Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree193Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 11-01-2016, 06:42 AM
  #11056  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 10,958
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

Yep. Just like every other one I've had non sensored usually takes a second to catch rotor position but sensored is instant. I personally don't like them set up that way though when running trail it sucks because brake is hard to hit right when coming downhill etc. it's either to much or not enough. I run fwd/rev with brake in my wraith and scx's. Full comp crawler rig is a different story. Gotta go instant and hope you can get enough brake. I think that's where low if high voltage comes in.
hotrod87 is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 07:21 AM
  #11057  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LVNeptune
Program card does in fact work on the justock
You are saying the old style program card works on the new XR10 JuStock?
flamingtire is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 07:37 AM
  #11058  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scargoes
Is there any built in timing on the G2 motors? Specifically the 17.5? I currently run mine with the end bell at 50*.

I was reading that the Bandit motor comes with 20* built in and the end bell set at 30* for a total of 50*.
Normally what companies mean by "build in timing" is that, from the factory, the end bell when in the normal position, will show 20 degrees of timing and that is what the motor is "set at." The end bell still 100% determines the timing unless you factor in Boost/Timing from the ESC.

Where did you read that there will be a total of 50 degrees of timing from the factory? There may be a typo. I don't see it anywhere on the "Bandit" page of the HWNA website:
http://www.hobbywingdirect.com/produ...run-v10-bandit
flamingtire is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 07:50 AM
  #11059  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 148
Default

Originally Posted by flamingtire
You are saying the old style program card works on the new XR10 JuStock?
Yes, I will take a video later if I remember.
LVNeptune is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:45 AM
  #11060  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hobbywingdirect.com is up...
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 10:54 AM
  #11061  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: East Bay
Posts: 241
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by flamingtire
Normally what companies mean by "build in timing" is that, from the factory, the end bell when in the normal position, will show 20 degrees of timing and that is what the motor is "set at." The end bell still 100% determines the timing unless you factor in Boost/Timing from the ESC.

Where did you read that there will be a total of 50 degrees of timing from the factory? There may be a typo. I don't see it anywhere on the "Bandit" page of the HWNA website:
http://www.hobbywingdirect.com/produ...run-v10-bandit
I'll have to look when I get home. It'll be a while as I'm on a business trip. But the paperwork that came in the box was not the same as what is posted on the website. It stated that there was 20* built in and the motor was set to 30*. I don't remember the actual verbiage but it appeared to me to imply that there was 50* total on the motor. I could be wrong. But as it sits, the Bandit set at 30* on the end bell is the same speed at the G2 at 50*. So I was wondering if I could safely add more timing to the Bandit. I know 54* on the end bell of my Team Powers was the max, any more and you risked melting the motor.
Scargoes is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 11:03 AM
  #11062  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 148
Default

Do you have a motor analyzer? Easiest way to confirm. I never trust anything anyone says. :P
LVNeptune is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:49 PM
  #11063  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 148
Default

Originally Posted by flamingtire
You are saying the old style program card works on the new XR10 JuStock?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RsACkxBQTU
LVNeptune is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 10:03 PM
  #11064  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,327
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by flamingtire
Normally what companies mean by "build in timing" is that, from the factory, the end bell when in the normal position, will show 20 degrees of timing and that is what the motor is "set at." The end bell still 100% determines the timing unless you factor in Boost/Timing from the ESC.

Where did you read that there will be a total of 50 degrees of timing from the factory? There may be a typo. I don't see it anywhere on the "Bandit" page of the HWNA website:
http://www.hobbywingdirect.com/produ...run-v10-bandit
Built in timing usually means that the timing written on the end bell isn't the true timing. For example, two different manufacturers might ship motors at 20 degrees timing. But Manufacturer A might have the endbell label tuned to read 20 degrees at a true 20 timing, and Manufacturer B might have the label read 0 degrees at a true 20 timing. This offset is often referred to as the 'built in' timing.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 10:06 PM
  #11065  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 148
Default

Not sure why this is hard for people to understand. If you have 20* of built-in timing add 20 to whatever you bell is set to.
LVNeptune is offline  
Old 11-02-2016, 06:19 AM
  #11066  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 3,436
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hotrod87
Yep. Just like every other one I've had non sensored usually takes a second to catch rotor position but sensored is instant. I personally don't like them set up that way though when running trail it sucks because brake is hard to hit right when coming downhill etc. it's either to much or not enough. I run fwd/rev with brake in my wraith and scx's. Full comp crawler rig is a different story. Gotta go instant and hope you can get enough brake. I think that's where low if high voltage comes in.
Thank you.

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Hobbywingdirect.com is up...
Yes, but hobbywing.com is not and hasn't been for at least the past two days. It's odd for a major manufacturer's site to be down that long.
JatoTheRipper is offline  
Old 11-02-2016, 08:09 AM
  #11067  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LVNeptune
Wow, this is awesome. I stand corrected, this is good news!
flamingtire is offline  
Old 11-02-2016, 08:14 AM
  #11068  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LVNeptune
Not sure why this is hard for people to understand. If you have 20* of built-in timing add 20 to whatever you bell is set to.
Because that's not always true... lol
flamingtire is offline  
Old 11-02-2016, 03:09 PM
  #11069  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,327
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by flamingtire
Because that's not always true... lol
So if you have 20 degrees of built in timing there are occasions where you're not supposed to add 20? What did you mean by that?
gigaplex is offline  
Old 11-02-2016, 10:49 PM
  #11070  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper
Thank you.


Yes, but hobbywing.com is not and hasn't been for at least the past two days. It's odd for a major manufacturer's site to be down that long.
I don't know what the deal is with their original site, but this one is all we need in the US: http://www.hobbywingdirect.com/?gcli...FYIlgQodgY0Fow , & it's working just fine....
Grizzbob is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.