Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 09-10-2012, 04:35 PM
  #961  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Go with the either the v3 or the v2.1, this way you can run boost timing etc if you want to
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 04:39 PM
  #962  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

sct pro is a more rugged built esc but if you go to hobbywings site and click the esc you are comparing you can see the programming options for that esc and if its the 120a V2.1, they look to be same options just have a few more on the sct pro

If this is the esc your talking about and comparing to the sct pro...

120a V2.1
http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=246

SCT Pro
http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=263
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 04:40 PM
  #963  
Tech Master
 
Kevin_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Perry Hall MD, USA
Posts: 1,104
Default

Originally Posted by Blitzrockey
Go with the either the v3 or the v2.1, this way you can run boost timing etc if you want to
thx
Kevin_M is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 04:21 AM
  #964  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 81
Default

I have same problem with esc going into sensorless under full throttle.I am running a tenshock x812 and I dont have option in LCD Box to turn off Heat protection to see if that helps.
Does anyone know how I can access it or if there is another fix to this annoying problem?
Thx
Josh
gurujosh is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 10:09 AM
  #965  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

what esc?
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 11:33 AM
  #966  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Devigili22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default

Hey guys. I have a 150A in my 8T. I'm running 2 (low quality, well used) Turnigy 5000mah 20C 2s batteries in series and have noticed I have been hitting LVC with about 3.5v per cell left. My LVC is set at 3.0. Is it the quality of the batteries causing it to cut out so early?
Devigili22 is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 11:41 AM
  #967  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 81
Default

Its a xeruun 150a
gurujosh is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 11:42 AM
  #968  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by Devigili22
Hey guys. I have a 150A in my 8T. I'm running 2 (low quality, well used) Turnigy 5000mah 20C 2s batteries in series and have noticed I have been hitting LVC with about 3.5v per cell left. My LVC is set at 3.0. Is it the quality of the batteries causing it to cut out so early?
Possibley. If you could borrow some packs from someone else you could find out. If it turns out not to be, I would turn the LVC setting to 2.8 or 2.7 if you have the program box. I have noticed the hobbywing escs seem to cut off sooner than what you set it at. I believe I run mine at the 2nd to lowest setting to get maximum run time.
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 11:53 AM
  #969  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

They hit the lvc when you punch the throttle and it really drains on the battery. The esc picks this up and shuts down. Once the battery stabilize then it will show the 3.5 or so. I wouldn't advise dropping lower then 3.0 per cell. You could actually drain the battery to much.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 11:55 AM
  #970  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,589
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Devigili22
Hey guys. I have a 150A in my 8T. I'm running 2 (low quality, well used) Turnigy 5000mah 20C 2s batteries in series and have noticed I have been hitting LVC with about 3.5v per cell left. My LVC is set at 3.0. Is it the quality of the batteries causing it to cut out so early?
You should really judge it by how the pack feels on the track. If the car is slowing down then the pack is discharged. If you are measuring 3.5v per cell after coming back to the pits, that is pretty close to discharged. Under load the voltage is going to dip into the ~3v range.

I am pretty aggressive with the LVC and my packs seem to rest at around 3.4v - 3.5v when discharged.
kcobra is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 02:05 PM
  #971  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Devigili22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kcobra
You should really judge it by how the pack feels on the track. If the car is slowing down then the pack is discharged. If you are measuring 3.5v per cell after coming back to the pits, that is pretty close to discharged. Under load the voltage is going to dip into the ~3v range.

I am pretty aggressive with the LVC and my packs seem to rest at around 3.4v - 3.5v when discharged.
I understand, but I have my LVC cutoff at 3.0V, and when I can only get 8/9 min of runtime before LVC kicks in and I see that the batteries are still at 3.5 per cell, I get aggravated.
Devigili22 is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 07:02 PM
  #972  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Turn ur lvc off for racing. Is what I usually recommend. Just helps to not have that happen.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 08:20 PM
  #973  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by Blitzrockey
Turn ur lvc off for racing. Is what I usually recommend. Just helps to not have that happen.
exactly. The LVC is just a safety device that was designed for newer drivers when speed controls first came out with them. When you're car starts to slow down, stop immediately. Simple.
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:11 AM
  #974  
Tech Adept
 
Busterlbn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 122
Default

Originally Posted by Busterlbn
Hi guys. I bought Xerun 150A v2.1 w/4068SD motor. I plugged in everything together and it works but:


- After a few seconds throttle's green led lights. When I disconnect sensor from engine, led doesn't light.

- Engine has a delay when you go immediately to full throttle from neutral.


Everybody has something like that or it's my problem?

Anyone?
Busterlbn is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 08:16 AM
  #975  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (46)
 
thekisscutken1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: clayton, nc
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

hey guys i have the xerun 150a in my 1/8th buggy with a castle 2200 motor on 4s. has been working flawlessly since i got it on christmas last year. I'm sure i am out of warranty because of how long ago i got it but was wondering how much it would cost me to have it repaired and where to send it to. Its not giving me any power to the motor and the red light is staying on with throttle on or off. It was an all of a sudden failure where it cogged for a second or two and then just died after giving it full power for a large jump.
thekisscutken1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.