Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree85Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Reply

Old 03-16-2019, 07:21 AM
  #12826  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Panther6834's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 274
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
Not quite, 2F and 2G are the softening values that change the timing. I don't think 1A is related to blinky but it's a common rule that you're not meant to have reverse in a race.
1A is obvious. As for 2F & 2G, understandable. However, regarding everything '4' & '5', I guess a better way of putting it would have been this:

1) Will changing ANY of these remove the "blinky" mode?
2) Are there any '4' or '5' items that CAN be changed without removing "blinky", and, if so, which '4' and/or '5' items can be changed?
Panther6834 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 05:18 AM
  #12827  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
1A is obvious. As for 2F & 2G, understandable. However, regarding everything '4' & '5', I guess a better way of putting it would have been this:

1) Will changing ANY of these remove the "blinky" mode?
2) Are there any '4' or '5' items that CAN be changed without removing "blinky", and, if so, which '4' and/or '5' items can be changed?
You might be able to change for example the start and end boost RPM range without disabling blinky but those settings won't do anything unless the boost timing values are not zero. Effectively, there's nothing in 4 and 5 that you can change and get any effect while staying in blinky.

Also I just checked. 1A doesn't affect blinky.
gigaplex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 05:14 PM
  #12828  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Default Hobbywing XR10 Justock low voltage protection problem

Have been giving the Sakura some shake down drives the past few days, getting all my settings and options to my liking. I'm still relatively new. The low voltage protection is set to be activated at 3.4 volts, but it seems to be coming on at 3.7. If the battery is over 3.7, the car runs fine, but at 3.7 it goes into low voltage protection mode and slows the car to 30 percent power and eventually stops.

Is this normal? Maybe I am missing something here, have been going over the instruction sheet a bunch of times.

Edit: so upon further reading, it looks like the protection will kick in if the voltage under load is at or below 3.4 volts, does this sound correct? The battery is currently at 7.26 volts and 3.63 volts per cell.

Last edited by Poppn9; 03-17-2019 at 05:35 PM.
Poppn9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 05:53 PM
  #12829  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (250)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,842
Trader Rating: 250 (100%+)
Default

At 3.7 it's probably giving you a warning by slowing down and then at 3.4 volts shuts down. My guess. I never run my batteries that low to find out.
Andy Koback is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:44 AM
  #12830  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

HobbyWing Justock User Manual


billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 06:36 AM
  #12831  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Default

Saw that in the manual, my only problem is when I check the voltage of the battery after the above mentioned happens, it reads 3.7 volts. So I'm assuming I'm getting a voltage drop while the car is in use below the 3.4 threshold? Does this sound right?
Poppn9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 06:46 AM
  #12832  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,577
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

Huge difference in voltage under load vs voltage at rest, in a 10 min main for 4WD SCT, not uncommon for folks to hit LVC, if I'm in the lead then I make it a point to back off the throttle so not to put as much load on my pack to keep the voltage up, there have been times where I intentionally back off to half throttle on the last couple of laps just to make sure my pack can finish the race, if someone starts to pull on me then I'll light it back up to maintain position.
gigaplex likes this.
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:22 AM
  #12833  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by billdelong View Post
Huge difference in voltage under load vs voltage at rest, in a 10 min main for 4WD SCT, not uncommon for folks to hit LVC, if I'm in the lead then I make it a point to back off the throttle so not to put as much load on my pack to keep the voltage up, there have been times where I intentionally back off to half throttle on the last couple of laps just to make sure my pack can finish the race, if someone starts to pull on me then I'll light it back up to maintain position.
Perfect answer, thank you for the reply! I had a feeling that was the case but I'm fairly new to all this, lots and lots of reading these past few weeks.

Hoping to head to the track for the first time for some real practice, thankfully it wont be a race day so hopefully it wont be too busy
billdelong likes this.
Poppn9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 12:13 PM
  #12834  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
uDi_MP7.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
you can request software
Is there any chance you could provide lower value options for temperature cutoff, not just 105 or 125*C?
I'm using the Xerun XR8 Plus and Xerun 4268 SD G2 combo.

By the time the motor hits 105*C bearing/motor life is already being shortened in my experience.
The values of 105 and 125 are just not useful for protecting the motor, I'd love to see a much bigger user customizable range - perhaps from 70-75*C upwards would be much more useful.
uDi_MP7.5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 01:53 AM
  #12835  
SH
Tech Addict
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NSW AUS
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Is the wifi still slow to load the setting from esc? Seen videos from around a year ago and it seems to take a good while to load the parameters.
SH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 03:45 PM
  #12836  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Default Pinion gear

Hi all...first post...

Looking for the right pinion gear for my setup. Im using the XR8 with the 2250kv motor, RC8T3.1e with stock spur (I think its a 46T), and 2 sets of tires and wheels. 4S battery. One set has 4.05" outer diameter and other has 4.26" OD. 75% of the time in the street on pavement. Want more top end but I dont wanna go too big and burn out motor and wires. Any info would be appreciated.
shatty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 07:01 PM
  #12837  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Panther6834's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 274
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by shatty View Post
Hi all...first post...

Looking for the right pinion gear for my setup. Im using the XR8 with the 2250kv motor, RC8T3.1e with stock spur (I think its a 46T), and 2 sets of tires and wheels. 4S battery. One set has 4.05" outer diameter and other has 4.26" OD. 75% of the time in the street on pavement. Want more top end but I dont wanna go too big and burn out motor and wires. Any info would be appreciated.
There's an RC8T3.1e thread - RC8T3e - you should ask in there.
Panther6834 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 10:42 AM
  #12838  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 331
Default ESC Current Ratings

I have a question about esc current ratrings. Currently I run stock 2wd buggy, stock 13.5 stadium truck, and USVTA. I have been running Hobbywing XERUN XR10 Justock esc, rated at 60A continuous current. I don't want this to turn into a "which brand is better" thread.

My question is this: Is there an advantage to running an esc with a higher amp rating? Would I notice a difference in speed, responsiveness, or?? by using one rated at 120A?
My motors are a couple years old and due for replacement. So now would be a good time for newer esc too if it makes sense to do so.

Thanks in advance for your replies,
Bruce

BruceR. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 01:49 PM
  #12839  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
There's an RC8T3.1e thread -- you should ask in there.
Not really because I was told to ask the manufacturer of the motor and ESC about this info. As per Associated's site
shatty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 01:55 PM
  #12840  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Panther6834's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 274
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by shatty View Post
Not really because I was told to ask the manufacturer of the motor and ESC about this info. As per Associated's site
Understandable...but, what I was getting at is, there are probably people in that thread who've previously had the same (or similar) problem you've run into, and a "solution" might have already been posted. Plus, if nothing's posted, but there's someone in there who's had the same problem, if you inquire in there, they could reply with said solution.
Panther6834 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service