Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree193Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 01-27-2016, 05:29 PM
  #10171  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 313
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Calibration with the Stock SPEC is easy as Kyle mentioned, I tend for mix up the throttle and brake sometimes haha.. Simple recalibration fixes that.
Ronisonce is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 07:20 AM
  #10172  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 590
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Does the 2 in 1 LCD program box let you change the drag brake and brake force to a custom % instead of the default %?
Bartman42 is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 11:14 AM
  #10173  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Carter Flotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bartman42
Does the 2 in 1 LCD program box let you change the drag brake and brake force to a custom % instead of the default %?
Yes you can change drag brake to a custom percent with the box. For braking force you will need to use a laptop if you want to use a custom %. The box gives some pretty good options for braking force though, and you can fine tune with brake pea/dual rate on your radio.
Carter Flotron is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 11:48 AM
  #10174  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 590
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Carter Flotron
Yes you can change drag brake to a custom percent with the box. For braking force you will need to use a laptop if you want to use a custom %. The box gives some pretty good options for braking force though, and you can fine tune with brake pea/dual rate on your radio.
Perfect.. Thank you
Bartman42 is offline  
Old 01-30-2016, 04:53 PM
  #10175  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

This has I'm sure been covered a million times in here. That said I can't get the results I'm looking for searching in the thread sorry. I have a 120a v2.1 xerun. I need to run blinky mode for an upcoming race. What firmware do I need to run and where can I find it on hw's site? I have flashed hw esc's years ago but it has been awhile. Thanks in advance.
motobigalow is offline  
Old 01-30-2016, 05:05 PM
  #10176  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

Originally Posted by motobigalow
This has I'm sure been covered a million times in here. That said I can't get the results I'm looking for searching in the thread sorry. I have a 120a v2.1 xerun. I need to run blinky mode for an upcoming race. What firmware do I need to run and where can I find it on hw's site? I have flashed hw esc's years ago but it has been awhile. Thanks in advance.
You need to download the usb link from hobbywing.com and load v3 508 zero timing software.
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 01-30-2016, 05:09 PM
  #10177  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Okay I have the link I think already thank you!
motobigalow is offline  
Old 01-31-2016, 02:12 PM
  #10178  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone give me a part # for the fan used on the new XR8 1/8 esc? I know the fan from the SCT pro fits it but is it the right one?
Dan.J is offline  
Old 01-31-2016, 02:53 PM
  #10179  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan.J
Can anyone give me a part # for the fan used on the new XR8 1/8 esc? I know the fan from the SCT pro fits it but is it the right one?
Good question.

From my research it looks like part number 86080080 is what you are looking for. Don't hold me too it, but the specs for that one appear to be in line with what the XR8 calls for.
flamingtire is offline  
Old 01-31-2016, 03:05 PM
  #10180  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan.J
Can anyone give me a part # for the fan used on the new XR8 1/8 esc? I know the fan from the SCT pro fits it but is it the right one?
Hi Dan

Yes it uses the SCT Pro fan.
FastPete is offline  
Old 01-31-2016, 05:03 PM
  #10181  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Dan.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: S/W lower Michigan
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys,

Another question, any news on the new 1/8 motors that are supposed to be coming, the ones that were talked about when the XR8 was being marketed? The full sensored deals that can take advantage of the 1/10 type timing fuctions etc with the XR8?
Dan.J is offline  
Old 01-31-2016, 08:35 PM
  #10182  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
watzonee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chino
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Any help would be great here. I recently purchased a stock spec v3.1 esc and need to put in blinky mode.. The only way to do that is through the program box right?? I have a program box but every time I plug it in it says "please update software" which would be easy but I have a Mac.. Please help!! ���� and which software is that referring to the box or esc???
watzonee is offline  
Old 01-31-2016, 09:14 PM
  #10183  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have the Xerun SCT Pro. It went into lipo cutoff when I was at full throttle on the back straight. Made a noise similar to a stripped gear or heavy cogging. Is it normal for this esc to make the motor emit this sound? thanks

....Edit.... Looking things over I accidently had "punch mode" on "8", the directions said if your battery isn't good enough or a high discharge rate the motor wouldn't run smooth or "tremble". I think this is the noise I heard. Backed it down to "5" and I think all is good.

Last edited by KyJoe340; 01-31-2016 at 10:13 PM.
KyJoe340 is offline  
Old 02-01-2016, 10:10 AM
  #10184  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by watzonee
Any help would be great here. I recently purchased a stock spec v3.1 esc and need to put in blinky mode.. The only way to do that is through the program box right?? I have a program box but every time I plug it in it says "please update software" which would be easy but I have a Mac.. Please help!! ���� and which software is that referring to the box or esc???
Correct. XERUN V3.0 ESC ONLY works with the new version of the USB Link Software: the version no earlier than V3.0_Beta_120401.

Do you already have the newer style program box (link below)? http://www.hobbywingdirect.com/products/lcd-program

I'm not a Mac user, so I can't help you there. I'm sure someone else can give you some info on that.
flamingtire is offline  
Old 02-01-2016, 10:16 AM
  #10185  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KyJoe340
I have the Xerun SCT Pro. It went into lipo cutoff when I was at full throttle on the back straight. Made a noise similar to a stripped gear or heavy cogging. Is it normal for this esc to make the motor emit this sound? thanks

....Edit.... Looking things over I accidently had "punch mode" on "8", the directions said if your battery isn't good enough or a high discharge rate the motor wouldn't run smooth or "tremble". I think this is the noise I heard. Backed it down to "5" and I think all is good.
Also make sure the connections on your motor are clean and "away" from each other. The symptoms you are describing can result from stray solder touching between the solder tabs or wire ends.

Double check all of your solder joints and wire connections (motor leads, ESC, Battery cable, etc.) just to make sure. Having a short can cause terminal damage very quickly.
flamingtire is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.