Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree191Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 08-04-2014, 07:45 PM
  #7351  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bartman42
Need some help.. Xerun 90A ESC. Turn power on and motor has continous beep and motor just stutters. New motor same results. Unplugged servo and transponder, same results. It was running fine down the back stretch and it was like I slammed on the brakes and hasnt worked since. Any advise??
1st make sure the motor spins freely and there is no debris locking up your drive train.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 08:00 PM
  #7352  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
1st make sure the motor spins freely and there is no debris locking up your drive train.
When i tried a new motor, pinion wasnt installed
Bartman42 is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 09:26 PM
  #7353  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bartman42
When i tried a new motor, pinion wasnt installed
Sounds like it may be time for a repair go here》http://www.falconsekido.com/pages/rma and download an RMA fill it out and ship it off.

One thing you can try is to update the speedo and try it again before you take it out and my create a new model on your radio just to make sure.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 05:23 AM
  #7354  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Sounds like it may be time for a repair go here》http://www.falconsekido.com/pages/rma and download an RMA fill it out and ship it off.

One thing you can try is to update the speedo and try it again before you take it out and my create a new model on your radio just to make sure.
Paul
I'll give the update a try. I've installed a new xerun esc and everything works fine. The esc in question, definitely has issues... Thanks for your help
Bartman42 is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 08:36 AM
  #7355  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Vinny Cancilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vinny Cancilla
I have a brand new xerun 150a esc in my 1/8 buggy with a 1900kv motor. When I ran it in the street today, it was running great, but then cogged for a split second and then ran fine again. when I stopped the red and green light were flashing at the same time, indicating that it is in sensor less mode. The motor is new and I changed the sensor wire. What could be wrong? Thanks
Anyone?
Vinny Cancilla is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 10:35 AM
  #7356  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vinny Cancilla
Anyone?
Is the unit still showing both green and red lights after changing the sensor wire? Is this something that only happened 1 time?
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 11:16 AM
  #7357  
mes
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,047
Default

...

Last edited by mes; 08-05-2014 at 11:19 AM. Reason: Information on other topic was found elsewhere
mes is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 01:13 PM
  #7358  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Need some help...

Have the latest programming box with the latest firmware. I updated to USB Link 3.43 and tried to update the firmware of my Stock Spec V3.1 to the latest version which is V3.2_140627_Beta. I received some kind of message about a failure.

Now, when I connect the programmer to the ESC and press a button to enter programming mode, the programmer says "Connecting ESC" forever. The ESC is also unresponsive from transmitter/motor point of view. It seems like the ESC is bricked.

Notes:
- I have disconnected everything except the ESC, programming box, and power (RX is disconnected)
- I have tried to connect the programming box to the PC and the ESC is unresponsive however, USB Link can talk to the programmer.
- I am certain that the connections (polarity) is correct.
- I plugged the programmer into the programming port by the fan

Looks like someone else had the same problem:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/13250886-post11740.html

I contacted Angelo and he told me that I needed to update the firmware (which I obviously cant do) and that his update went fine (which I guess is great). Any advice?

Last edited by Crashaholic; 08-06-2014 at 02:27 PM.
Crashaholic is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 01:59 PM
  #7359  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Blackfoot Idaho.
Posts: 3,463
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
If your program box continues to say connecting and does nothing it usually means that it is not getting a clear neutral signal. If there is no clear neutral signal it can't enter into program mode, so if you unplug it from the receiver you now get a clear neutral signal. The other problem could be that it is plugged in backwards, but I'm assuming it is correct.
Paul
Thanks that worked for me. Unplugged the receiver wire and no problems.
rcgod is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 06:30 PM
  #7360  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Crashaholic
Need some help...

Have the latest programming box with the latest firmware. I updated to USB Link 3.43 and tried to update the firmware of my Stock Spec V3.1 to the latest version which is V3.2_140627_Beta. I received some kind of message about a failure.

Now, when I connect the programmer to the ESC and press a button to enter programming mode, the programmer says "Connecting ESC" forever. The ESC is also unresponsive from transmitter/motor point of view. It seems like the ESC is bricked.

Notes:
- I have disconnected everything except the ESC, programming box, and power (RX is disconnected)
- I have tried to connect the programming box to the PC and the ESC is unresponsive however, USB Link can talk to the programmer.
- I am certain that the connections (polarity) is correct.
- I plugged the programmer into the programming port by the fan

Looks like someone else had the same problem:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/13250886-post11740.html

I contacted Angelo and he told me that I needed to update the firmware (which I obviously cant do) and that his update went fine (which I guess is great). Any advice?
You need to have a battery charged and in the car to hook it up to the pc. You must turn the unit on when doing any adjusting.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 06:56 PM
  #7361  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
You need to have a battery charged and in the car to hook it up to the pc. You must turn the unit on when doing any adjusting.
Paul
I do have a battery installed. When I turn the ESC on, the fan spins so I know the ESC is trying to power up.

I have tried two things.

1) Disconnect RX from ESC
2) Connect ESC to programmer
3) Connect battery to esc
4) Power up ESC
5) Press button on programmer to enter programming mode

After I press the button on the programmer, it says "Connecting ESC" and then nothing ever happens.

I have also tried to do the above steps but also connect the programmer to the PC. The programmer just says "Connecting PC" and when I switch to ESC mode in USB link, nothing ever happens.

I have successfully used the programmer to program the ESC without the computer. I have also used the programmer along with the USB Link software to set up the ESC so I know what I am doign when it comes to connections. The problem only occured after I tried to update the firmware on the ESC.
Crashaholic is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 08:56 PM
  #7362  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Crashaholic
I do have a battery installed. When I turn the ESC on, the fan spins so I know the ESC is trying to power up.

I have tried two things.

1) Disconnect RX from ESC
2) Connect ESC to programmer
3) Connect battery to esc
4) Power up ESC
5) Press button on programmer to enter programming mode

After I press the button on the programmer, it says "Connecting ESC" and then nothing ever happens.

I have also tried to do the above steps but also connect the programmer to the PC. The programmer just says "Connecting PC" and when I switch to ESC mode in USB link, nothing ever happens.

I have successfully used the programmer to program the ESC without the computer. I have also used the programmer along with the USB Link software to set up the ESC so I know what I am doign when it comes to connections. The problem only occured after I tried to update the firmware on the ESC.
See if you can go back to the previous version and see what happens.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 09:00 PM
  #7363  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Previous version of what? The esc firmware? Can't do it because programmer has no comms with the esc. That makes it so the computer can't talk to the esc. That makes it so I can't update the esc firmware

Or do you want me to revert the programmer firmware?
Crashaholic is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 09:27 PM
  #7364  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Grigz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 259
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Hobbywing SCT Pro LiPo issue

Ive recently bought and installed the Hobbywing SCT Pro Combo (4000kv) and am running into an issue with the ESC reading the Low Voltage Cutoff. Its slowing down and shutting off like LVC is kicking on but then will go to full power for about 10 feet and continue to repeat it. Usually starts at 20-30% left in each LiPo. Any ideas on fixes? Read its some what common?
Thanks
Grigz is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 09:37 PM
  #7365  
Tech Rookie
 
Clyne579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 10
Default

If you haven't already, just change the LVC value to a lower value. I have mine set at 3.0V per cell which brings the 2S to 6.8V total after a full discharge. Calibration seems a little off on these ESC's. Hope that helps.
Clyne579 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.