Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree196Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 04-29-2014, 07:35 AM
  #6751  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Reilly
What are the options for changing settings on the EZRUN-150A-PRO?

What is required for this as well?

Why does it look like the 120 costs more than the 150 version?

Computer and cable or Multifunction LCD Program Box and software/cable
The settings on the 150A Pro (from my experience) can be changed/adjusted with the Multifunction LCD Program Box. You plug the receiver wire into the Multifunction LCD Program Box port. Attach a battery (no more than 6s). Turn on switch and adjust with Multifunction LCD Program Box.

The EZRUN-150A-PRO does resemble the 120A however its quite a bit larger and if you are using in 1/8 scale you will want to make sure it will fit in your 1/8 scale vehicle. I've attached a link below and if you click on the ESC and check the specs you will see the size measurements. The EZRUN-150A-PRO is better for 1/5 scale applications.

The EZRUN-150A-PRO is actually the most inexpensive (at this time) between all the ESC's you mentioned. I've attached a link for the ESC's and their prices and specs. See below.

http://www.falconsekido.com/collections/1-8th
offroadlover is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 07:59 AM
  #6752  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,443
Default

Thanks for your help. It looks like the Orion version has some different specs. So is it really the same as the EZRUN 150A Pro?
Chris Reilly is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 09:47 AM
  #6753  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Reilly
Thanks for your help. It looks like the Orion version has some different specs. So is it really the same as the EZRUN 150A Pro?
I'm not familiar with Orion Products and cannot comment. Sorry
offroadlover is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 10:20 PM
  #6754  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (146)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,387
Trader Rating: 146 (100%+)
Default

what is the latest no timing (aka stock, aka blinky) software?

V3_508_No Timing

or

V3.0_110930STOCK
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 10:27 PM
  #6755  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 729
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by rcuser67898578; 12-09-2023 at 07:54 PM.
rcuser67898578 is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 10:34 PM
  #6756  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (146)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,387
Trader Rating: 146 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Johnny-RC
V3_508_No Timing is the Blinky firmware.

V3.0_110930STOCK has boost and turbo
thank you sir.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 06:49 PM
  #6757  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can the Xerun V3.1 Stock Spec be run without the fan? Redline 10.5 Gen 2 will be used. Thanks.
Vegaspilot is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:03 PM
  #6758  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vegaspilot
Can the Xerun V3.1 Stock Spec be run without the fan? Redline 10.5 Gen 2 will be used. Thanks.
I would think it would be ok, just watch the temps at first. A lot goes into it, gearing, offroad, onroad etc.
FastPete is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 12:16 AM
  #6759  
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Last evening my 1 month old Xerun 150A esc went up in smoke.

I had it installed in a TLR 8ight-E 3.0 with a HW 2200kv motor (esc/motor bought as a combo set).

Savox 1256 servo.

Sanwa MT4s and RX472 receiver.

Capacitor installed in receiver (the setup runs fine without the capacitor though).

Esc updated with latest software (as of 1 month ago). Different than default settings: FOR/BR, LVC 3.0, PUNCH 4, LIPO CELLS 4 (we run 4s setup).

Hobbyking Nano Tech 4s lipos used many times before (and after).

This happened on the second lap in 17 degrees celcius temperature, so heat could not have been an issue.

This was my sons car. I have an identical car (Futaba BLS351 and a Sanwa M11X/RX451R receiver, no capacitor as the only difference). This has been running for about 6 months with no issues.

I live in Nothern Europe and bought the HW combo set in Hong Kong, so I'm not go bother sending it back.

The car just stopped before a jump and rather thick smoke poured from the car. I first though it was a lipo fire and ran to the car, tore the body off and disconnected the lipo. Was afraid the whole car was about to go up in flames, maybe not the smartest thing to do.

But it was the esc. The positive wire had come off due to the heat, and the esc was black around the sensor socket and the whole track smelt of burned electronics.

I'm quite maticualte with my cars, keep them clean and inspect them after each pack etc. and just in general are very aware of any small details that could indicate problems. Also wiring, cuts, wear etc.

I would say that the car was in tip top condition.

As mentioned, I'm not going to make a warranty claim, I'm just curios what could have caused such a massive "melt down" on a virtually new esc?

I know it probably is almost impossible to make factual statements, but I would like to know, if just remotely possible, if there is anything I can do to prevent this from happening again.

Off course there is always the case of just a bad esc going up in smoke.

A fellow racer at the track had a new Xerun 150A esc with him, which I bought on the spot and installed it to get my son going.

The burned esc thankfully did not fry any other electronics, and the car and all electronic components worked perfectly after installing the new Xerun 150A esc.

Last edited by Salkin; 05-01-2014 at 12:50 AM.
Salkin is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 05:02 AM
  #6760  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default poof......

Salkin:
Just asking....you failed to mention your gearing when this happened, do you remember what it was?
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 05:07 AM
  #6761  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default poof......

Salkin:
Just asking....you failed to mention your gearing when this happened, do you remember what it was? I don't think I have ever seen a HW go up in smoke, I'm not saying it never happens though. When you think of how many of these items are produced you are bound to have the occasional failure. I'm happy to hear you have not given up on our product's, but I'm not happy you are having difficulties.
Paul Rush
HWNA
Team Driver......
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 06:13 AM
  #6762  
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Salkin:
Just asking....you failed to mention your gearing when this happened, do you remember what it was? I don't think I have ever seen a HW go up in smoke, I'm not saying it never happens though. When you think of how many of these items are produced you are bound to have the occasional failure. I'm happy to hear you have not given up on our product's, but I'm not happy you are having difficulties.
Paul Rush
HWNA
Team Driver......
The gearing was 14T pinion and 45T spur, which is quite standard "8ight" gearing for medium sized tracks.

Forgot to mention, that at the track at the time of the break down, there were 4 other drivers with HW Xerun 150A's looking a little anxious :-)
Salkin is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 08:09 AM
  #6763  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Just got in a brand new Xerun V3.1 Stock Spec yesterday (have two already that I got in the latter half of 2013). The new one came with all black, 12 AWG wires rather than the colored 14 AWG of the others. Nice update Hobbywing.
joncmack is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 08:55 AM
  #6764  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Reilly
Thanks for your help. It looks like the Orion version has some different specs. So is it really the same as the EZRUN 150A Pro?
Yes. Ones grey and costs more though
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 01:43 PM
  #6765  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Genebaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 864
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Salkin
The gearing was 14T pinion and 45T spur, which is quite standard "8ight" gearing for medium sized tracks.

Forgot to mention, that at the track at the time of the break down, there were 4 other drivers with HW Xerun 150A's looking a little anxious :-)
On the only day I've ever seen ESC's smoke up, we had two of them. One was a 150A HW.

What are the specs of your battery?
Genebaby is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.