Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 11-08-2016, 06:20 AM
  #11086  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,378
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

It says dustproof on fiercercsolutions so figured that would be a tad better than not anything on the xr10 and still offers some timing capability.

I may give that a look once I decide what way to go.
Cain is offline  
Old 11-09-2016, 01:13 PM
  #11087  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

I have a good one...
I have a 120a v3.1 non stock spec that is acting up...
When i plug in the led program box it works and sends and receives info..
The esc is getting hot while hooked up to it ??? I soldered up with new wires, sensor wire and it wont turn the tires at all...Just coggs/wires get hot and so does esc...tried a different motor...same thing.. Doubt its the sensor wire..

Does anyone know what the average cost of repairs from HW

Bought it off a buddy who said worked fine (30.00)...looks to be in perfect shape..

Any ideas?

Thanks

Chris
chris c is offline  
Old 11-09-2016, 02:00 PM
  #11088  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,378
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

you pull the sensor wire (no wire at all, sensorless) and see if the esc works fine?
Cain is offline  
Old 11-09-2016, 02:22 PM
  #11089  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You can also hook it up to your p.c Hobbywing program and reset the speedo to factory, I recovered 2 speed controls this way and did not have to send them in.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 11-09-2016, 02:31 PM
  #11090  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain
you pull the sensor wire (no wire at all, sensorless) and see if the esc works fine?
Tried that same issue
chris c is offline  
Old 11-09-2016, 02:32 PM
  #11091  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
You can also hook it up to your p.c Hobbywing program and reset the speedo to factory, I recovered 2 speed controls this way and did not have to send them in.
Ya did that also...didn't help...
chris c is offline  
Old 11-09-2016, 04:04 PM
  #11092  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,378
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

yeah it getting hot to me means something is shot.

don't know how they do out of the warranty repairs, if at all.
Cain is offline  
Old 11-09-2016, 08:46 PM
  #11093  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris c
Ya did that also...didn't help...
Yes it sounds like you need to start the repair process.Falcon Sekido will take care of you.....
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 11-10-2016, 09:08 AM
  #11094  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris c
I have a good one...
I have a 120a v3.1 non stock spec that is acting up...
When i plug in the led program box it works and sends and receives info..
The esc is getting hot while hooked up to it ??? I soldered up with new wires, sensor wire and it wont turn the tires at all...Just coggs/wires get hot and so does esc...tried a different motor...same thing.. Doubt its the sensor wire..

Does anyone know what the average cost of repairs from HW

Bought it off a buddy who said worked fine (30.00)...looks to be in perfect shape..

Any ideas?

Thanks

Chris

It does sound like something is damaged, but here are some things to try before working with a service repair:
1. Make sure the motor is wired up properly (A, B, C wires are all in the correct orientation).
2. Make sure there aren't isn't any solder "jumping" between any of the joints where they meet the ESC and motor.
3. Smell the ESC (yes, smell it). Does it have a "burnt" or "foul" smell? Most electronics have a unique smell when they are new versus when they are burnt up.

Personally I it sounds like there is a short in the ESC.
flamingtire is offline  
Old 11-10-2016, 09:21 AM
  #11095  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by flamingtire
It does sound like something is damaged, but here are some things to try before working with a service repair:
1. Make sure the motor is wired up properly (A, B, C wires are all in the correct orientation).
2. Make sure there aren't isn't any solder "jumping" between any of the joints where they meet the ESC and motor.
3. Smell the ESC (yes, smell it). Does it have a "burnt" or "foul" smell? Most electronics have a unique smell when they are new versus when they are burnt up.

Personally I it sounds like there is a short in the ESC.
Ya its all wired up correct..no burnt smell..just not sure if it is worth fixing if they charge a arm and leg..
Thanks all
chris c is offline  
Old 11-10-2016, 10:39 AM
  #11096  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,378
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

if its out of warranty, heck i'd probably open it up and see what there is to see, post a pic.
Cain is offline  
Old 11-10-2016, 12:01 PM
  #11097  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default


chris c is offline  
Old 11-10-2016, 12:23 PM
  #11098  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 90
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Rerun XR10 Pro

My Xerun xr10 Pro ESC turns back on every time I turn it off. Any ideas? Thanks!
lim202 is offline  
Old 11-11-2016, 06:01 AM
  #11099  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris c
Ya its all wired up correct..no burnt smell..just not sure if it is worth fixing if they charge a arm and leg..
Thanks all
I had a friend racer have the same problem Wed. night.......try taking the sensor wire off completely and see if it works. His was heating up and when he pulled the trigger the motor wires moved.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 11-11-2016, 08:17 AM
  #11100  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (168)
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,193
Trader Rating: 168 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
I had a friend racer have the same problem Wed. night.......try taking the sensor wire off completely and see if it works. His was heating up and when he pulled the trigger the motor wires moved.
I recently had the exact same thing happen (motor wires moved when pull the trigger) and tracked it to an incorrectly wired sensor cable (one which I had never used before). The only reason I could tell for sure the sensor cable was incorrectly wired is that it was one of those flat ribbon cables and I could see that two of the pins were switched in position at one end. If you have a cable of all separate wires it could be difficult to tell incorrect wiring.
ta_man is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.