Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 02-18-2014, 04:53 AM
  #6061  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 167
Default

Originally Posted by COBRARACING
Who told you the xerun 150amp is splash proof?
Who? EVERY SITE that advertises the XERUN 150a ESC.

For instance, here:

http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-c-xerun-150a-sd.html

"1.12 Splash proof and dustproof."
Yello is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 07:43 AM
  #6062  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mathom7
I got a chance to look at the car tonight and discovered that I had given the throttle a little fwd trim. I must have hit it inadvertently while trimming the steering. The few times I did get the ESC to initialize the throttle didn't indicate there was a problem.

I turned it on and off a few times and it seems to be working great. Another case of user error/ignorance.
Awesome glad you got it figured out.
FastPete is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 10:33 AM
  #6063  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Yello
Who? EVERY SITE that advertises the XERUN 150a ESC.

For instance, here:

http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-c-xerun-150a-sd.html

"1.12 Splash proof and dustproof."
The EZRUN & the EXRUN both say they are dust and splash proof. I myself would not try it though, water is never good for an ESC.
Paul Rush
Team driver HWNA
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:24 PM
  #6064  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

Originally Posted by Yello
Who? EVERY SITE that advertises the XERUN 150a ESC.

For instance, here:

http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-c-xerun-150a-sd.html

"1.12 Splash proof and dustproof."
Well i can tell you direct from me it is not water friendly at all.Thank you for bringing it up i will contact hobbypartz.
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:25 PM
  #6065  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,338
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
The EZRUN & the EXRUN both say they are dust and splash proof. I myself would not try it though, water is never good for an ESC.
Paul Rush
Team driver HWNA
Spot on paul only the ezrun WP Version are resistant to water.
COBRARACING is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 03:41 PM
  #6066  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 167
Default

Please do, as I have just lost 100 dollars of my hard earned money. "Water proof" to me means that something can survive being submerged in water. While "splash proof" is supposed to give an ESC distinction from the other ESCs on the market -- owners expect these ESCs to be water proof to some extent. If it's a very small extent, then I wouldn't consider such ESCs splash proof or any such thing. Might as well call all ESCs splash proof if they can't survive a little residual water.

I wish Hobbywing had a 6s version of the WP ESCs I'd buy one. I have the WP80 and I like it very much. I might even consider buying the WP SC8 120a ESC anyway.
Yello is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 05:27 PM
  #6067  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (191)
 
patrick lsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,395
Trader Rating: 191 (100%+)
Default

Ex run sct pro ran fine for about three laps then shutoff. A few days later I turn it on motor runs backwards and pinion shakes? I'm a nitro guy. Please help.
patrick lsp is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 05:55 PM
  #6068  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by patrick lsp
Ex run sct pro ran fine for about three laps then shutoff. A few days later I turn it on motor runs backwards and pinion shakes? I'm a nitro guy. Please help.



It might of had a short in the ESC metal to metal.

Are you running a sensonsed motor or sensorless ?
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:00 PM
  #6069  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I was trying to use the latest version of the firmware with my sct-pro and 4600kv tenshock sc411 but I was gettting some weird cogging or lag when hitting full throttle from a stop. I flashed it back to the V1.00_111207a_2R firmware and it doesn't have that issue. Its too bad, the latest firmware was supposed to work better with tenshocks.
kyleman7 is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:06 PM
  #6070  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,997
Default

Originally Posted by kyleman7
I was trying to use the latest version of the firmware with my sct-pro and 4600kv tenshock sc411 but I was gettting some weird cogging or lag when hitting full throttle from a stop. I flashed it back to the V1.00_111207a_2R firmware and it doesn't have that issue. Its too bad, the latest firmware was supposed to work better with tenshocks.



I dont know but how did you get that Flimware to get to the ESC for the Tenshock motor ?

Yea i ran the Tenshock 401 motor sensoreless with the stock setting on the SCT PRO and it had a bad cogg at a standstill with number 4 punch setting . And that rubber band powerband with the motor.

That motor worked much better on the BH LT4 ESC.

I would say get the Hobbywing motor sensensored . Thats what im doing.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:13 PM
  #6071  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tc5 man
I dont know but how did you get that Flimware to get to the ESC for the Tenshock motor ?

Yea i ran the Tenshock 401 motor sensoreless with the stock setting on the SCT PRO and it had a bad cogg at a standstill with number 4 punch setting . And that rubber band powerband with the motor.

That motor worked much better on the BH LT4 ESC.

I would say get the Hobbywing motor sensensored . Thats what im doing.
I would prefer not to need to buy anything new.
kyleman7 is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:17 PM
  #6072  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (191)
 
patrick lsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,395
Trader Rating: 191 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tc5 man
It might of had a short in the ESC metal to metal.

Are you running a sensonsed motor or sensorless ?
Tekin 1900 sensored. My dog ate the manual that had troubleshooting in it. There is a section on motor running backwards.
patrick lsp is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 07:22 PM
  #6073  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by patrick lsp
Tekin 1900 sensored. My dog ate the manual that had troubleshooting in it. There is a section on motor running backwards.
Here is a direct link to a PDF of the SCT PRO manual>http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/010...T_Pro.pdf?1727

Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 07:50 AM
  #6074  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: So Cal
Posts: 8
Default

Hey everyone, had a quick question in regards to temps for the XeRun SCT 4000kv combo. I finally ran some laps at my local track and after about 4 or 5 minute runs both the esc and motor were only around 110 degrees Fahrenheit. From the Falcon Sekido site (falconsekido.com/pages/faq]) it states that for the esc, best performance temperature range from 70- 80 ℃ (150F-176F) and for the motor, 90-100℃ (194-212F) is within threshold.

My question is...should I change my gearing to push the motor and esc a bit more (currently running 15/40 in my losi ten scte)? Are my current temps a good range to race within?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
rcdriv3r is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 08:06 AM
  #6075  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (43)
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 3,011
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

that setup just dont get hot man, at least for me it didnt. id say if your readings are accurate you could forsure play with some other gearing. but i think that sounds about right for a scte
AlanHall is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.