Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree193Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 12-03-2011, 01:52 PM
  #106  
Tech Adept
 
Peff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 115
Default 1/10th offroad

Hi guys,

Had some great results with 1/8th 150amp 4s combo. Looking to go 1/10th 2wd dex210 next season. Looking for some advise on motor esc combos from hobbywing.

All advise welcome.

Cheers
Peff is offline  
Old 12-03-2011, 02:14 PM
  #107  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
j_blaze14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,692
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

i want to thank hobby wing for great products. i have been running nitro for years and this year switched to electric. easy to program, easy to drive and long run times with cool temps. i am running a 25amp esc with 17.5 ezrun in a b4.1. this was a lot easier a switch than i had expected.
j_blaze14 is offline  
Old 12-03-2011, 09:07 PM
  #108  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Need some advice. Want to run my xerun60a in my SC10 2wd on carpet. It's going to power a 17.5 that I am needing more power than the cirtix has to offer. What do you guys recommend for gearing/firmware???
DuckStang is offline  
Old 12-03-2011, 10:46 PM
  #109  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
gogi108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 608
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DuckStang
Need some advice. Want to run my xerun60a in my SC10 2wd on carpet. It's going to power a 17.5 that I am needing more power than the cirtix has to offer. What do you guys recommend for gearing/firmware???
not sure about gearing , but i have just updated to sp 303stock and its unbelievable the difference over the stock firmware that was on my 2.1 xerun 60a with a 10.5 pushing a b4 . so much tuning options , highly recomended .i havn't run the new hw firmware so cant say anything about it . cheers
gogi108 is offline  
Old 12-09-2011, 11:03 AM
  #110  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,369
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Why will hobbywing not reply to any of my e-mails.

I have been trying for over a month
jdeadman is offline  
Old 12-09-2011, 11:33 AM
  #111  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jdeadman
Why will hobbywing not reply to any of my e-mails.

I have been trying for over a month
by chance you check your junk email folder? I know that sounds simple, but I had an account that didn't send my junk email unless I logged in via webmail....viola the mail I was looking for was there.
L8Braker is offline  
Old 12-09-2011, 11:37 AM
  #112  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,369
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by L8Braker
by chance you check your junk email folder? I know that sounds simple, but I had an account that didn't send my junk email unless I logged in via webmail....viola the mail I was looking for was there.
Yes that's for the tip but I have tried just about everything (computer geek professionally) I have even tried different accounts from different vendors to no avail
jdeadman is offline  
Old 12-09-2011, 02:29 PM
  #113  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Socal
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have a Justock esc and tested fine a week ago. Yesterday I tried testing again and this time motor will not respond (servo works fine, fan is on), tried 2 different motor. Tried calibrating and it did not work.

Is there anywhere in the USA I can sent to for repair?

TIA,
Ron
syrss is offline  
Old 12-09-2011, 08:53 PM
  #114  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jdeadman
Why will hobbywing not reply to any of my e-mails.

I have been trying for over a month
Try again, they are having problems with the servers due to china's restriction on mails n access.
SuperEk4 is offline  
Old 12-09-2011, 10:29 PM
  #115  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (43)
 
aloksatoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N California
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default Tekin pro4 4600kv with Xerun 150

I am running a pro 4 motor with the xerun 150 in sensored mode. Have connected the castle 10A Bec as well. Everything works fine in startup mode, linear smooth take off, servos working etc. 2 out of 3 times whenever I give full throttle, the truck takes off fast but in 1-2 seconds starts stuttering. On examination, the green red LEDs blink simultaneously. Basically that's a fail-safe for the ESC and it falls back to sensorless mode.

On reading the manual, it seems there is a sensor malfunction. I am not sure what is the problem, the ESC or the Motor. Both are brand new installed today. I dismantled the motor cleaned the hall sensor rechecked with 2 new sensor wires, checked soldering and verified no shorts anywhere.

Any ideas?

P.S. the cogging and switching to sensorless ONLY happens when the motor is loaded, i.e. the mesh is set and trucks on the stand/ground. It works perfect when the pinions off the shaft. If the throttle EPA is set to around 60% I get the problem rarely.

Last edited by aloksatoor; 12-09-2011 at 11:41 PM.
aloksatoor is offline  
Old 12-12-2011, 07:08 PM
  #116  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 4,513
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

has anyone ran the SC8 esc on 4s before? If so how well did it handle the extra load and what size KV motor did you use?
nv529 is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 10:36 PM
  #117  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
toyspd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Whats up guys, So here are some rookie questions. I just picked up an 80a xerun esc, and a 2200kv unknown brand brushless motor. I have a couple questions on this set up. First the wires on the esc are different than the ones on the motor. Esc are blue yellow orange and motor are black red and white, what goes where? Second is the esc comes with a dual battery plugs and I planned on only using one.(gens ace 5000 2s) Can this work with one? if so how? or is it a must for a dual set up? Last but not least, Im converting my T Maxx , what is a good gear ratio set up? Thanks
toyspd is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 08:31 AM
  #118  
Tech Master
iTrader: (43)
 
bronc4now's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hoffman Estates,IL
Posts: 1,484
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by toyspd
Whats up guys, So here are some rookie questions. I just picked up an 80a xerun esc, and a 2200kv unknown brand brushless motor. I have a couple questions on this set up. First the wires on the esc are different than the ones on the motor. Esc are blue yellow orange and motor are black red and white, what goes where? Second is the esc comes with a dual battery plugs and I planned on only using one.(gens ace 5000 2s) Can this work with one? if so how? or is it a must for a dual set up? Last but not least, Im converting my T Maxx , what is a good gear ratio set up? Thanks
Just a heads up you will what to run 4s lipo for a t max just to get it moving..I'm thinking the motor is 1/8 scale size ..just keep eye on esc temp if it can handle the amps 150a esc would be a safer way to go ..as far as wire color esc,motor should be marked a,b,c, go with that not color..
bronc4now is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 04:59 PM
  #119  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
toyspd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bronc4now
Just a heads up you will what to run 4s lipo for a t max just to get it moving..I'm thinking the motor is 1/8 scale size ..just keep eye on esc temp if it can handle the amps 150a esc would be a safer way to go ..as far as wire color esc,motor should be marked a,b,c, go with that not color..
So because my esc has two battery plugs, if I put two 2s lipos will that make it a 4s? And shouldn't that give me the juice I need?
toyspd is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:06 AM
  #120  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default Xerun V2.1 green light blinks once on direction change

I've checked various manuals on the internet but have not found the answer. Maybe someone tell me where I can get the answer?

I recently bought two Xerun 60A-Black V2.1 that I am running with two Turnigy XX3650-3200KV (sensored) motors. Batteries- Turnigy 3Cell 2200mAh 25C Lipo. (fully charged)

Running in for/rev mode, every time I change direction (go through neutral) the green LED flashes once. This results in a very minor delay when I accelerate. In the opposite direction and once the motor has turned a little this goes away. The red LED works as specified (on when motor turning either forwards or reverse) In the manuals this once flashing green LED and associated delay is not mentioned.

Question: Is the single green blink normal?
It blinks once also in for/rev w. brake mode going from reverse to forwards.

I've changed the sensor cable several times and the result is the same. With the sensor cable unpluged there is a noticable starting torque difference.
Settings:
Running Mode:for/rev
Drag BrakeForce: 0%
LV cut off: 3.4V
Start Mode (Punch): Level 1 (same result at every setting)
Max. Brake Force: 25%
Max Rev Force: 100%
Initial Brake Force: 0%
Neutral Range 6% (same result at every setting)
Boost Timing: 0%
jason77 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.