it ask for please update or disconnect
Then when you do upgrade it won't get pass 73 percent sits there till it get forzen up crash the app when you turn everything back on you only got steering but no thorttlle at all keep flashing U with red light
MadMick is offline  
Old 06-24-2022, 08:11 PM
  #13680  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (66)
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 3,693
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

How do I get the already firmware to update my stock spec ESCís. Iím using iPhone and the Wi-Fi express. Latest version I have is 4.1.02. I canít find the .05 firmware.

I saw post about the usb link for a lap top, but how does that help since the there is no way to connect the Wi-Fi express to a laptop?

theproffesor is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.