Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree69Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Reply

Old 12-31-2018, 03:39 PM
  #12706  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,759
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoshuaRC10 View Post
I have a year old v3.1 120A ESC that has been running fine, until yesterday. It was perfectly fine through about 30 combined minutes of practice, and then after my last practice session it stopped powering off properly and started powering on as soon as I connected the battery. It did not go thermal at any point during practice, that much I'm sure of.

As an outline, here's what the ESC is doing:
As soon as I connect the battery, the ESC powers up normally.
If I press the power button, the light on the switch shuts off but the RX still has power and steering is still active, but no throttle control. If I press the power switch again, the ESC turns back on and functions normally.

Any ideas what might be going on with this?
If you have access to a computer try a factory reset.
JoshuaRC10 likes this.
Slotmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 03:40 PM
  #12707  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

my buddy has a wifi module, i'll give a reset a shot.

thanks!
JoshuaRC10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:00 AM
  #12708  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 27
Default

Can I buy an XR10 PRO (2S) with no wires pre-soldered on?

Last edited by dmourati; 01-01-2019 at 12:29 AM.
dmourati is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 01:44 PM
  #12709  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,759
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dmourati View Post
Can I buy an XR10 PRO (2S) with no wires pre-soldered on?
No I dont think you can. They are put on at the manfacturing stage. When you try to take them off cut the wires close to the speedo and they will come off easier.
dmourati likes this.
Slotmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 02:43 PM
  #12710  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine View Post
If you have access to a computer try a factory reset.
Unfortunately a factory reset did not fix the problem.

I'm thinking there's a physical problem with the ESC?
JoshuaRC10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 09:33 PM
  #12711  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, Ab
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I just installed an xerun 120a v3.1 and the lcd program box wont connect to the esc unless i turn on my radio, then it will connect to the esc. Same issue connecting to the pc.
how can i fix this so i donít need to turn on the TX to program the esc.
TX is a spektrum dx4 pro.

thanks
chongo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 06:18 AM
  #12712  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,759
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoshuaRC10 View Post
Unfortunately a factory reset did not fix the problem.

I'm thinking there's a physical problem with the ESC?
start the RMA process here>https://www.hobbywingdirect.com/pages/rma
Slotmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:47 AM
  #12713  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (247)
 
rraden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 5,051
Trader Rating: 247 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone had a problem with the cooling fan on the X10 2s stock coming apart? I've had problems with both of my esc fans. One has the fan blades constantly popping up slightly stopping the fan from working. I have to push it back into place to get it to work. The second esc had the fan blade assembly jettison out of the fan never to be found. This is happening during normal indoor dirt racing, no bashing!

Are there any 20mm fan guards out there?
rraden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 10:09 PM
  #12714  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 39
Default Remove xerun 4268 bearing

Hi, I got a Xerun 4268 Sd G2. The bearing is getting really bad now. Is there any proper way to remove the bearing? Especially at the sensor end bell.

I did read somewhere (I forget where) someone tried to remove the large bearing in the bell but somehow destroyed the bearing and the outer race stucked inside. So is there any preparation (eg: pre-heat) I should do before push the bearing out?
Skaar_rc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 01:50 PM
  #12715  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (90)
 
Ostach24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,690
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Hello, I just purchased 3 Hobbywing XR10 Pros. I installed 1 in my stadium truck and the other two are still in the box. When I power on the esc the rear tires click forward. I ran the truck this past weekend and it seemed to run fine, I am just curious about this little click forward when I turn the esc on.
Can someone tell me whether this is normal or not. The only thing I can compare it to would be when you put a dirt bike into 1st gear from neutral.
Ostach24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 02:54 PM
  #12716  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,180
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ostach24 View Post
Hello, I just purchased 3 Hobbywing XR10 Pros. I installed 1 in my stadium truck and the other two are still in the box. When I power on the esc the rear tires click forward. I ran the truck this past weekend and it seemed to run fine, I am just curious about this little click forward when I turn the esc on.
Can someone tell me whether this is normal or not. The only thing I can compare it to would be when you put a dirt bike into 1st gear from neutral.
Just to confirm, the transmitter is already turned on first, correct?

It sounds like your receiver needs to have the "fail safe" mode calibrated. I would check the manual for your radio on how to set the fail safe operation. I bet you're getting a dirty signal on the radio going into the ESC causing it to blip. With the car held safely in the air, when you turn the transmitter off (leaving the car on), does it cause the throttle to run away?
billdelong is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 04:50 PM
  #12717  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (90)
 
Ostach24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,690
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by billdelong View Post
Just to confirm, the transmitter is already turned on first, correct?

It sounds like your receiver needs to have the "fail safe" mode calibrated. I would check the manual for your radio on how to set the fail safe operation. I bet you're getting a dirty signal on the radio going into the ESC causing it to blip. With the car held safely in the air, when you turn the transmitter off (leaving the car on), does it cause the throttle to run away?

haha yes transmitter is already on then I turn the esc on. I am running a M12S rs and 481 receiver.
I have 3 rs pros and 2 rx8 setups same transmitter same receiver and no weird blip/click.
I had a few Novakís in the past that would turn the servos left or right and then center so I was wondering if this was just a weird quark with these escs.

Iíll check anyways though.
Ostach24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 05:21 PM
  #12718  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (90)
 
Ostach24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,690
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Just checked... turned the esc on with transmitter off and it did the same thing. Little click forward and that was it. Turned the transmitter on then the esc and same.
Ostach24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 05:54 PM
  #12719  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,180
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

how about turning on ESC with the Rx unplugged?
gigaplex likes this.
billdelong is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 06:02 PM
  #12720  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by Ostach24 View Post
Just checked... turned the esc on with transmitter off and it did the same thing. Little click forward and that was it. Turned the transmitter on then the esc and same.
This happens to both my xr8 sct and quicrun 150amp... The beeps indicating how many cell it runs on... In my case it is a 4s lipo, so it beeps 4x and the wheel wiggle forward a little on every beep... However, for xr8 sct, the wheels wiggle depends on my gearing... usually the wheel wiggle at the first beep only.
Skaar_rc is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service