Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 01-04-2017, 09:37 PM
  #11341  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 729
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by rcuser67898578; 12-09-2023 at 09:17 AM.
rcuser67898578 is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 09:15 AM
  #11342  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Today did some more testing to see how much voltage drops under the load - as some of you noted that battery voltage under load should be lower - which is true - but question is HOW MUCH.
Here's the outcome:
1. battery idle voltage: 7.50V
2. trigger pulled gently (wheels barely rotate): 7.49V
3. trigger at full throttle: 7.38V

As you can see, in my case idle vs. full throttle is only 0.1V
Why I'm saying this? As I still think that ESC is misreading the voltage as in my case it was: 7.48V (multimeter) vs. 6.9V (measured by ESC).
Having said that I think that there's a bug in ESC firmware.
astianseb is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 09:24 AM
  #11343  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by astianseb
Today did some more testing to see how much voltage drops under the load - as some of you noted that battery voltage under load should be lower - which is true - but question is HOW MUCH.
Here's the outcome:
1. battery idle voltage: 7.50V
2. trigger pulled gently (wheels barely rotate): 7.49V
3. trigger at full throttle: 7.38V

As you can see, in my case idle vs. full throttle is only 0.1V
Why I'm saying this? As I still think that ESC is misreading the voltage as in my case it was: 7.48V (multimeter) vs. 6.9V (measured by ESC).
Having said that I think that there's a bug in ESC firmware.
If you have the wheels off the ground, then you still don't have a load on the battery. Try measuring under full throttle from a standstill with the vehicle on the track. With the motors you mentioned in your first post, the load will be well over 100A under this condition, assuming no wheelspin.
howardcano is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 10:10 AM
  #11344  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Originally Posted by howardcano
If you have the wheels off the ground, then you still don't have a load on the battery. Try measuring under full throttle from a standstill with the vehicle on the track. With the motors you mentioned in your first post, the load will be well over 100A under this condition, assuming no wheelspin.
In my case it does not matter as in order to have reliable results you need to measure voltage in the same conditions - and in my case it was model standing on a pod (wheels off track).

I think that we pretty much exhausted this topic as to me results are quite apparent: ESC is misreading voltage on a battery. What would really help is if you can try to measure voltage on your ESC and compare multimeter read vs. ESC logger read.
astianseb is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 10:59 AM
  #11345  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
boner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Does LVC kicks in when you are free wheeling on the bench? or is the esc's data giving a 6v reading during free wheeling on the bench while voltmeter is giving 7v?

If LVC kicks in during free wheeling or ESC's data voltage reading is 6v during free wheeling, there is high possibility ESC's LVC or voltage reading is malfunction.

If you are you looking for ESC to have LVC setting based on idle voltage(free wheeling voltage) there is a very high chance lipo will be damaged from over discharge if LVC setting is set at 3.2v/cell.
boner is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 11:12 AM
  #11346  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Originally Posted by boner
Does LVC kicks in when you are free wheeling on the bench? or is the esc's data giving a 6v reading during free wheeling on the bench while voltmeter is giving 7v?
YES

Originally Posted by boner
If LVC kicks in during free wheeling or ESC's data voltage reading is 6v during free wheeling, there is high possibility ESC's LVC or voltage reading is malfunction.
This is what I'm trying to prove for the last few days
astianseb is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 11:56 AM
  #11347  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 33
Default

Can anyone tell me if Firmware XR-4.1.02 is the most current version for the XR10 Stock Spec ESC. Thanks
Whiskey63 is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 12:01 PM
  #11348  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Whiskey63
Can anyone tell me if Firmware XR-4.1.02 is the most current version for the XR10 Stock Spec ESC. Thanks
It looks that way. This link shows the current versions being used as well as archived past versions.

http://www.hobbywingdirect.com/pages/download
flamingtire is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 01:51 PM
  #11349  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
DJEckart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
The sct pro works best at 3.0 lvc, Ive run them for years and Have never destroyed a battery with this setting.
Upgraded and hooked up new HW Program Box, changed to 3.0 on LVC and also switched from Practice to Racing mode. Will see what happens tomorrow night
DJEckart is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 01:55 PM
  #11350  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
jbrook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: CO
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys

Where do I find setups for the Xerun XR10 Pro? I checked Hobbywing USA and found two speedo setups but it was for astro turf 4wd and touring car. Looking for a 2wd and 4wd offroad sheet for a good starting point.
jbrook is offline  
Old 01-05-2017, 02:21 PM
  #11351  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Derry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edmonds,WA
Posts: 2,278
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
If you can connect up to the pc hobbywing software you can try to do a factory reset. I have rescued a few this way.
Well it was worth a shot. Didn't work, but hey the old 2.1 lasted for a good 4 years of abuse. Just ordered a 3.1 stock spec to replace it from Falcon. 99.00 nice!
Derry is offline  
Old 01-06-2017, 01:41 AM
  #11352  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by howardcano
If you have the wheels off the ground, then you still don't have a load on the battery. Try measuring under full throttle from a standstill with the vehicle on the track. With the motors you mentioned in your first post, the load will be well over 100A under this condition, assuming no wheelspin.
Precisely, trying to measure pack voltage with the car on a stand simply will NOT put the proper load on it, so you won't notice much voltage drop. Honestly, the best way to measure that in ACTUAL running conditions & loads is to use data logging, like systems sold by Eagle Tree or some old Novak Sentry systems. I had a Sentry myself in the early days of our racing-wide switch to LiPo's(about 8-9 years ago), & I used it to chart the real differences between the older NiMh's we used to LiPo's, & with it I could see how much the voltage dropped under load of actual running(its software even let me see it & other measurements in real time in a playback mode). It's really the only proper way to measure it in the car.
Grizzbob is offline  
Old 01-06-2017, 01:45 AM
  #11353  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by astianseb
YES



This is what I'm trying to prove for the last few days
And are you testing with a fully charged battery every time? Did you ever get around to adjusting the LVC to a more normal setting(like 6.4V)?
Grizzbob is offline  
Old 01-06-2017, 08:34 AM
  #11354  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jbrook
Hey Guys

Where do I find setups for the Xerun XR10 Pro? I checked Hobbywing USA and found two speedo setups but it was for astro turf 4wd and touring car. Looking for a 2wd and 4wd offroad sheet for a good starting point.
I don't think there are many floating around yet. However, if you post this question on the HWNA Facebook page, you may get some assistance:

https://www.facebook.com/Hobbywing.NA
flamingtire is offline  
Old 01-06-2017, 08:34 AM
  #11355  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Derry
Well it was worth a shot. Didn't work, but hey the old 2.1 lasted for a good 4 years of abuse. Just ordered a 3.1 stock spec to replace it from Falcon. 99.00 nice!
Yes, the V3.1 Stock Spec will not disappoint
flamingtire is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.