Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree191Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 09-18-2015, 07:26 AM
  #9871  
RBX
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Hello

I just got my QuicRun 60A 1060 brushed ESC and i can't get it to complete its initial setup.

I get a short beep and the RED led keeps blinking but i never get a long beep and a solid light.

Motor is plugged in.

My throttle trim is set at "0" and everthing else at 100%.(ABS is off)

My brakes are set at 100

Im using a KO-PROPO EX-1UR 27MHX FM radio.

Any help would be greatly welcomed!
RBX is offline  
Old 09-18-2015, 10:36 AM
  #9872  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RBX
Hello

I just got my QuicRun 60A 1060 brushed ESC and i can't get it to complete its initial setup.

I get a short beep and the RED led keeps blinking but i never get a long beep and a solid light.

Motor is plugged in.

My throttle trim is set at "0" and everthing else at 100%.(ABS is off)

My brakes are set at 100

Im using a KO-PROPO EX-1UR 27MHX FM radio.

Any help would be greatly welcomed!
Does it say in the instructions to reverse your throttle?
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 09-18-2015, 11:02 AM
  #9873  
RBX
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Does it say in the instructions to reverse your throttle?
This waht my radio manual says:
"If the movement direction of servo or ESC is reverse, set the movement direction of throttle to reverse (REVE). When using ESC for an electric-powered car, if the ESC can recognize automatically the movement direction under the standard setting, the reverse setting is not required on the transmitter."

Hobbywing Manuals says:
To set reverse only for Futaba Radio

But i tried both REV and Norm and still doesnt complete setup!
RBX is offline  
Old 09-18-2015, 01:56 PM
  #9874  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 654
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I just wired up an xr8. Trying to do setup on it. I plugged lcd box into computer and updated the software. Then plugged into the xr8 and it says update software on the computer and the box. But on the computer the option to update is greyed out not selectable. Also I can change settings on the setup page but cannot select send to esc.
Am I missing something?
one8updragracer is offline  
Old 09-18-2015, 04:31 PM
  #9875  
Tech Initiate
 
wiklund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 42
Default

I have a question about HW program cards.

From what I've understood there is on "LED" program-card but that it is sold with different labels on depending on what esc it's "made" for.

I have one specified to use with quickrun esc's, what label should I use to program my EZRUN 150a PRO esc? I've been looking att ther website but I suppose I'm just to dumb to understand
wiklund is offline  
Old 09-18-2015, 07:32 PM
  #9876  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RBX
This waht my radio manual says:
"If the movement direction of servo or ESC is reverse, set the movement direction of throttle to reverse (REVE). When using ESC for an electric-powered car, if the ESC can recognize automatically the movement direction under the standard setting, the reverse setting is not required on the transmitter."

Hobbywing Manuals says:
To set reverse only for Futaba Radio

But i tried both REV and Norm and still doesnt complete setup!
it could be that you are not getting a signal to the receiver. try switching the servo and throttle plugs in the receiver and see if you can get it to set up with using the steering instead of the trigger. If it sets up then you know you're not getting throttle signal in the throttle channel.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 09-18-2015, 10:43 PM
  #9877  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
the incubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,053
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

OK Gents Settings are as follows…

Running Mode is set to................For/Brake
Reverse Speed...........................25%
LVC (was set to AUTO)................Now changed to 3.4
ESC Overheat............................105°
Motor Overheat.........................105°
PR SW Point..............................50%
1st Punch Rate..........................3
2nd Punch Rate.........................5
Throttle Curve...........................Linear
Neutral Range............................6%
Drag Brake................................3%
Brake Strength..........................75%
Initial Brake..............................=Drag Brake
BR SW Point..............................50%
1st Brake Rate...........................20
2nd Brake Rate..........................20
Brake Curve..............................Linear
Boost Timing.............................
BT Start RPM.............................15,000RPM
BT End RPM...............................25,000RPM
BT Slope...................................Linear
BT By Throttle...........................YES
TURBO TIMING..........................15°
TT Activation.............................Full TH
Full TH Delay.............................0.3 S
TT Start RPM.............................20,000
TT End Slope.............................15°/0.1S
TT DEng Slope...........................24°/0.1S

MOTOR TIMING IS SET TO 30 FROM FACTORY.

Feel free to copy and paste this and suggest anything I need to change. Remember, this is for a 1/10 4WD (SB401).



Thanks in advance.
--
ROB
the incubus is offline  
Old 09-19-2015, 08:55 AM
  #9878  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GreatWhiteNorth
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Incubus...Did you try what I suggested before?...

"As a test, turn all timing and boost off, LVC off, overheat protection off, and run with a fresh charged pack. Make sure your fan is running, and stays running (i.e. run it for a few laps, then check to make sure it continues to run)."

