Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree191Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 05-18-2015, 05:37 PM
  #9181  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

looks like a sensor wire issue not the battery as if it was the battery it will be towards the end of your run that it would drop off even though turnegy batterys are not of the best .Remove the sensor and run it like that and let me know if you still have the issue.Also check your rx cable to your receiver might be loose.
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 05-18-2015, 06:17 PM
  #9182  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
R1Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,183
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Makes sense to be the sensor wire actually. At the last race my ESC came loose and the sensor wire got a little squashed. I do have a spare wire I'll plug that in. Thanks for the quick reply.
R1Joel is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 08:28 AM
  #9183  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 112
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default 2 pole motor compatability

Getting prepared for Nationals this year and need some help.

I have an EXRUN SCT Speedo and want to know if there are any issues running a 2-pole motor with it? In particular the Thunder Power motor 4.0 or 4.5.


Comment: It's a real shame the HW motors are not ROAR approved. I had to run a Tekin this past weekend and it caused the ESC to thermal. Really not happy about that. Any thoughts on making something ROAR legal for me?
Victory is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 08:47 AM
  #9184  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Victory
Getting prepared for Nationals this year and need some help.

I have an EXRUN SCT Speedo and want to know if there are any issues running a 2-pole motor with it? In particular the Thunder Power motor 4.0 or 4.5.


Comment: It's a real shame the HW motors are not ROAR approved. I had to run a Tekin this past weekend and it caused the ESC to thermal. Really not happy about that. Any thoughts on making something ROAR legal for me?
You should be able to run that motor with no issues. Download the latest update for the sctpro speedo, it is very good. It runs cooler with better run times.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 08:57 AM
  #9185  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 112
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
You should be able to run that motor with no issues. Download the latest update for the sctpro speedo, it is very good. It runs cooler with better run times.
Will it run the Tekin cooler as well?

I will give it a try today. Can't remember do I need a special cord to do this?


Ok I figured everything out. Updated the LCD Box and two speedos. The old firmware was really old so I'm very excited to see how it works now.

Last edited by Victory; 05-19-2015 at 10:04 AM. Reason: Update
Victory is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 10:27 AM
  #9186  
Tech Master
iTrader: (62)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,388
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Default

Can you use a speed passion reventon pro program box with sct pro
wileycat is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 11:13 AM
  #9187  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I've tried searching and wading through the thread, but I haven't been able to find a problem like mine. Let me start this off by saying sorry for the long post...

A little history first. I had been running a SCT410 with a 1st gen RX8, Pro4HD 4300, Savox 1258TG, and SMC 2S 7200 60c and 70c batteries with no problems. Great power, did everything I wanted it to do. One day, after a long practice session, the RX8 refused to initialize. Tested with different motors, esc is dead.

So, I asked around for recommendations. It was suggested to get another RX8 or try the SCT Pro. With the difference in price, even sending it in to Tekin for a replacement, I decided to give the SCT Pro a try. I got the new esc in a few days and got it wired in. Initially, everything seemed good and I'm diggin the LCD programmer over the Hotwire. I'd like to have roll control, but I can live without. Same motor/batteries/servo as before with the new esc. Settings at zero timing, punch at 7, 50% brakes, LVC 3.0V, no drag brake, overheat protection enabled.

First race day after installing, practice is fine. The truck has good power and, wow, the brakes are strong. I get the brakes turned down to where they feel good and we're ready to rock. I'm in my first heat, about 3 minutes in, and the motor just goes dead. I still have steering, but nothing else. After a few seconds, it springs back to life, only to do it again less than 30 seconds later. The entire day was like that, with the truck just dying at random times through the run. Every time I still had steering but no power for several seconds. I tried changing the LVC to 2.8, 2.6, and disabling it with no change. I also disabled the overheat protection and still had the same problem.

I have since swapped out the servo for a Hitec 7955TG and bypassed the esc's bec, thinking it was a brownout issue. Still no change. Swapped the sensor cable with a known good one, no luck. I managed to get it close to me when it was happening and I could hear and see the arming sequence on the esc. The ESC was rebooting.

