Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree198Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 04-06-2015, 12:06 PM
  #9001  
Tech Apprentice
 
Dirtburner2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Kamloops B.C, Canada
Posts: 58
Default

Originally Posted by Dirtburner2.0
Hey thanks for the quick reply pete. I turned auto calculate off, set the lvc to none just to see if that was the problem. Tried a different reciever. but the problem still persists. No beeps when I plug the batteries in but I get the green light. Then solid red when I push forward or reverse and no motor response but I get servo movement. Am I just missing something simple here?
Originally Posted by Dirtburner2.0
Hey guys I have a 150a ezrun problem. went from a single 4cell lipo to two 2 cell lipos, also a new radio. Rebinded the Radio, recalibrated esc, but now I only have steering no motor response. neutral has no light, but reverse and forward both have solid red. Also I get no beeps when I turn esc on. Any ideas guys? Have a race coming up and im really stressed out here. Thanks again.
I tried unplugging the sensor wire and it wont switch to sensorless mode. tried kick starting it, still nothing. Only thing I havnt tried is flashing the esc with new firmware. Could this work? Any suggestions or should I just RMA it?
Dirtburner2.0 is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 01:00 PM
  #9002  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
BryanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FastPete
What it needs to be at. You could go 2.8 need be.

Alright, I turned auto detect off and manually selected 2s. I changed the cutoff voltage to 2.8. I will test soon and let you know if I still have the problem.
Thanks for the reply!
BryanAZ is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 02:28 PM
  #9003  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 105
Default

Originally Posted by ScumCity1
Any ideas? Please help.
ScumCity1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 03:11 PM
  #9004  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
BryanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ScumCity1
Any ideas? Please help.
Your radio isn't bound, or that is what it looks like to me. Try rebinding the radio, then re-calibrating your radio to the esc and see if that doesn't fix it.
BryanAZ is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 03:41 PM
  #9005  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (33)
 
suzukipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 918
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Hooking it up reversed could have blown something, go here>http://www.falconsekido.com/pages/rma
and start an RMA Process....................
The esc/motor was used and came with the truck so I don't have a receipt or proof of purchase. I'm not sure it would be worth the cost of repair & shipping to make it worth while to send it in to be fixed. I was hoping someone might throw a hail mary my way and have me somehow reset the esc and it would work...
suzukipro is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 04:02 PM
  #9006  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (30)
 
advpball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by suzukipro
The esc/motor was used and came with the truck so I don't have a receipt or proof of purchase. I'm not sure it would be worth the cost of repair & shipping to make it worth while to send it in to be fixed. I was hoping someone might throw a hail mary my way and have me somehow reset the esc and it would work...
you can try sending in i had stock spec out of warranty they sent me new one in place no charge!!! good luck
advpball is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 04:11 PM
  #9007  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (33)
 
suzukipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 918
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by advpball
you can try sending in i had stock spec out of warranty they sent me new one in place no charge!!! good luck
Maybe I'll contact them and see if they would look at it and if they deemed it faulty could send me a replacement/repair it for free. If they needed to charge for repairs or replacement I'd prefer they just toss it?
suzukipro is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 04:50 PM
  #9008  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 105
Default

Originally Posted by BryanAZ
Your radio isn't bound, or that is what it looks like to me. Try rebinding the radio, then re-calibrating your radio to the esc and see if that doesn't fix it.
I've got no power to my cooling fan and no power to the receiver either no orange light inside it's like power is going into the esc but not out.
ScumCity1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 04:52 PM
  #9009  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
BryanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BryanAZ
Alright, I turned auto detect off and manually selected 2s. I changed the cutoff voltage to 2.8. I will test soon and let you know if I still have the problem.
Thanks for the reply!
Alright, so I just tested it after the changes were made and it does the same thing. After a hard landing, the lipo cutoff kicked in. Turned it off, then on and it ran fine for another 5 minutes until it did it again. Thought maybe the batter was indeed low, but put it on the charger and it was at 7.4 volts. Good thing I have a tekin RSX coming in the mail!!!
BryanAZ is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 06:52 PM
  #9010  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BryanAZ
Your radio isn't bound, or that is what it looks like to me. Try rebinding the radio, then re-calibrating your radio to the esc and see if that doesn't fix it.
Could even be a bad receiver
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 07:37 PM
  #9011  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 105
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Could even be a bad receiver
I've got a new radio and receiver on the way, I'll wait to try that out, but I'm more concerned about the esc I've tried 2 receivers and am getting no power to them, the only indication I have power at all to the esc is the blinking led and that it starts to get warm fairly quickly. The cooled fan doesn't run either, I feel like power is going in but not coming out anywhere, I'm going to hook it up to a volt meter tomorrow and see.
ScumCity1 is offline  
Old 04-07-2015, 06:57 AM
  #9012  
Tech Initiate
 
n2mini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 41
Default

Think I have an ECS problem as well. Bought used Slash Ultimate w/2s Lipo. Runs fine for a few minutes then just stops, but servo still works. Triad charging battery, and same thing. Thought I may have a bad battery as it was used with the truck. Bought new 3s battery ( figured if I was buying might as well go big ) blistering fast for a few minutes but it does the same thing. Just quits running, servo works, now it won't even let me turn the ECS off using it's switch, have to disconnect the battery.. Read over the manual but it doesn't tell me how to change the LVD, only how to turn it on or off. Not sure if that is even my problem at this point.. Stock motor and ECS, both with optional fans. Surely with a 5000 30c 3s Lipo it should run more then 5 minutes correct? and then it doesn't go into slow mode to get it to you it just stops where ever it's at..

Last edited by n2mini; 04-07-2015 at 07:25 AM.
n2mini is offline  
Old 04-07-2015, 07:56 AM
  #9013  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NoVa
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
on another note..... Hobbywing North America is sponsoring a race at my local track. We feel very fortunate to have them do this at my home track.
Thanks for the info

Does Mimi sell much Hobbywing stuff, are they popular with other racers at The Track.

I am going to buy a HobbyWing ESC soon, if Mimi has them I will buy from her and support a local business
tekin112000 is offline  
Old 04-07-2015, 12:44 PM
  #9014  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yes she carries Hobbywing,most things needed are in stock.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 12:26 PM
  #9015  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
losicorey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Esc problem

I've loved my hobbywing stuff up until the other day. I've got the super stock esc in my 22sct with an 8.5 and it has worked flawlessly until last night at the races. I can make about 1-2 laps and then the truck goes to half power for about 10 feet and then completely quits until I restart the esc. I have no timing and the punch is turned down. I've tried putting a glitch buster on it to no avail. Any suggestions?
losicorey is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.