Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 03-19-2021, 11:07 AM
  #13411  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 81
Default

Just got the G2 XR8 ESC and I need to update my programmer to V5.0 for it to work with the esc.

The problem is I only have a Mac computer. Anyone had any luck with any apps to run the .exe file on a Mac?

Thanks in advance.
Jurassic579 is offline  
Old 03-20-2021, 08:16 PM
  #13412  
Tech Apprentice
 
Family_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 83
Default

so my son plugged the battery in backwards today... The XR10 Justock ran properly for about 30 seconds after everything cooled off but now it's completely dead. Is there a parts list for repairing this? the esc is only $60 so not really worth paying shipping to/from HW and I would like to just repair this myself. I'm an electronics tech so the work itself is simple enough, just need to know what parts are likely fried for a starting point. Thanks
Family_Racing is offline  
Old 03-20-2021, 09:10 PM
  #13413  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 659
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Family_Racing
so my son plugged the battery in backwards today... The XR10 Justock ran properly for about 30 seconds after everything cooled off but now it's completely dead. Is there a parts list for repairing this? the esc is only $60 so not really worth paying shipping to/from HW and I would like to just repair this myself. I'm an electronics tech so the work itself is simple enough, just need to know what parts are likely fried for a starting point. Thanks
Did the exact same thing to one of my HW ESCs (a more expensive one). Supposedly, it's not repairable, as these ESCs are "sealed". HW, thankfully (primarily due to only having purchased it a week earlier), replaced it. You say it's "not really worth paying shipping". I'm not sure how you come up with that, as it's only a few dollars to ship it to them (they paid the return shipping)...which is a LOT cheaper than buying a new ESC. However, since then, I have quit using HW products...primarily due to the rudeness of HW 'support'.
hunterdawg likes this.
Panther6834 is offline  
Old 03-20-2021, 09:13 PM
  #13414  
Tech Apprentice
 
Family_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 83
Default

I was going to replace the HW with the new spektrum smart 130A esc when they release it in April. I bought another justock to get him by until then and will sell that one later. I think I'll keep the broken one after it's repaired as a backup of I can get it working again. A FET or something similar are cheap to replace.
Family_Racing is offline  
Old 03-20-2021, 11:37 PM
  #13415  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,389
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Panther6834
Did the exact same thing to one of my HW ESCs (a more expensive one). Supposedly, it's not repairable, as these ESCs are "sealed". HW, thankfully (primarily due to only having purchased it a week earlier), replaced it. You say it's "not really worth paying shipping". I'm not sure how you come up with that, as it's only a few dollars to ship it to them (they paid the return shipping)...which is a LOT cheaper than buying a new ESC. However, since then, I have quit using HW products...primarily due to the rudeness of HW 'support'.
I can't speak for the original poster, but my local postal service will charge about 1/3 of the price of the Justock to send it anywhere.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 03-21-2021, 09:36 AM
  #13416  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 81
Default

Is 4.0.0.6 the latest firmware for the programer?

( The one that should work with the New XR8 Pro?)
Jurassic579 is offline  
Old 03-26-2021, 02:35 AM
  #13417  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,441
Default

Quick question:

Is it possible for the (wired) Multifunction Program Box to display peak temperatures after a run, or do I need to connect to a PC every time I want to see that data?
sosidge is offline  
Old 03-26-2021, 08:25 PM
  #13418  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,389
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sosidge
Quick question:

Is it possible for the (wired) Multifunction Program Box to display peak temperatures after a run, or do I need to connect to a PC every time I want to see that data?
Yes that works. I forget which button you have to press to view them, check the manual.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 03-28-2021, 09:55 AM
  #13419  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 81
Default

On a XR8. What are your bec settings? For a eco 1/8 buggy.

6.0 or 7.4 and why?

Thanks in advance.
Jurassic579 is offline  
Old 03-28-2021, 03:11 PM
  #13420  
Tech Apprentice
 
cbh148's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 68
Default

Originally Posted by Jurassic579
On a XR8. What are your bec settings? For a eco 1/8 buggy.

6.0 or 7.4 and why?

Thanks in advance.
7.4 for my EB48 2.0 because I have a high voltage capable servo, and it's a bit faster and stronger on 7.4V compared to 6.0V. If the servo was not capable of running high voltage, I've heard that running them on high voltage anyway will work fine for awhile but will eventually burn it up, but I can't speak from experience doing that as I've never tried it myself and will no longer bother purchasing servos that aren't HV anyway.
cbh148 is offline  
Old 03-28-2021, 06:59 PM
  #13421  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 354
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

xr10 pro g2 plugged backwards. esc is reverse polarity protection..so the capacitor is dead...so should i go with the same one or go with the bigger one. thx for your help
https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbywi...030030/p279139

https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbywi...40005/p1008929
mccoy is offline  
Old 03-28-2021, 07:49 PM
  #13422  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,389
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mccoy
xr10 pro g2 plugged backwards. esc is reverse polarity protection..so the capacitor is dead...so should i go with the same one or go with the bigger one. thx for your help
https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbywi...030030/p279139

https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbywi...40005/p1008929
If you think you might plug it in backwards again, get one of the non-polarity ones.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 03-29-2021, 01:57 AM
  #13423  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 81
Default

Thanks. I also have 7.4V on mine.
Jurassic579 is offline  
Old 03-29-2021, 08:59 AM
  #13424  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Family_Racing
the esc is only $60 so not really worth paying shipping to/from HW
Originally Posted by gigaplex
I can't speak for the original poster, but my local postal service will charge about 1/3 of the price of the Justock to send it anywhere.
A 6oz package is ~$3.50 to ship USPS first class anywhere in the US.
Cromulent is offline  
Old 03-29-2021, 11:06 AM
  #13425  
Tech Apprentice
 
Family_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 83
Default

Originally Posted by Cromulent
A 6oz package is ~$3.50 to ship USPS first class anywhere in the US.
they are saying $32 to have it repaired by them. So with shipping would likely be near $40. I just pulled it off his car yesterday before racing and will be able to disassemble tomorrow at work and check the electronics. I may get lucky and only have to replace the cap and a FET which are usually sub $5. I'll post what I figure out and see what the Google says about parts availability. If anything I have a repaired esc in my box or I'll send it out and have a reman'd esc in my box as a backup.
Cromulent likes this.
Family_Racing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.