Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree191Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 04-21-2016, 06:01 AM
  #10486  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Default

I have the hobby wing ezrun 4000kv motor and esc. I run dirt oval on a slick dusty track. This combo is in a new tekno 410.3. Truck is stock and I run a 18 tooth pinion. This motor rocks!!!. I bought this combo last Aug and has put me in the win side many times. Last night the end of the rotor shaft broke off!!! It broke about 1/16" just outside of the end bell. Been racing a lot of yrs and have never seen this happen before. I run value 1 on the timing and punch set at value 3. No brake. I thought maybe a little Rock jammed in the spur but upon examination the spur and pinion look like new yet.
Is something like this a warranty issue or do I have to bite the bullet and buy a new motor?
1Radman is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 05:34 PM
  #10487  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1Radman
I have the hobby wing ezrun 4000kv motor and esc. I run dirt oval on a slick dusty track. This combo is in a new tekno 410.3. Truck is stock and I run a 18 tooth pinion. This motor rocks!!!. I bought this combo last Aug and has put me in the win side many times. Last night the end of the rotor shaft broke off!!! It broke about 1/16" just outside of the end bell. Been racing a lot of yrs and have never seen this happen before. I run value 1 on the timing and punch set at value 3. No brake. I thought maybe a little Rock jammed in the spur but upon examination the spur and pinion look like new yet.
Is something like this a warranty issue or do I have to bite the bullet and buy a new motor?
I'm not sure if it would be under warranty but since they are such great motors it would be worth contacting them. The only thing I can think would be a rock did get into the mesh.
Paul Rush
Team Driver
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 11:35 PM
  #10488  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Can someone from HW please send me a RMA so I can send in my HW sct pro esc that's not working. I have sent in the online RMA request nearly 2wks ago and still no reply.
joel45acp is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 05:56 PM
  #10489  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sorry you are having difficulty. .....I would write them again to be sure. It shouldn't take this long.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 04-29-2016, 01:13 AM
  #10490  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
tsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 979
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What 2WD buggy servos are you guys using with a $50 Justock ESC? 2A doesn't seem like enough to push a Savox 1257/1258TG, and I wasn't able to run my Hitec 5565mh (2.1A stall current) either. I'd really prefer not to use a glitch buster or external BEC.
tsair is offline  
Old 04-29-2016, 04:10 AM
  #10491  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 196
Default

I have a Juststock esc combined with my 1258tg installed in my stock class ST. It is a 22T with a Reds VX 17.5 motor. I have never noticed any issues except my driving or lack there of...
freezeframe007 is offline  
Old 04-29-2016, 04:49 AM
  #10492  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,819
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default


Last edited by JayBee; 04-29-2016 at 05:01 AM. Reason: error
JayBee is offline  
Old 04-29-2016, 09:44 PM
  #10493  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tsair
What 2WD buggy servos are you guys using with a $50 Justock ESC? 2A doesn't seem like enough to push a Savox 1257/1258TG, and I wasn't able to run my Hitec 5565mh (2.1A stall current) either. I'd really prefer not to use a glitch buster or external BEC.
I have had to use a glitch buster in the past with a Justock, but I haven't had to lately.

My 2wd buggy has a Savox 1257 with a Justock. I did add an extra cap direct to the esc, but have had no issues.

My Late Model has a Savox 1251 with a Justock. No glitch buster, no extra cap (stock single cap). No problems.
flamingtire is offline  
Old 05-01-2016, 08:20 AM
  #10494  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
13Maschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Doesn't anyone know when I will be able to buy the WiFi Express? Seems like it's been years since they announced.
13Maschine is offline  
Old 05-02-2016, 12:54 AM
  #10495  
JAE
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default V3.1 120amp Brake strength - stock blinky

Recently picked up 2 of these used. Wow, the brakes are strong. Read something in passing about "stock motor braking issues". Anyone know anything about this? Thx
JAE is offline  
Old 05-02-2016, 06:41 PM
  #10496  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (357)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,483
Trader Rating: 357 (100%+)
Default

Bump
jmoneym is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 07:43 AM
  #10497  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: St John, In
Posts: 283
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have a new Xerun SCT Pro Sensored Brushless ESC/Motor Combo (4000kV)
I've been running it without the sensor wire connected, what is the purpose of the sensor wire and should I connect it ?
weedsnager is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 08:15 AM
  #10498  
Tech Master
iTrader: (93)
 
DriveItLikeYSIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,337
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 13Maschine
Doesn't anyone know when I will be able to buy the WiFi Express? Seems like it's been years since they announced.
I received this reply from HWNA..

"Thank you for your inquiry.

The actual release date is unknown yet but the WiFi module will be available fairly soon. We will keep you posted via our official facebook.com/Hobbywing.NA as soon as we have any news and updates on this item"
DriveItLikeYSIT is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 08:57 AM
  #10499  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GreatWhiteNorth
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by weedsnager
I have a new Xerun SCT Pro Sensored Brushless ESC/Motor Combo (4000kV)
I've been running it without the sensor wire connected, what is the purpose of the sensor wire and should I connect it ?
Google would be your friend on this!!! But in short, provides the ESC with known motor position providing smoother (no cogging) starts. Run it if you can
brew99 is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 09:24 AM
  #10500  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DirkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,548
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I agree. Run it with sensor cable if possible. Throttle response will be much smoother in low RPM sections.
DirkW is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.