Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree191Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 10-01-2015, 01:37 PM
  #9916  
Tech Master
iTrader: (240)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,683
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sporto
Thanks for the reply.

1) Did that the first day I installed the ESC.
2) I lose track of time when I practice, I want the protection. I already tried setting LVC all the way down to 2.6v and it didn't help

It is unlikely but possible that the Tekin T8 motor is the root cause, so I will swap it out with new. If that doesn't resolve, then I will be mailing this ESC back for warranty repair/replacement.
I would agree with IDBDoug, turn the lvc off. Your radio has a timer so you can still monitor practice session length of time. If that doesn't fix it then I'd suggest an external bec. Another option is the fan quit working and it's going into thermal shutdown.
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 10-01-2015, 04:58 PM
  #9917  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
R1Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,183
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I had to turn my LVC off as I was having a similar problem. Just set a timer on your phone for 10 minutes. Then check your battery and see what is left in it and gauge how much longer you could get out of the battery.
R1Joel is offline  
Old 10-01-2015, 05:30 PM
  #9918  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (108)
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: MN
Posts: 583
Trader Rating: 108 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nitro_mt_racer
I would agree with IDBDoug, turn the lvc off. Your radio has a timer so you can still monitor practice session length of time. If that doesn't fix it then I'd suggest an external bec. Another option is the fan quit working and it's going into thermal shutdown.

ESC temps when measured immediately after shutdown occurs are low 100's. So no thermaling going on, fan spins. Motor temps, low 120's. Another possible clue is that when the car is sitting there disabled, after about 3 seconds usually while I am walking up to it, i will hear beep beep beep (kinda like when you first turn it on) and then the car will take my throttle inputs for 300 ft before dying again.

Just out of curiosity, I will disable LVC before replacing motor and give it a run to see if that resolves. I run 4 other SCT Pros and they all work perfectly, so it appears that something is definitely faulty with this ESC.

Last edited by sporto; 10-01-2015 at 05:42 PM.
sporto is offline  
Old 10-01-2015, 06:19 PM
  #9919  
Tech Master
iTrader: (240)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,683
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sporto
ESC temps when measured immediately after shutdown occurs are low 100's. So no thermaling going on, fan spins. Motor temps, low 120's. Another possible clue is that when the car is sitting there disabled, after about 3 seconds usually while I am walking up to it, i will hear beep beep beep (kinda like when you first turn it on) and then the car will take my throttle inputs for 300 ft before dying again.

Just out of curiosity, I will disable LVC before replacing motor and give it a run to see if that resolves. I run 4 other SCT Pros and they all work perfectly, so it appears that something is definitely faulty with this ESC.
It's odd that whatever it's doing it's doing it 3-4 minutes into a run. We have the LVC disabled on all 4 of our sct pro escs.
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 10-01-2015, 09:44 PM
  #9920  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (108)
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: MN
Posts: 583
Trader Rating: 108 (100%+)
Default

It is also odd that I only lose throttle. Typically, a true LVC condition disables both throttle and steering.
sporto is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 04:25 AM
  #9921  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 487
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

How can I contact Hobbywing costumer support? according to their page RC Tech is costumer support. I had 2 brand new sct pro ESC that failed. Im getting frustated , contact them directly thru Facebook no reply from them.
giantoffire is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 04:57 AM
  #9922  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7,342
Default

Originally Posted by sporto
It is also odd that I only lose throttle. Typically, a true LVC condition disables both throttle and steering.
Mine reduce throttle but maintain steering, to allow steering out of the way. Different models of HW made ESC and another brand thou.
Dave H is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 05:28 AM
  #9923  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by giantoffire
How can I contact Hobbywing costumer support? according to their page RC Tech is costumer support. I had 2 brand new sct pro ESC that failed. Im getting frustated , contact them directly thru Facebook no reply from them.
Depends on what you want.

Customer service [email protected]

Tech support [email protected] or [email protected]
lewis110 is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 01:43 PM
  #9924  
Tech Master
iTrader: (58)
 
OfnaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol Va
Posts: 1,575
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Which firmware update is best for the SCT Pro ? I put V1.00_111207a_2R in last night just wondering if it was the lastest and best to use? Didn't see as how it was different
OfnaJoe is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 06:18 PM
  #9925  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (108)
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: MN
Posts: 583
Trader Rating: 108 (100%+)
Default

Just to close the loop on my issue. I disabled LVC cutoff as was suggestesd on this forum. Did not fix the problem. I then replaced the motor with a brand new T8 Gen 2, did not fix problem.

I then installed a brand new SCT Pro and paired it with my original motor and problem was resolved. Sent defective SCT Pro in for warranty replacement/repair.

Thanks to those who responded.

Last edited by sporto; 10-03-2015 at 08:38 PM.
sporto is offline  
Old 10-03-2015, 08:40 AM
  #9926  
Tech Master
iTrader: (121)
 
harry697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: south jersey
Posts: 1,989
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by harry697
So, I did some reading awhile back about the whole delay from a dead stop with hobbywing esc's. From what I understand, it's something built-in to the esc's to prevent damaging drive train? I have a 150a xerun esc that does it and also have a HW clone 120a hobbyking x-car esc that does the same thing.

I'm wondering if there is any way to get rid of it? It doesn't matter much with the 150a because it's in my 1/8th ebuggy and it's barely noticeable. But with the 120a in my 2wd sct, it's a real PITA.

The thing that confuses me is that I have another clone esc. It's the 120a brushless hobbies lt4. I actually have two of those and they both run the same HW software. I can use the same HW 2-in-1 program box for the HW, HK, and BHR esc's. I can also program them all with the BHR USB chord and they all appear to have identical settings. The BHR esc's are the only ones that don't have the delay. I'm wondering what the difference is and if/how I can eliminate the delay with my HW and KK esc's.
harry697 is offline  
Old 10-04-2015, 06:47 AM
  #9927  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (30)
 
advpball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Juststock esc fried it by plugging in backwards!!! just touched it..
worth sending in?
advpball is offline  
Old 10-04-2015, 12:04 PM
  #9928  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Amarillo, Tx
Posts: 46
Default

How do u change the bearing in the xerun 4068 2250kv motor? I can't for the life of me get the end plates off
Farmboy24 is offline  
Old 10-08-2015, 02:41 PM
  #9929  
Tech Rookie
 
oldskoolxx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Middle of hell
Posts: 5
Default Cannot calibrate quicrun 150a, brand new

I just got a quicrun 150a esc yesterday and got it installed and went to calibrate transmitter to esc and nothin. When I press little button and release as I should, it sometimes does nothing and other times it just has a continuous beep. It has known working rx, tx, servo,battery, and motor. I also have put a different switch incase that was the issue and also have rebound rx to tx. What is the problem with my esc?
oldskoolxx4 is offline  
Old 10-08-2015, 02:50 PM
  #9930  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
the incubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,053
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

OMG my apologies gentlemen!

I forgot to report back to all of you whom offered help and advice. I did as you guys instructed and turned off all the LVC settings and the car was money and never once glitched on me again.

THANK YOU!
the incubus is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.