You are running boost and turbo with a 5.5t motor? Start back at the basics and turn that stuff off. Your punch rates are low, raise them up to 15 or so. Set LVC to 3.1 or so

Try these first
brew99 is offline  
Old 09-19-2015, 09:34 AM
  #9879  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by the incubus
OK Gents Settings are as follows…

Running Mode is set to................For/Brake
Reverse Speed...........................25%
LVC (was set to AUTO)................Now changed to 3.4
ESC Overheat............................105°
Motor Overheat.........................105°
PR SW Point..............................50%
1st Punch Rate..........................3
2nd Punch Rate.........................5
Throttle Curve...........................Linear
Neutral Range............................6%
Drag Brake................................3%
Brake Strength..........................75%
Initial Brake..............................=Drag Brake
BR SW Point..............................50%
1st Brake Rate...........................20
2nd Brake Rate..........................20
Brake Curve..............................Linear
Boost Timing.............................
BT Start RPM.............................15,000RPM
BT End RPM...............................25,000RPM
BT Slope...................................Linear
BT By Throttle...........................YES
TURBO TIMING..........................15°
TT Activation.............................Full TH
Full TH Delay.............................0.3 S
TT Start RPM.............................20,000
TT End Slope.............................15°/0.1S
TT DEng Slope...........................24°/0.1S

MOTOR TIMING IS SET TO 30 FROM FACTORY.

Feel free to copy and paste this and suggest anything I need to change. Remember, this is for a 1/10 4WD (SB401).



Thanks in advance.
--
ROB
Turn the boost and turbo off completely. And set to the settings I posted earlier. Or here's the link
http://rcinsider.com/?p=69353
lewis110 is offline  
Old 09-19-2015, 11:20 AM
  #9880  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default v3.1 stock spec

Do i need ti run the fan on my v3.1 stock spec esc for 17.5 stock 1/10 buggy?
Jspires688 is offline  
Old 09-19-2015, 01:12 PM
  #9881  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jspires688
Do i need ti run the fan on my v3.1 stock spec esc for 17.5 stock 1/10 buggy?
No, not with a 17.5...
lewis110 is offline  
Old 09-19-2015, 02:16 PM
  #9882  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
the incubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,053
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by brew99
Incubus...Did you try what I suggested before?...

"As a test, turn all timing and boost off, LVC off, overheat protection off, and run with a fresh charged pack. Make sure your fan is running, and stays running (i.e. run it for a few laps, then check to make sure it continues to run)."

You are running boost and turbo with a 5.5t motor? Start back at the basics and turn that stuff off. Your punch rates are low, raise them up to 15 or so. Set LVC to 3.1 or so

Try these first

Thanks for to help. Turned off all turbo and set things as per that setup page Lewis provided.
Gonna switch to worn tires n give it a good run outside.

As for boost with a 5.5, here in South Florida there are a lot of top drivers and they are super fast. I just told my buddy to set it up how he would for himself. It is hella fast but the cutting out intermittently was costing me precious time, thus forcing me to push harder everywhere else to make up the time. I's now off so I will let you guys know how it turns out.

Hopefully the issue is gone.
the incubus is offline  
Old 09-19-2015, 08:39 PM
  #9883  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I set my BT end rpm to 60, 000 on a 5.5 4wd buggy......
25, 000 is nothing
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 09-20-2015, 04:49 AM
  #9884  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2
Default XERUN XR8 not working in sensored mode

Originally Posted by 91bird
I feel your pain. I sent an email to hobbywing for support and got no reply. Seems support could use improvement....

Im going to try a different mfg.
Same here. Motor runs smooth without sensor cable. With sensor cable it runs very rough, cogs like hell. Tried all possible motor wirings, sensor wirings and timing settings. I suspect there is a bug in the firmware. I am running version XR-4.1.25
Besides you and me, Yodah and boborc also experience the same issue.
I also sent a mail to [email protected] but no response...
I advice other people with the same problem to send a mail to hobbywing and not to use the sensored mode. As running with this commutation problem can destroy your motor.

Does anyone know if it is possible to reset the firmware to factory shipping?

I hope this issue with the XR8 is fixed soon.
peterhoekstra is offline  
Old 09-20-2015, 07:06 PM
  #9885  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
boner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by peterhoekstra
Same here. Motor runs smooth without sensor cable. With sensor cable it runs very rough, cogs like hell. Tried all possible motor wirings, sensor wirings and timing settings. I suspect there is a bug in the firmware. I am running version XR-4.1.25
Besides you and me, Yodah and boborc also experience the same issue.
I also sent a mail to [email protected] but no response...
I advice other people with the same problem to send a mail to hobbywing and not to use the sensored mode. As running with this commutation problem can destroy your motor.

Does anyone know if it is possible to reset the firmware to factory shipping?

I hope this issue with the XR8 is fixed soon.
It's a bad sensor board (motor or esc) causing the cog. Had similar issues until I clean up my sensor board on the motor and cogging issues is gone.
boner is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.