Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 06-30-2012, 03:13 PM
  #646  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I personally feel like the motor doesn't need timing. I run zero timing and its still plenty fast enough. The motor comes with a 15 tooth pinion for mod 1 and a 19 tooth for 32 pitch. My truck came stock with a 13 so that's what I'm using on my SCRT10.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 03:19 PM
  #647  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
I personally feel like the motor doesn't need timing. I run zero timing and its still plenty fast enough. The motor comes with a 15 tooth pinion for mod 1 and a 19 tooth for 32 pitch. My truck came stock with a 13 so that's what I'm using on my SCRT10.
The xerun 120amp esc should work fine with this motor though right ? as the specs are exactly the same as the sctpro.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 03:45 PM
  #648  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yeah should work fine. The SCT pro is more heavy duty and shock resistant aka built for off road.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 03:50 PM
  #649  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
Yeah should work fine. The SCT pro is more heavy duty and shock resistant aka built for off road.
Ya I have been using this one with the v10 550 4.5 all year with zero issues so I cant see it being a problem either.

Do you think I will get longer run times? and will it pull harder and have a higher top speed? Thanks.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 03:55 PM
  #650  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I would think it will give a good fun for the money with top speed. These things are torque monster's. I'm pretty sure you will be impressed with the motor.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 03:56 PM
  #651  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
I would think it will give a good fun for the money with top speed. These things are torque monster's. I'm pretty sure you will be impressed with the motor.
How will it compare to the tekin 4600kv?

ALso I hope I picked the right one I was going to get the 4700 but heard its wayy to much power?
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 04:43 PM
  #652  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Cloaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,204
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Motor rocks at low throttle but only when there is resistance on the tyres, pick it up and its fine. Turn hard motor stalls and squeels.

First run in the car with the motor.

Hobbywing X9 Combo.

Im done with Hobbywing crap.
Cloaked is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 05:14 PM
  #653  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The 4000kv runs right with the tekin 4600. We have actually gotten a few of the tekin guys to switch over to hobbywing because of this 4000kv motor.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 06:15 PM
  #654  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
The 4000kv runs right with the tekin 4600. We have actually gotten a few of the tekin guys to switch over to hobbywing because of this 4000kv motor.
and you figure the run times are better then a 4.5 550 motor?
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 06:58 PM
  #655  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i have the 4700 and its crazy on 13t...timing still at stock 5 and havent turned it down and punch is on 3 or 4 and still thinking of turning it down some also but havent hit the track with the new set-up as its been stupid crazy busy with everyone and not made it out
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 07:31 PM
  #656  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms
i have the 4700 and its crazy on 13t...timing still at stock 5 and havent turned it down and punch is on 3 or 4 and still thinking of turning it down some also but havent hit the track with the new set-up as its been stupid crazy busy with everyone and not made it out
Remember punch is only going to affect takeoff. Might wanna turn down the timing to help the top end.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 06-30-2012, 07:52 PM
  #657  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

right...like i said, i havent had it out in a week or so atleast and havent been able to change the settings as the last time i had it out i was showing my brother and had just put on the 13t and didnt even check temps as we just got it out to let him see it go as he use to have one when we were younger but his was a nitro kyosho 4wd dodge ram that now my brother in law owns through a swap they did.

I have my new SNR +9mm graphite shock towers to install, change settings, change wiring on my esc and go to a direct wired esc rather than having the TRX connectors, add the 12mm hexes and axles, and so on...Im so behind but havent had time cuz i thought about going back to the 14t and dropping the timing and temping again to see how it goes but
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 05:43 AM
  #658  
Tech Rookie
 
Sonkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Default

So I swapped out my HW120a + tenshock 4600 kv for the 4700kv+sct pro combo and went to the track. With a 14t pinion the ESC is running very hot and cuts out after 3 laps(2mins or so), did not use full throttle once or even come close to it- Temps running at about 95-100 c for the ESC but only about 50 for the motor. DRS level set on 1 and rest stock.

I have never had a esc running hotter than the motor so should I go down to 13t pinion? The sc411+hw esc I usually use hardly gets up above 80(motor) and 60(ESC) after a 8 minute run on the same truck same conditions.
Sonkind is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 05:45 AM
  #659  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'd try going down to a 13t pinion. Do you have your fan plugged in and its working?
lewis110 is offline  
Old 07-01-2012, 05:50 AM
  #660  
Tech Rookie
 
Sonkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
I'd try going down to a 13t pinion. Do you have your fan plugged in and its working?
Yes fan seems to be spinning fine and I cannot feel anything blowing on top so I am assuming it is working correctly.

Will order in a 13t pinion and see how it goes.
Sonkind is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.