Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree193Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 10-04-2012, 06:26 PM
  #1096  
Tech Apprentice
 
SavageSpawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 64
Default

Its it possible to use the techno mechanical break with the Hobbywing 150A esc? I looked at the manual and one option is forward and break. Could you dial the break to zero and configure the mechanical break some how?
SavageSpawn is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 06:59 PM
  #1097  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,108
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I have a hobbywing 120amp on my losi 22 buggy..I was wondering if there was a way to add more brakes. I don't have any and I've tried maxxed out settings via the program card. still not enough
NitroLuver is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 07:28 PM
  #1098  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
megasaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake City, PA
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 25 (88%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FlyinRazorback
Getting back into the "hobby" after a 6 year hiatus and I'm pretty clueless to brushless tech (use to race nitro.) Anyways, I'm putting together a RC8.2e and looking at the different HW combos. Can anyone give me a little insight on the differences between these combos / motors?

M5A with the 4168SD motor
M6A with the 4274SD 2000kv motor
M6B with the 4274SD 2200kv motor
M7A with the 4274SD 1800kv motor

Thanks in advance.
i dont see a 4168 motor, you must mean 4068

here is a breakdown of the sensored motors they make for 1/8:

details tab... http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=240

the higher the KV value, the faster the motor is. A very common setup for 1/8 electric buggies is a Tekin 1900kv motor, gives plenty of speed but is tame enough for most to drive. Depending on your skill level and track size you may be able to safely run the 2200kv motor. If running a smaller track, like indoor or something like that i would recommend the 1800kv

Last edited by megasaxon; 10-04-2012 at 07:39 PM.
megasaxon is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 03:56 AM
  #1099  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
FlyinRazorback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 471
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by megasaxon
i dont see a 4168 motor, you must mean 4068

here is a breakdown of the sensored motors they make for 1/8:

details tab... http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=240

the higher the KV value, the faster the motor is. A very common setup for 1/8 electric buggies is a Tekin 1900kv motor, gives plenty of speed but is tame enough for most to drive. Depending on your skill level and track size you may be able to safely run the 2200kv motor. If running a smaller track, like indoor or something like that i would recommend the 1800kv
Thank you.
FlyinRazorback is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 08:23 AM
  #1100  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: MANILA, PARANAQUE
Posts: 11
Default

The xerun 120a v1 can handle brushless and brushed motor so can the xerun 120a v2.1 handle brushed motors too?
Tim-t is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 01:37 PM
  #1101  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Gpeters66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alton. IL
Posts: 352
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have 150a hobbywing esc with a Tekin 1900. Out of nowhere it started cogging. All electrical connections look fine. I have no clue what else to look for. Anyone have any ideas?

Last edited by Gpeters66; 10-05-2012 at 02:03 PM.
Gpeters66 is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 02:07 PM
  #1102  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (51)
 
Precision1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southern Colorado
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SavageSpawn
Its it possible to use the techno mechanical break with the Hobbywing 150A esc? I looked at the manual and one option is forward and break. Could you dial the break to zero and configure the mechanical break some how?
If you run the nitro style Tekno clutch/clutchbell you can run mechanical brakes.

Don't know if you could make it work w/ direct drive & pinion.
Precision1 is offline  
Old 10-11-2012, 04:34 AM
  #1103  
Tech Addict
 
nanoverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 650
Default

Blew a front bearing from my HW Xerun SD3656 motor and found the reason. The motor has these fins and the SCTEs plastic lip under the motor has to be dremeled so that the motor slips easily on the motor mount without force. I just thought the tolerances are tight!

Well got to change the bearings to ceramics from Avid at the same time.
nanoverse is offline  
Old 10-11-2012, 04:29 PM
  #1104  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gpeters66
I have 150a hobbywing esc with a Tekin 1900. Out of nowhere it started cogging. All electrical connections look fine. I have no clue what else to look for. Anyone have any ideas?
Try a different sensor wire and go from there.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 01:08 AM
  #1105  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Amarillo Tx
Posts: 729
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Right on!
Originally Posted by megasaxon
i dont see a 4168 motor, you must mean 4068

here is a breakdown of the sensored motors they make for 1/8:

details tab... http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=240

the higher the KV value, the faster the motor is. A very common setup for 1/8 electric buggies is a Tekin 1900kv motor, gives plenty of speed but is tame enough for most to drive. Depending on your skill level and track size you may be able to safely run the 2200kv motor. If running a smaller track, like indoor or something like that i would recommend the 1800kv
sbrewer is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 01:19 AM
  #1106  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Amarillo Tx
Posts: 729
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SavageSpawn
Its it possible to use the techno mechanical break with the Hobbywing 150A esc? I looked at the manual and one option is forward and break. Could you dial the break to zero and configure the mechanical break some how?
You should be able to set your break force to 0 on the esc, and then be able to use then techno kit
sbrewer is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 09:50 AM
  #1107  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (10)
 
BigPar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Diego, Ensenada RC
Posts: 66
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nanoverse
Blew a front bearing from my HW Xerun SD3656 motor and found the reason. The motor has these fins and the SCTEs plastic lip under the motor has to be dremeled so that the motor slips easily on the motor mount without force. I just thought the tolerances are tight!

Well got to change the bearings to ceramics from Avid at the same time.
could you post a picture of the plastic part that you dremeled?
BigPar is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 02:37 PM
  #1108  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,108
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Found my answer I installed V3_508_NO timing and the esc appears to be in the correct mode or blinky mode
NitroLuver is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 05:11 PM
  #1109  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
justpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 2,063
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

We had a Castle SCT kit with the 1410 3800kv 4 pole and the Sidewinder ESC.
The ESC went up like they tend to do, so I replaced it with a HW SC10.

It seems to run well, except that it doesn't always like to notice that it gets to neutral all the time. This has caused both a lack of ability to reverse at times and the concept of push control such that if it flips the wheels will keep spinning forward.

Ironically, the best way to make it seem to center more often is to set some forward trim after the esc is calibrated. I've tried a different controller too, and both work fine with my Castle, Tekin, and other HW ESC's. Any thoughts? I personally just work around it, but this is being set up for somebody brand new to the hobby.
justpoet is offline  
Old 10-13-2012, 06:50 PM
  #1110  
Tech Master
 
Kevin_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Perry Hall MD, USA
Posts: 1,104
Default

SCTPro and the 4700Kv motor was great today. I ran an ok race baring my bobbles. I ended up finishing 3rd in B main today. This combo has plenty of power and when I temped the motor after the run I was about 125-127.
Kevin_M is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.