R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2017, 07:51 PM   #12136
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Reidsville N.C.
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Sounds to me as if you have a bad esc. Otherwise DOA. You can fill out an RMA at Hobbywingdirect.com. There you will be prompted with a series of questions and be given an RMA number. They should take care of you as Hobbywing has very good customer service. Hope you get the issue resolved.
__________________
Mugen Seiki Racing | Triton Engines | RC Pit Products | Fantom Racing | Vision Racing Products | M2C Racing | Nitro Pro Fuel | Futaba
Jwilliams5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 07:57 PM   #12137
Tech Master
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 1,568
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Have you double checked that you don't have ABS brakes enabled on your radio?
gigaplex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:21 AM   #12138
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NoVa
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

yes ABS is NOT enabled
tekin112000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 04:21 PM   #12139
Tech Champion
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,697
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Slotmachine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekin112000 View Post
It should but it does not. I have had many other HW products all have worked


Neutral one beep, full throttle two beeps, full brake nothing
Did you reverse the throttle on the radio and try it?

I have seen at times if you make a new model in the radio and start over with binding to the receiver then reverse throttle, set end points all the way up and finally re calibrate and it works......
Slotmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 05:06 PM   #12140
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NoVa
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Deleted the model from the radio and created new model profile.

Re-bind TX to RX

Able to calibrate

Must have been corrupted model profile in radio memory

Thanks to all who gave advice
tekin112000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 09:41 AM   #12141
Tech Elite
 
1/8 IC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North America & Europe
Posts: 2,625
Trader Rating: 49 (98%+)
Default

So who has used the XR8 SCT ESC in E-buggy (not lite)? Looking to swap the XR8 Pro for an SCT to lose weight. Still want to run a 2000KV motor and 4S 6500 mAh 100C battery. I do not forsee any issues, yet have not run the SCT before, so just wanted to be sure. As an FYI Servo voltage will be 6.0V.
__________________
->The Free Shipping I offer is for CONUS only, if you want to buy something I am selling from out of Country, then you will have to pay regular shipping!
1/8 IC Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 02:07 PM   #12142
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1/8 IC Fan View Post
So who has used the XR8 SCT ESC in E-buggy (not lite)? Looking to swap the XR8 Pro for an SCT to lose weight. Still want to run a 2000KV motor and 4S 6500 mAh 100C battery. I do not forsee any issues, yet have not run the SCT before, so just wanted to be sure. As an FYI Servo voltage will be 6.0V.
I've been using the XR8 SCT Pro in my Tekno EB48 for about a year now with 2000kV motor on 4S and very happy with this setup
1/8 IC Fan likes this.
billdelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 06:55 PM   #12143
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
Default

I have a new XR8 SCT Pro. Can I use the LCD Prog Box to see Motor and ESC temps after a run?
dannym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 11:13 AM   #12144
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Reidsville N.C.
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can. I never have but it will show you temps
__________________
Mugen Seiki Racing | Triton Engines | RC Pit Products | Fantom Racing | Vision Racing Products | M2C Racing | Nitro Pro Fuel | Futaba
Jwilliams5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 12:20 PM   #12145
a1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

can anyone link me to how the 2 stage punch works on the 3.1 120amp esc? Obviously its two stages but could use a little more help on when they kick in.
a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 03:33 PM   #12146
Tech Addict
 
DirkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 691
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1 View Post
can anyone link me to how the 2 stage punch works on the 3.1 120amp esc? Obviously its two stages but could use a little more help on when they kick in.
Manual, item 2A: you set the switching point between 1st and 2nd stage punch with a range of 1-99% (in 1% steps) of throttle position.
__________________
Dirk
My On-Road cars: ((Xray T4'18)) | Xray T4'17 | Yokomo BD7'16 | Yokomo BD7'15 | Yokomo YRX-12 | ((Xray X1'18)) | Xray X10'16 | Yokomo SD SSG | ((VIP-Performance Vorlon/VTE))
My Off-Road cars: Yokomo YZ-2 DTM | Yokomo YZ-2 DT | Yokomo B-Max4 III Factory>>>((?Yokomo YZ-4SF?)) | Kyosho Ultima SC6 | Tekno SCT410.3 | ((Xray XT2'18))
DirkW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:07 AM   #12147
a1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkW View Post
Manual, item 2A: you set the switching point between 1st and 2nd stage punch with a range of 1-99% (in 1% steps) of throttle position.
Yes I read that about 100 times,lol. I would like a little more explanation since I run a super loose track with a small turn motor. So punch is critical to get right.
a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:17 AM   #12148
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

It's something you'll have to test at the track, both the switch point and the punch for each. If your track is really loose you'll probably want a switch point that's higher (50% or more) and a generally low punch setting for each point. Keep in mind that once the vehicle is already rolling current draw is less than it would be from a standstill.
a1 likes this.
nitrousdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:29 AM   #12149
Tech Addict
 
DirkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 691
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well, first of all: do you really need two different punch levels? Setting punch level for track condition and personal preference is one thing, setting two different ones for different throttle positions could actually do more harm than good.

But if you want to try and use 2 different levels, usually, low throttle is used for tight corners, etc. so with a super loose track, I'd set it pretty low, no more than 10 or so for stage 1. Stage 2, for when you need that small blip of power for a jump in offroad, or for a longer straight, I'd try something around 20, plus or minus. You can try 5/15 for a start, if your conditions are really that bad... or 10/20... really depends on conditions. As for the switching point... that's mostly personal preference... not too far from 50 in either direction, I'd say. Around 30-70, I guess. Try from there, and see if you're happy, otherwise raise or lower what you don't like. After all, it's you driving, so you'll have to figure out what you like - can't be done by anyone else.
a1 likes this.
__________________
Dirk
My On-Road cars: ((Xray T4'18)) | Xray T4'17 | Yokomo BD7'16 | Yokomo BD7'15 | Yokomo YRX-12 | ((Xray X1'18)) | Xray X10'16 | Yokomo SD SSG | ((VIP-Performance Vorlon/VTE))
My Off-Road cars: Yokomo YZ-2 DTM | Yokomo YZ-2 DT | Yokomo B-Max4 III Factory>>>((?Yokomo YZ-4SF?)) | Kyosho Ultima SC6 | Tekno SCT410.3 | ((Xray XT2'18))
DirkW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:17 PM   #12150
Tech Elite
 
Mxer59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 2,677
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

What’s a good esc for stock 17.5 buggy and 13.5 4x4 buggy
Mxer59 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT INFO COBRARACING Australian Racing 526 09-20-2017 03:19 AM


Tags
hobbywing, low voltage, lvc, v3.1, xerun 120a


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net