Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 04-24-2019, 06:32 AM
  #12901  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
utieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: paris
Posts: 964
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I bought a while ago a XR10 Justock and it seemed it didn't have any brakes. Bought recently the program box and it didn't change anything.
Is it a common problem? Can it be fixed? The ESC is out of warranty.
Thanks for your help.

utieh is offline  
Old 04-24-2019, 06:41 AM
  #12902  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 6,191
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by utieh
I bought a while ago a XR10 Justock and it seemed it didn't have any brakes. Bought recently the program box and it didn't change anything.
Is it a common problem? Can it be fixed? The ESC is out of warranty.
Thanks for your help.
Generally when the brakes go out, it's the first indication that the ESC is about to fail.

The Justock ESC's are notorious for having a weak brake, I have heard some folks having success with increasing the brake strength by upgrading the caps:
https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbywi...QaAhIdEALw_wcB

After the club in my area switched to a turf track, I found that the brake strength for the Justock was insufficient for my liking and have since upgraded to the ProStock which offers a significantly stronger brake.

It might be worth contacting HobbyWing and asking them for a trade-up offer, they generally provide deep discounts with RMA's outside warranty:
https://www.hobbywingdirect.com/pages/rma
billdelong is offline  
Old 04-24-2019, 06:46 AM
  #12903  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
utieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: paris
Posts: 964
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Bill, I'll contact HW today!
Cheers!


Originally Posted by billdelong
Generally when the brakes go out, it's the first indication that the ESC is about to fail.

The Justock ESC's are notorious for having a weak brake, I have heard some folks having success with increasing the brake strength by upgrading the caps:
https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbywi...QaAhIdEALw_wcB

After the club in my area switched to a turf track, I found that the brake strength for the Justock was insufficient for my liking and have since upgraded to the ProStock which offers a significantly stronger brake.

It might be worth contacting HobbyWing and asking them for a trade-up offer, they generally provide deep discounts with RMA's outside warranty:
https://www.hobbywingdirect.com/pages/rma
billdelong likes this.
utieh is offline  
Old 04-30-2019, 08:43 AM
  #12904  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
DPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Where the fast guys are
Posts: 3,775
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

I am going to program my xr8 plus with the black box and was just wondering what would be a good starting point and after I get it all programed does it save it by its self are do I need to do something else thanks in advance im just new to the electric so I wasn't sure.
DPowers is offline  
Old 04-30-2019, 04:21 PM
  #12905  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ongbenghui
Hi folks, wondering if I can find the answer here. Is the 2:1 Program card supported on QuicRun 1080 WP ? Been trying and it is stuck at Connecting ESC.
Is your radio on or off? Should be off. Sometimes if you unplug the speedo from the receiver it will help. If your receiver is not putting out a steady neutral setting it wont hook up. That's the reason for unplugging.
Paul .....driver for Hobbywing
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 05-02-2019, 02:26 AM
  #12906  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 38
Default XR8 blinky

does the XR8 have blinky mode?
Todd Allen is offline  
Old 05-02-2019, 07:25 PM
  #12907  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (102)
 
1/8 IC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 6,509
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Allen
does the XR8 have blinky mode?
The XR8 Plus does not. What are you trying to run this in, that you need blinky mode.
1/8 IC Fan is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 10:02 AM
  #12908  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
ceh329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 700
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Hello, anyone have issues connecting the 3-1 LCD programming box to a XR8 Plus? When I do it the programming box only says “Connecting ESC”. The box worked fine on my other Juststock esc’s.
ceh329 is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 08:00 PM
  #12909  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (102)
 
1/8 IC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 6,509
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ceh329
Hello, anyone have issues connecting the 3-1 LCD programming box to a XR8 Plus? When I do it the programming box only says “Connecting ESC”. The box worked fine on my other Juststock esc’s.
Have you tried pushing item while it states connecting ESC? not sure, I had an issue similar on my XR8 SCT Pro, and seemed to take a while, but I pushed Item, and it went into the Program Menu. Not sure if this is the case with yours.
1/8 IC Fan is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 08:03 PM
  #12910  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (102)
 
1/8 IC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 6,509
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1/8 IC Fan
Awesome.they have great support.

Anyone have any info on the WSline turbofan they are outfitting on their XR8 esc's





Solved, its a Trackstar item. https://hobbyking.com/en_us/tracksta...E&gclsrc=aw.ds


1/8 IC Fan is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:34 AM
  #12911  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by utieh
I bought a while ago a XR10 Justock and it seemed it didn't have any brakes. Bought recently the program box and it didn't change anything.
Is it a common problem? Can it be fixed? The ESC is out of warranty.
Thanks for your help.
did you get this problem rectified, or did you end up getting a new ESC?
MaX-D is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 08:04 AM
  #12912  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 639
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by utieh
I bought a while ago a XR10 Justock and it seemed it didn't have any brakes. Bought recently the program box and it didn't change anything.
Is it a common problem? Can it be fixed? The ESC is out of warranty.
Thanks for your help.
Have you tried recalibrating the ESC. A few months ago, i ram into that exact same problem with my Traxxas Rustler 4x4 VXL. I don't know if this was the actual cause, but, it seemed as if immediately after replacing the stock Traxxas servo with a Spektrum unit. After going through the complete calibration, breaking was working again. Thankfully, I haven't run into this problem with any of my HW ESCs...but, if it can happen with one brand, it can probably happen with any brand.
Panther6834 is offline  
Old 05-07-2019, 05:15 AM
  #12913  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ceh329
Hello, anyone have issues connecting the 3-1 LCD programming box to a XR8 Plus? When I do it the programming box only says “Connecting ESC”. The box worked fine on my other Juststock esc’s.
try unplugging the speed control from the receiver and then hook it up. Sometimes if the speedo doesnt see neutral as a steady signal it wont hook up. Unplugging can help this.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 05-07-2019, 09:12 AM
  #12914  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Big Will's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The XR8 SCT ESC says it has a con. 140A. Is that the limit on battery as well? Or is it ok to run a con. 150A batt.?
Big Will is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 11:10 AM
  #12915  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Hang_TiMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Is there any way to access the bearing in the end bell of the bandit motors? Mine's destroyed.

Edit: Welp. Seems like I can't replace the bearing. Can't get bearing out of the hole and there doesn't seem to be any end bell replacements.

Last edited by Hang_TiMe; 05-10-2019 at 12:51 PM.
Hang_TiMe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.