Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 08-24-2014, 06:13 PM
  #7501  
Tech Initiate
 
SkiRideDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: North SD County, CA
Posts: 33
Default New B5M Pics + Hobbywing ESC Question

Got the car together! My first electric.

I do have an esc question for whomever is willing to read my story. Thanks in advance.

Whenever I go from neutral (no throttle) to full throttle there is a delay before the motor will provide full power. It is as if the esc only feeds the motor 1/3 of the current specified by full throttle for about a second and then it will give full throttle. I can sort of drive around the problem by always rolling into the throttle slowly, but there are many situations on the track where this is not ideal. I would really like to have the full power of the motor off the bottom end, especially since I plan on running the stock class. I have provided all my setup and settings below, please let me know if you have any thoughts. Motor and ESC temps were fine. The diff is not slipping. The slipper was tightened all the way down.

Hobbywing Xtreme ESC
Schuur Speed 17.5
Airtronics MT4S Radio

ESC Settings:
Firmware V3_508_No_Timing
Forward with brake
10% Drage brake force
3.4 Volt cutoff
Punch level 9
Max Brake 87.5%
Max reverse 100%
Nuetral Narrow
Overheat disabled

Any thoughts? Thanks!

Edit: I am running the Promatch 2s 4800 mah 90c Hard Case "Shorty" Lipo Pack batteries.
Attached Thumbnails HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD-20140824_091400.jpg   HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD-fb_img_1408914386660.jpg  
SkiRideDrive is offline  
Old 08-24-2014, 06:39 PM
  #7502  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SkiRideDrive
Got the car together! My first electric.

I do have an esc question for whomever is willing to read my story. Thanks in advance.

Whenever I go from neutral (no throttle) to full throttle there is a delay before the motor will provide full power. It is as if the esc only feeds the motor 1/3 of the current specified by full throttle for about a second and then it will give full throttle. I can sort of drive around the problem by always rolling into the throttle slowly, but there are many situations on the track where this is not ideal. I would really like to have the full power of the motor off the bottom end, especially since I plan on running the stock class. I have provided all my setup and settings below, please let me know if you have any thoughts. Motor and ESC temps were fine. The diff is not slipping. The slipper was tightened all the way down.

Hobbywing Xtreme ESC
Schuur Speed 17.5
Airtronics MT4S Radio

ESC Settings:
Firmware V3_508_No_Timing
Forward with brake
10% Drage brake force
3.4 Volt cutoff
Punch level 9
Max Brake 87.5%
Max reverse 100%
Nuetral Narrow
Overheat disabled

Any thoughts? Thanks!

Edit: I am running the Promatch 2s 4800 mah 90c Hard Case "Shorty" Lipo Pack batteries.
Set the voltage cut off to 3.0
Set the punch to3 or 4
Turn the timing on the motor down a bit if the first 2 adjustments dont help.......
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-24-2014, 06:55 PM
  #7503  
Tech Master
iTrader: (111)
 
Crowbo74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 1,312
Trader Rating: 111 (100%+)
Default Bec

Originally Posted by COBRARACING
please put a meter on the rx cable bec etc and measure the voltage it should read no less than 5.5-6v if it doesnt you have a bec issue .
I have 6v on the middle wire and 5v on the outside wire. I tested another. ESC and I have 6v on the middle wire and no voltage on the outside. Why would this differ? Any chance it would break down under load?

Last edited by Crowbo74; 08-24-2014 at 09:55 PM.
Crowbo74 is offline  
Old 08-24-2014, 07:39 PM
  #7504  
Tech Initiate
 
SkiRideDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: North SD County, CA
Posts: 33
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Set the voltage cut off to 3.0
Set the punch to3 or 4
Turn the timing on the motor down a bit if the first 2 adjustments dont help.......
Paul
Well I feel like an idiot. Did one last run through on wiring and figured id try disconnecting and connecting sensor cable one more time. It works perfectly now. Wish I figured that out earlier in the day. Guess I didn't push it in hard enough. Thanks for your help!
SkiRideDrive is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 06:46 AM
  #7505  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SkiRideDrive
Well I feel like an idiot. Did one last run through on wiring and figured id try disconnecting and connecting sensor cable one more time. It works perfectly now. Wish I figured that out earlier in the day. Guess I didn't push it in hard enough. Thanks for your help!
Thats great to hear, that might have been my next suggestion.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 07:32 AM
  #7506  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sutter, California
Posts: 1,269
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

