Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 10-29-2017, 12:28 PM
  #12076  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 259
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I run a sct Pro in my 1/8 buggy with no issues. Will it work in a 1/8 truggy?
H8W8IN is offline  
Old 10-29-2017, 12:44 PM
  #12077  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: OKC
Posts: 68
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Stock spec. speed controls can add timing, the juststock has no timing features.If Im not mistaken.
Yeah thatís just weird to me, why it would be a called a stock esc and have boost and timing features
windycityblues is offline  
Old 10-29-2017, 01:07 PM
  #12078  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Reidsville N.C.
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Because it’s meant to handle stock motors. Aka 17.5, 13.5...

Justock is the only no timing esc. Stock spec has all the same timing features as the pro and v3.1 minus HV bec.
Jwilliams5 is offline  
Old 10-29-2017, 01:09 PM
  #12079  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Reidsville N.C.
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

If you gear it correctly and keep a check on things I donít see why it wouldnít work. Would you be safer using the plus, absolutely. But I really donít think youíd need it unless you were careless. Use the temp cuts on the esc and motor. Keep a check on temps yourself and adjust gearing accordingly. You should be good to go.


Originally Posted by H8W8IN
I run a sct Pro in my 1/8 buggy with no issues. Will it work in a 1/8 truggy?
Jwilliams5 is offline  
Old 10-29-2017, 03:07 PM
  #12080  
Tech Master
iTrader: (48)
 
rgrg2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 1,019
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default Customer service

Thank you to Angelo Jlo Anasta! He helped me out with an issue that turned out to be a non HW product. He responded to my messages quickly, and knew exactly how to help me.

Thanks again, very appreciated!!
rgrg2 is offline  
Old 10-29-2017, 05:22 PM
  #12081  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: OKC
Posts: 68
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jwilliams5
Because itís meant to handle stock motors. Aka 17.5, 13.5...

Justock is the only no timing esc. Stock spec has all the same timing features as the pro and v3.1 minus HV bec.
I get it. Itís just weird. I guess cause you canít run boost or timing, other than endbell, in stock or spec classes around here. If they could ditch the timing software and come in at a lower price point hw would make a killing. Something along the lines of a justock but better quality and data logging etc
windycityblues is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 06:13 PM
  #12082  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

My xr8 sct seems to have quit on me today. When I turn it on all I get is a solid green light and the fan running. I have steering but no throttle. Any ideas what’s wrong? This esc is paired with the HW g2 4300 kv motor. It’s been raced 2 days with no previous issues. Thanks.
cm03 is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 06:22 PM
  #12083  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Reidsville N.C.
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Did you recently clean the car or remove all the electronics? May seem dumb but a lot of us over look the receiver plug, being plugged in backwards.
Jwilliams5 is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 06:25 PM
  #12084  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

No, I checked all connections.
cm03 is offline  
Old 11-03-2017, 08:31 AM
  #12085  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cm03
My xr8 sct seems to have quit on me today. When I turn it on all I get is a solid green light and the fan running. I have steering but no throttle. Any ideas whatís wrong? This esc is paired with the HW g2 4300 kv motor. Itís been raced 2 days with no previous issues. Thanks.
Try to run a quick radio calibration and see if that resolves anything.
flamingtire is offline  
Old 11-05-2017, 05:56 PM
  #12086  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by flamingtire
Try to run a quick radio calibration and see if that resolves anything.
I tried, it will not go into calibration.
cm03 is offline  
Old 11-08-2017, 02:36 PM
  #12087  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Hi Angelo,

A few months ago i bought 2 hobbywing v3.1 esc's.

one for my touring car with a 5.5t motor and one for my 2WD buggy with 6.5t motor.

The touring car esc works great, i have set the max braking on the esc @ 75% and then had to turn the braking to 85% on the transmiter to be able to brake without locking the wheels up of my touring car on very high grip ETS carpet.

The esc on my 2WD on the other hand seems to have a problem with braking power.
I have turned the braking power to 100% on both the transmitter and esc. The led on the ESC shows me when full braking is aplied so i am sure that the calibration is OK. I also redid calibration a few times to be sure.
I also tried different brands of motors(including hobbywing V10 motor) and different winds but i keep lacking braking power.
Brake rate is also @ 20 first stage and 20 second stage, also tried exact settings in my 2WD as i have in my touring car but without succes.

Do have some other suggestions maybe?

Thanks in advance
sitting duck is offline  
Old 11-08-2017, 04:00 PM
  #12088  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default I'm having a problem with my just stock and KO radio

When calibrating the throttle it does absolutely nothing the red light comes on and beeps you hit it again and it's just one straight beep with no light
catfat is offline  
Old 11-08-2017, 05:44 PM
  #12089  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Reidsville N.C.
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Try reversing the throttle. If that still doesn’t work turn the endpoints all the way up wether it be 125 or 150. Been a while since I used a Ko Propo radio can’t really remember how high the end points go. Again after you turn the end points all the way up you may need to reverse the throttle again. This should allow you to calibrate it properly. Let us know how it goes.
Jwilliams5 is offline  
Old 11-10-2017, 02:26 PM
  #12090  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
kja812's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saskatoon SK
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Questions??

Just installed a Xerun V3.1 Stock Spec ESC - pairing with a Hitec HSB-94XX servo.

Anyone know if the Hitec PAD (Power Absorption Device) is required - can the ESC's BEC accept a backflow of current? Can't find a definitive answer anywhere.
kja812 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.