Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree90Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Reply

Old 08-21-2019, 07:47 AM
  #13006  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
frewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 519
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by D1360 View Post
Hi,

I have the LCD program box, and Im wondering how I use its voltmeter on my 2s lipos?
What cables do I need?
None. You use the balance lead from the lipo.
frewster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 06:06 PM
  #13007  
Tech Apprentice
 
bluef250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, Il
Posts: 57
Default

any one know if they still repair escs, I plugged n=mine in backwards, oops
bluef250 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 02:05 PM
  #13008  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 146
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

looking at getting the xr10 stock spec 80a for 2wd buggy we normally run 10.5 or 13.5 outdoor offroad in 2wd buggy is this ESC suitable for what im trying to do with it
Jfowler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 03:32 PM
  #13009  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 56
Default Xr8pro esc setup

is there anywhere that I could go and look at setups on the esc ? This is our first h w combo that we have purchased. Its a xr8 plus. With a 2900 Kv motot
Denez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 03:48 PM
  #13010  
Tech Initiate
 
kodakhodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 33
Default


Hey All,

whos running this setup setup in their 1/8th MBX8 Eco buggy and what settings have you got on your ESC

MOTOR HW 1900kV
ESC HW EZERUN XR8 plus 150A
BATTERY MACLAN LIVH 6000mah

Any help be appreciated for a rookie

kodakhodak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 04:32 PM
  #13011  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 56
Default

[QUOTE=Denez;15500415]
is there anywhere that I could go and look at setups on the esc ? This is our first h w combo that we have purchased. Its a xr8 plus. With a 1900 kb
Denez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 06:57 AM
  #13012  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,780
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
Care to elaborate? It's a capacitor, what prevents it from working with other ESCs? Being non-polar shouldn't affect its operation as a normal capacitor.
We had a fellow racer try it and it made the speed control behave differently, less power he said.
Slotmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 05:09 PM
  #13013  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 2,705
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine View Post
We had a fellow racer try it and it made the speed control behave differently, less power he said.
In that case I'll stick with conventional capacitors on the new ESC.
gigaplex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 04:36 AM
  #13014  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Default

I tried updating the firmware on my XERun AXE, and it turns out that midway through the process an error occurred. It wouldn't let me try updating again after. Now the ESC will turn on, but doesn't turn off and can't be calibrated with the radio or respond to throttle/brake. It also won't connect to either my LCD program card or through the USB Link software. I will probably be sending it in for repairs
I mailed Hobbywing, but no reply.
Do they have a telephone call ? or maybe an email address that they do respond to.
Please help me with contact details.
JohanCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 12:08 AM
  #13015  
Tech Adept
 
D1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: sthlm
Posts: 149
Default

Originally Posted by frewster View Post
None. You use the balance lead from the lipo.
I dont have balance leads on my 2s.
But I could use the charging cable and stick the balance lead in the program card to check the voltage?
D1360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 08:39 AM
  #13016  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 130
Default Hobbywing Hell

Originally Posted by D1360 View Post
I dont have balance leads on my 2s.
But I could use the charging cable and stick the balance lead in the program card to check the voltage?
ive gone through 3 justocks in 10 months. And 1 faulty xr8. I recently purchased a nice used eb410. Despite my dislike for HW, it had a xr10 installed and I bought it anyways. My last 2 hw esc's glitched out in 3 or 4 months. I run maybe 10 packs of practice a week then a Friday club race. So these electronics are not being over used. They developed a glitch that feels like accelerating on a dead battery for a millisecond then takes off. I call it the "WA-WAAA" glitch. ( it happens so often I have a name for the glitch) so after a couple packs, this one started glitching out as well. It will accelerate like on a dead battery then take off at full power. A recalibration or a default in the programmer will take it away but it eventually comes back. 1 min or 10 or 15 seconds. It comes back. I know how to solder and operate and bla bla bla. Not trying to be a dic# but Ive never experienced a more inferior product in my life. I cant believe its something Im doing because I dont abuse my stuff. I use the justocks for 17.5 buggy. In my eyes, HW is a budget based product. So I understand that the quality and performance is not going to be equal to that of a higher price product but c'mon. 3 justocks and a faulty xr8 in less than a year.
You guys got any ideas on what the hell is going on?.
Funkydrummer1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 09:06 AM
  #13017  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Funkydrummer1 View Post
ive gone through 3 justocks in 10 months. And 1 faulty xr8. I recently purchased a nice used eb410. Despite my dislike for HW, it had a xr10 installed and I bought it anyways. My last 2 hw esc's glitched out in 3 or 4 months. I run maybe 10 packs of practice a week then a Friday club race. So these electronics are not being over used. They developed a glitch that feels like accelerating on a dead battery for a millisecond then takes off. I call it the "WA-WAAA" glitch. ( it happens so often I have a name for the glitch) so after a couple packs, this one started glitching out as well. It will accelerate like on a dead battery then take off at full power. A recalibration or a default in the programmer will take it away but it eventually comes back. 1 min or 10 or 15 seconds. It comes back. I know how to solder and operate and bla bla bla. Not trying to be a dic# but Ive never experienced a more inferior product in my life. I cant believe its something Im doing because I dont abuse my stuff. I use the justocks for 17.5 buggy. In my eyes, HW is a budget based product. So I understand that the quality and performance is not going to be equal to that of a higher price product but c'mon. 3 justocks and a faulty xr8 in less than a year.
You guys got any ideas on what the hell is going on?.
try disabling "Hybrid" mode and go "Full Sensored", I ran into a momentary delay from a dead stop with Hybrid mode, real pain at the start in the mains, no issue with any more delays in "Full Sensored" mode
billdelong is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 07:53 PM
  #13018  
Tech Master
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 1,555
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know the difference between the G2 esc and the Elite?
todb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 05:31 AM
  #13019  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,780
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by todb View Post
Anyone know the difference between the G2 esc and the Elite?
It looks like the Elite has 13g wires and a special accent stripe to designate it from what I can tell.
(It also has a few extra program features like brakes up to 150)

Last edited by Slotmachine; 09-10-2019 at 04:17 AM. Reason: Update
Slotmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 11:51 PM
  #13020  
Tech Adept
 
Knockoffracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 205
Default

Need some advice, or tech help with the XR10 PRO 160a esc running a 10.5 G3 motor.

It will not work with the sensor cable installed. I need to push the car to get it to go, or yank the throttle back and forth until the car generates enough movement. I have replaced the sensor cable at least three times, replaced the Hall sensor, and replaced the capacitor pack after noticing damage to it. After all of this I still experience the same issue. Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for any info. I've already been in contact with HW, they have been no help at all.
Knockoffracer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service