I'm running the 150amp xerun esc and soldered in an external bec. The guy at the hobby shop told me that I should then disconnect the bec wire going from the esc to the receiver. Anybody know if this is possible and
which wire powers the bec?
dpcardoza is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 09:59 AM
  #7507  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dpcardoza
I'm running the 150amp xerun esc and soldered in an external bec. The guy at the hobby shop told me that I should then disconnect the bec wire going from the esc to the receiver. Anybody know if this is possible and
which wire powers the bec?
That would be the RED wire from the speed control (receiver wire), pull the tab back that holds the red wire into the connector and slip it out. Next time try the No Brainer BEC, you can leave the wire connected and they have adjustable voltage for high voltage servos.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 10:02 AM
  #7508  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 840
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

How are the guys running the Exteme stock ESC liking it in blinky 17.5? Also which program box are you using
kerby is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 03:15 PM
  #7509  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Tanis103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I run the Exteme in my blinky 17.5 TC but the spec say you can run down to a 8.5t onroad and a 11.5t offroad. Now I do run a fan on my Exteme in my TC because of the loads from 4wd. I really like the Exteme, it's a great little ESC. Here is the program box I use and it's great. http://www.falconsekido.com/products/lcd-program

Thanks
Ed
Tanis103 is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 04:48 PM
  #7510  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
13Maschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried the SkyRC bluetooth moduel with the Xerun 3.1?

http://www.skyrc.com/index.php?route...product_id=171

I think I've read in a couple of spots it works....I picked one up to try. Seems with the bluetooth module I could get real time monitoring of temp on my phone as well as a couple of other parameters.
13Maschine is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 05:42 PM
  #7511  
Tech Master
iTrader: (111)
 
Crowbo74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 1,312
Trader Rating: 111 (100%+)
Default Any help

I have 6v on the middle wire and 5v on the outside wire. I tested another. ESC and I have 6v on the middle wire and no voltage on the outside. Why would this differ? Any chance it would break down under load?
Crowbo74 is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 05:49 PM
  #7512  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

Originally Posted by 13Maschine
Has anyone tried the SkyRC bluetooth moduel with the Xerun 3.1?

http://www.skyrc.com/index.php?route...product_id=171

I think I've read in a couple of spots it works....I picked one up to try. Seems with the bluetooth module I could get real time monitoring of temp on my phone as well as a couple of other parameters.
no it doesnt work.
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 05:50 PM
  #7513  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

Originally Posted by Crowbo74
I have 6v on the middle wire and 5v on the outside wire. I tested another. ESC and I have 6v on the middle wire and no voltage on the outside. Why would this differ? Any chance it would break down under load?
you have something dragging the bec down either a fan ,reciever or servo

have you tried to run it with no fan ?
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 08:34 PM
  #7514  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have purchased a SCT Pro and installed it in the truck with a new LRP 4.5T motor. When I pull full throttle, the wheels spin up to a max RPM. If I let off the trigger for a second, then pull full throttle again, the wheels spin up to a higher RPM. If I release it again for second(as if it is coasting, wheels not coming to a stop) then pull the throttle yet again, it gains even more RPM, to a level that feels like it is the correct full RPM for the 4.5T motor.

I have gone through the settings, boost on/off, timing up/down, and cannot seem to figure out this issue. Thoughts?
SirSpeedy is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 08:49 PM
  #7515  
Tech Master
iTrader: (111)
 
Crowbo74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 1,312
Trader Rating: 111 (100%+)
Default Bec

I have changed the servo, disconnected all fans, the only thing I didn't change was the reciever. Help me understand, if something were dragging down the bec would it completely turn it off and disable it until I power down the esc and restart? I've had glitching issues in the past with other brands that required a glitch buster, typically it would "brown" out momentarily but restart on its own. This shuts off and never restarts until I power down and then back up.
Crowbo74 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.