Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 07-27-2012, 12:01 PM
  #736  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

If anyone can answer how does punch actually work?
BlackStarRacing is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 12:37 PM
  #737  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Punch is the initial hit when you first get on the throttle. Lower number, the easier it is to control. I run the setting at 4 indoors and 6 outdoors. SCT pro with the 4000kv sensored motor.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 01:23 PM
  #738  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
Punch is the initial hit when you first get on the throttle. Lower number, the easier it is to control. I run the setting at 4 indoors and 6 outdoors. SCT pro with the 4000kv sensored motor.
perfect... thanks for the reply!!!
BlackStarRacing is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 02:14 PM
  #739  
Tech Initiate
 
lford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 42
Default

I have an SCT pro, I purchased used, everything works great. Just wondering if the fan is supposed to run always or just when a certain temp has been reached. The fan has never come on, yes it is plugged in, but the speedo has never been hot, just warm to the touch. I am running it w/ a Tenshock sct411 4600kv end point is set about 90%. The motor has never gotten more than warm to the touch either. This is at 6 to 8 mins of race pace practice. Trying!?
lford is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 02:26 PM
  #740  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

As far as I know my fan on mine always runs, it may vary in speed but it always runs. To check if its the fan or the connection to the fan plug in your program card into that same outlet and see if it works, If it doesnt work then there may besomething wrong with that plug.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 03:35 PM
  #741  
Tech Initiate
 
lford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 42
Default

ESC accepts programing from lcd box just fine, so must be fan.
lford is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 06:15 PM
  #742  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Dumb question, but just make sure the fan is plugged in the right way. Metal tabs you can see go towards the esc
lewis110 is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 07:21 PM
  #743  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I have had dead fans right out of the box as well, try another fan if you have also and see if that works?
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 09:22 PM
  #744  
Tech Initiate
 
lford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Appears to be plugged in right, but will check it out futher tomorrow. Ran it tonight 4 mock 6 min practice heats w/ only warm to the touch temps. Temp gun is on the way.
lford is offline  
Old 07-28-2012, 10:37 AM
  #745  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (110)
 
elex300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,458
Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone tell me where I can pick up Xerun 120 esc cases only?
elex300 is offline  
Old 07-29-2012, 06:57 AM
  #746  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
SureShotImages's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 350
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

would the xerun m7a combo be a nice choice for 1/8 buggy? It seems like a perfect fit and I am jus making sure. Thanks guys!
SureShotImages is offline  
Old 07-29-2012, 07:20 AM
  #747  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 283
Default

Originally Posted by SureShotImages
would the xerun m7a combo be a nice choice for 1/8 buggy? It seems like a perfect fit and I am jus making sure. Thanks guys!
Looks perfect
kaan is offline  
Old 07-29-2012, 01:23 PM
  #748  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Devigili22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default

Problem here guys. I was doing some practice runs and about 5 min into one run I felt reduced power for a split second then full. Happened maybe 3 or 4 more times during one run. Took the truck off, switched out tires and batts, went to go again, and I'm getting very very reduced power, and when at full power, a pulse like sound coming from the motor. I tried a different ESC and confirmed the motor isn't the culprit. I just got this ESC about a week ago. It is a Xerun 150A in a Losi 8ight 2.0 Truggy running a Tekin 2250Kv motor. Same issues occur with the sensor cable plugged or unplugged.
Devigili22 is offline  
Old 07-29-2012, 02:17 PM
  #749  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 372
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What size battery are you using? I've heard that the 150a has trouble with batteries smaller than 3s even though it's rated for 2s. If you have a 4s I would try that first as that's what the ESC was designed to run with (4s-6s).

*Disclaimer*
I don't own a 150a, just a 120a and a 60a. This info is just a accumulation of what I've heard about the 150a.
Racer X8000 is offline  
Old 07-29-2012, 02:34 PM
  #750  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Devigili22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Racer X8000
What size battery are you using? I've heard that the 150a has trouble with batteries smaller than 3s even though it's rated for 2s. If you have a 4s I would try that first as that's what the ESC was designed to run with (4s-6s).

*Disclaimer*
I don't own a 150a, just a 120a and a 60a. This info is just a accumulation of what I've heard about the 150a.
It was 2 fully charged 2s' run in series. So 4s.
Devigili22 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.