Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 02-11-2018, 04:37 AM
  #12241  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,384
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Peakki
Might be wrong thread...
Running 6.5 blinky 1S pan car with XR10 1s or 2s.
Now new problem, it is that when using softening (example 10% and 5-30degrees) it doesn't anymore state by blinking in neutral that ESC is in blinky mode.
Only way to have it on blinky, is to forget softening settings and put those to 0.

Is it really true that low end punch is not possible to tune with softening so that ESC is still in blinky?

2s has XR-4.2.0.6 and 1s XR-4.2.0.1-BRCA or XR-4.2.0.2 firmware.
Correct. Softening violates blinky rules as it changes timing. If you allowed it, people would use it to fake adding boost by turning up endbell timing lots and then using softening to compensate for the lower throttle range.

You can adjust punch with other settings on the ESC though.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 02-11-2018, 07:36 AM
  #12242  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Peakki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Correct. Softening violates blinky rules as it changes timing. If you allowed it, people would use it to fake adding boost by turning up endbell timing lots and then using softening to compensate for the lower throttle range.

You can adjust punch with other settings on the ESC though.
this is really bummer

do you mean by throttle rate, pwm or even customized throttle curve?
used 4k or 8k pwm I have usually used

another thing, for some reason xr10 is powerhungry in 6.5 blinky pan car compared to others
Peakki is offline  
Old 02-11-2018, 10:31 PM
  #12243  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,384
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Peakki
this is really bummer

do you mean by throttle rate, pwm or even customized throttle curve?
used 4k or 8k pwm I have usually used

another thing, for some reason xr10 is powerhungry in 6.5 blinky pan car compared to others
I'm not sure what they call the setting in the XR10, I've got the older model where it's just called punch. It might be throttle rate.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 02-12-2018, 07:12 AM
  #12244  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

how do you post a question? or thread
2fergdog is offline  
Old 02-12-2018, 07:15 AM
  #12245  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

looks like I answered my own question

Last edited by 2fergdog; 02-12-2018 at 07:33 AM.
2fergdog is offline  
Old 02-12-2018, 07:19 AM
  #12246  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

I see drivers at full speed into the corners and stop on dime and turn,how do you setup your esc to do that ? do you use lots of drag brake ?
2fergdog is offline  
Old 02-13-2018, 09:06 AM
  #12247  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2fergdog
I see drivers at full speed into the corners and stop on dime and turn,how do you setup your esc to do that ? do you use lots of drag brake ?
IMO it's more about "how" you use the brakes, not the overall strength. Drag brake doesn't really affect this. Which ESC are you using?

Typically I set my overall brake strength in the ESC a bit higher than I would like it (just say 100% for example). I then dial down the ESC brake rate to a rate based on the track conditions (high grip = high brake rate. low grip = low brake rate). This can give you the feeling of built-in expo and helps calm the initial brake hit entering a corner.

Once you have that setup, I adjust on the fly using travel in my transmitter. I never end up at 100% in my transmitter. For example, I may run a few practice laps and realize the grip went away substantially from the previous round. I would then knock out 10% brake travel to calm the car down.

And FYI, I never put expo into the transmitter on the brake side. That seems to cause too many things to "argue" with each other. ESC settings key off the transmitter inputs, so if both are trying to "fight" each other it's difficult to get a consistent feel.

Hope this helps!
flamingtire is offline  
Old 02-15-2018, 03:42 AM
  #12248  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by charvel74
My Hobbywing 3.1 stock spec is not working right. On Wednesday night racing I was running 9.5 Reedy toward the end of the run the motor got very hot and stopped running. Tried installing a new Orion 6.5 and the motor will not turn over unless you manually spin the wheels first. Tried this with 2 other motors that were working in other cars. Same results. Could the Reedy 9.5 running hot have damaged the ESC so it functions this way?
I tried connecting the ESC to the USB link software to do a factory reset and still the same issue... Any ideas anyone?
Sounds like a bad sensor wire, try a known to be working wire.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 02-16-2018, 02:26 AM
  #12249  
Tech Master
iTrader: (85)
 
dgdcustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sioux city, IA
Posts: 1,838
Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)
Default

Thinking about switching ESCs. Will be leaving the Rs pro and RSX for the XR10 pros. Would I be happy with them? I've always ran Tekin but hear lots of good things about the Hobbywings.
dgdcustoms is offline  
Old 02-17-2018, 05:51 PM
  #12250  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (76)
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,422
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Wanna give a shot out to my man Paul rush aka slot machine: this guy knows his setups for hobby wing. Helped me get the Win today
tony montana is offline  
Old 02-19-2018, 04:54 AM
  #12251  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony montana
Wanna give a shout out to my man Paul rush aka slot machine: this guy knows his setups for hobby wing. Helped me get the Win today
Im glad I could help out with your settings.......
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 02-19-2018, 04:57 AM
  #12252  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dgdcustoms
Thinking about switching ESCs. Will be leaving the Rs pro and RSX for the XR10 pros. Would I be happy with them? I've always ran Tekin but hear lots of good things about the Hobbywings.
I dont think you will be disappointed. I can understand if you are reluctant, it can be scary switching brands. Just remember someone will be here to help......
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 02-19-2018, 09:12 AM
  #12253  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Giorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hello there
I’ve a strange experience with ESC XeRun XR10 Justock 60A
Basically what happens is following:
Fresh of setup everything works fine, then the more you drive it the more it takes to the esc to react.
Let me explain: You go on the gas, nothing happens and after some time the power comes.
Say that you can start and 1st minute is fine. Second minute you get some throttle delay... by the 3rd minute car is standing out the turn waiting… and then power comes.
Replaced sensor cable and re-setup… nothing better
Replaced motor and re-setup… nothing better
So far, thinking to have a unit defective, I install one fresh of the packaging.
Same issue. To finish my race I’ve to borrow an LRP flow from a team mate.
Setup is done properly, radio is a Sanwa ZZ, throttle is NOR
Any idea?
Giorgio is offline  
Old 02-19-2018, 01:54 PM
  #12254  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,891
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Is there actually anyone from Hobbywing that replies in here????
My Question is why do the New sct- 1/8 th xr8 line esc's have a slight delay with non hobbywing motors? when you instantly full pull throttle the wheels take a sec to spool, where as all your older 1/8 esc have Zero delay..
jabroni racing is offline  
Old 02-19-2018, 03:51 PM
  #12255  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Giorgio
Hello there
I’ve a strange experience with ESC XeRun XR10 Justock 60A
Basically what happens is following:
Fresh of setup everything works fine, then the more you drive it the more it takes to the esc to react.
Let me explain: You go on the gas, nothing happens and after some time the power comes.
Say that you can start and 1st minute is fine. Second minute you get some throttle delay... by the 3rd minute car is standing out the turn waiting… and then power comes.
Replaced sensor cable and re-setup… nothing better
Replaced motor and re-setup… nothing better
So far, thinking to have a unit defective, I install one fresh of the packaging.
Same issue. To finish my race I’ve to borrow an LRP flow from a team mate.
Setup is done properly, radio is a Sanwa ZZ, throttle is NOR
Any idea?
Try setting up a new model in your radio and rebind the receiver then the speedo to the radio. I know it sounds dumb, but I have seen this fix issues before.......
Slotmachine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.