Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 10-21-2014, 04:40 AM
  #7951  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TahoeDust
I have heard that HW ESCs are known to hit LVC a little prematurely. I have my Xerun 150a on the default setting (3.5v?). When I got home I put a multimeter on it and got 14.44v on my 4s pack...3.61v per cell. What can I safely run the cell down to?

My questions are: What can I safely run the cell down to? What voltage cutoff setting are you guys running?
I set all my HW speed controls to 3.0 but you can try 3.2V.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 10-21-2014, 02:20 PM
  #7952  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quick question guys. Can I purchase a new Justock speed control without the program card? Would the speed control still function normally out of the box?

Thanks.

Last edited by Buggy Convert; 10-21-2014 at 04:55 PM.
Buggy Convert is offline  
Old 10-21-2014, 04:41 PM
  #7953  
Tech Apprentice
 
Ho1aw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 97
Default

[QUOTE=FastPete;13601894]+1 no way, thought he was looking for someone to fix it. Probably better off just getting a new one.[/QUOTEthen need a new one.
Ho1aw is offline  
Old 10-21-2014, 08:49 PM
  #7954  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Scojax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Buggy Convert
Quick question guys. Can I purchase a new Justock speed control without the program card? Would the speed control still function normally out of the box?

Thanks.
I bought a Justock last month. No program card. It works just fine and I can program it without the card.
Scojax is offline  
Old 10-21-2014, 09:18 PM
  #7955  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sutter, California
Posts: 1,269
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

I've got a question for those in the know. I'm running a trinity d4 17.5 with a high Torque rotor. The class I run is all 17.5 but you can run blinky or a boosted speedo. I seem to have quite a bit less top end than the rest. I'm geared 28/76 with 50 degrees of motor timing in a stadium truck. Would I get better performance running boost and turbo on the v3.1 speedo as supposed to just motor timing?
dpcardoza is offline  
Old 10-22-2014, 03:12 AM
  #7956  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yes you would get better performance boosted and timed, just watch temps.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 10-22-2014, 03:16 AM
  #7957  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sutter, California
Posts: 1,269
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Yes you would get better performance boosted and timed, just watch temps.
Paul
So drop the motor timing to say 20 and then add some boost and turbo to the esc?
dpcardoza is offline  
Old 10-22-2014, 10:44 PM
  #7958  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
MOmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've been using the older 120a V2.1, Black and is currently in Blinky Mode.

I was playing around with with my program box. I was prompted for the update, but it appears its for the v3 versions.

My question is, I Have only 2 software versions showing, and I thought there were others.

-Software
-V1.08_120504
-V1.11_120331_V3

I just plan to keep this one in Blinky. Is there a link for the various Software versions that are available, Current and Past? What is the current version for the V2.1? Hardware version for the Box?

I only have the 2 options.


MOmo
MOmo is offline  
Old 10-23-2014, 12:21 AM
  #7959  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Default

Hi, I am running b44.2 with HW 6.5 T xerun and v3 esc on a high bite indoor track. Can you please give me recommendation on a good esc setting starting point? My motor tempature after a practice run is around 130. Right now I'm just running the out of box setting. Not sure if there's a better setting that you may recommend.

Thanks!

Gary
loosenut is offline  
Old 10-23-2014, 04:55 AM
  #7960  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dpcardoza
So drop the motor timing to say 20 and then add some boost and turbo to the esc?
Yes...the lower timing will give you more torque on the bottom end and your boost will give you top end.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 10-23-2014, 10:06 AM
  #7961  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by loosenut
Hi, I am running b44.2 with HW 6.5 T xerun and v3 esc on a high bite indoor track. Can you please give me recommendation on a good esc setting starting point? My motor tempature after a practice run is around 130. Right now I'm just running the out of box setting. Not sure if there's a better setting that you may recommend.

Thanks!

Gary
Hi Gary,

Im getting ready to do the same thing, same esc and motor, just a DEX410. Im going to start in blinky, 0 timing, boost, and turbo in the esc. Set the motor at 25-30 on the bell and try it. Start simple and go from there. Then I will try some boost maybe but most don't from what im told.

Pete
FastPete is offline  
Old 10-23-2014, 02:40 PM
  #7962  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Default

I think I'm about to loose my mind. I recently bought a Quicrun 08 150a from my 1/8th Monster Truck after the factory HW 80a WP went up in flames. No matter what batteries I use or settings I set on the ESC the truck will hit LVC within 20 seconds of running(or at least I think so based on behavior and the flashing red led).

I have tried my existing 20month old 50c batteries, a brand new set of 50c batteries as well as brand new 80c Track power batteries. The truck is a CEN Colossus and came with a 2000kv HW motor.

I have discovered that the level 9 programming (motor timing) only has 4 options and not the 8 described in the manual. I'm starting to wonder if any of the settings are what they are supposed to be according to the documents.

Does anyone have some insight?
pfitchie is offline  
Old 10-23-2014, 02:49 PM
  #7963  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sutter, California
Posts: 1,269
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the lvc is set at 3 or 3.2 on the speedo. That's all I got.
dpcardoza is offline  
Old 10-23-2014, 02:54 PM
  #7964  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by dpcardoza
Make sure the lvc is set at 3 or 3.2 on the speedo. That's all I got.
Thanks, I've tried even lower with fresh batteries and same problem.
pfitchie is offline  
Old 10-23-2014, 03:00 PM
  #7965  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (51)
 
Precision1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southern Colorado
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default V3.1 cooling fan??

Hey Folks,

I've got 5 HW ESCs (Xerun 150, SCT-Pro, V3.1). They are great and I have had no problems with them.

I am looking to get another V3.1 and want to run it on 4s for a 1/8 buggy project (I currently have a V3.1 running 2S).

I am confused on the fan situation.
SCT-Pro has identical specs (6V/3A BEC), and uses 5V fan. I run 2 SCT-Pros on 4S right now with zero problems.
HW says you must use 12v fan for V3.1 on 4S.

From HW site:

Please choose different cooling fans in different applications.
For 4-6 cells NiMH or 2S Lipo: Needn't change the 5V cooling fan on the ESC;
For 7-9 cells NiMH or 3S Lipo: Please choose a 12V cooling fan or supply the 5V fan from the receiver (+6V);
For 10-12 cells NiMH or 4S Lipo: Please choose a 12V cooling fan, and cut the output of the built-in BEC, then supply the receiver with an UBEC (An additional external DC-DC regulator)Please choose different cooling fans in different applications.


1) Do I really need the 12v fan?


2) Why the UBEC? I run 4S in 1/8 buggy with the SCT-Pro without UBEC.

Someone help me out please, tell me what to buy!
Precision1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.