At this point, I was pretty much out of ideas, so for the hell of it, I lowered the punch from 7 to 5. Low and behold, the problem happens much, much less often, but still comes up, usually towards the end of a pack.

My running theory at this point is that the Pro4HD 4300 is just trying to pull more power through the esc than it can handle, causing the esc itself to brown out and reset. Is this theory sound? Would adding a bank of caps to the power side of the esc fix this? Is there anything else I can do?

I'm frustrated that I can't get this new esc to run as well as my who-knows-how-old RX8.

Last edited by shearpin; 05-19-2015 at 03:33 PM.
shearpin is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 03:32 PM
  #9188  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

Originally Posted by Victory
Getting prepared for Nationals this year and need some help.

I have an EXRUN SCT Speedo and want to know if there are any issues running a 2-pole motor with it? In particular the Thunder Power motor 4.0 or 4.5.


Comment: It's a real shame the HW motors are not ROAR approved. I had to run a Tekin this past weekend and it caused the ESC to thermal. Really not happy about that. Any thoughts on making something ROAR legal for me?
The motors are roar approved its that roar is slack that they have two lists one forum and one pdf the hw are listed on forum
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 04:30 PM
  #9189  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Tom-sct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Middletown,CT.
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default new to Hobbywing

Hello guys.
Just picked up the SCT pro esc with the 3400kv motor.
I also have the programming box.

2 problem I am having.
1. When I connect the programming box to my esc lead at the receiver.
I press the OK button and it says 'connecting to esc' but never connects.

2. I can't open up the download software for my pc.
don't know what else to try.

Has any one else encountered any of these problems?
Any help would be appreciated.

Tom
Tom-sct is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 04:34 PM
  #9190  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

Originally Posted by Tom-sct
Hello guys.
Just picked up the SCT pro esc with the 3400kv motor.
I also have the programming box.

2 problem I am having.
1. When I connect the programming box to my esc lead at the receiver.
I press the OK button and it says 'connecting to esc' but never connects.

2. I can't open up the download software for my pc.
don't know what else to try.

Has any one else encountered any of these problems?
Any help would be appreciated.

Tom
the programming port is the fan port of esc not the reciever rx port .
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 06:31 PM
  #9191  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Tom-sct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Middletown,CT.
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tom-sct
Hello guys.
Just picked up the SCT pro esc with the 3400kv motor.
I also have the programming box.

2 problem I am having.
1. When I connect the programming box to my esc lead at the receiver.
I press the OK button and it says 'connecting to esc' but never connects.

2. I can't open up the download software for my pc.
don't know what else to try.

Has any one else encountered any of these problems?
Any help would be appreciated.

Tom


So I made some head way.
I was able to download the software to my pc.
I did the upgrade to the programming box.
But still no connection to the esc and the programming box.
Here is how I hook it up.
I remove the fan wire.
plug in the red black white lead into the fan port.(correct polarity )
Connect the lead to the esc port on the programming box.
Turn on the radio, connect the lipo, power up the esc.
press connect to esc, then nothing..
Can't figure it out.
Tom-sct is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 07:09 PM
  #9192  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: SE, FL
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default connection

i left the radio off and my esc connected right away the second time.. try it
CaptCarnage is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 07:27 PM
  #9193  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Tom-sct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Middletown,CT.
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CaptCarnage
i left the radio off and my esc connected right away the second time.. try it

Thank you CaptCarnage.
It worked perfectly. I was able to set and adjust all settings.
When I was finished I hit save settings, o.k.
That's all, nothing else to do to save it?

Thanks again.
Tom-sct is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 07:36 PM
  #9194  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 30
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I just installed a hobbywing v3.1 stock spec esc with a V10 8.5t motor and would like to know what setting will give me the most speed down long straight always. I've played with a few settings but still not entirely sure. Thanks.
neverfixed is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 10:28 PM
  #9195  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Fresno, ca.
Posts: 102
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have the SCT pro combo with the 4700kv motor. I just updated the software of the program box and the esc to the latest. Now I can no longer connect the program box to the esc fan port if the esc is plugged into my spektrum receiver. I had zero problems before the software update. I reverted the esc software to old and the program box now works with the esc plugged into the receiver. (The transmitter is off.)
Everybody79x is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.